We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Thermae 2OOO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great hotel; entrance to the thermal baths is included. Fabulous beds, luxurious, quiet, good breakfast as well. Hotel guests have several hours private access to the thermal baths as well. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2010

Entering a hotel where the furniture clearly is worn out and outdated, is not the best entrance. But the real feeling of being ripped off comes when you enter your room. And you realise that a dirty carpet, outdated furniture and a standard bathroom with rust in the bath is what you get for +225 USD for ONE night. In Thermaetel a **** star room means your airconditioning consists out of a fan and your TV is nothing but a small 15" screen cube, the kind of TV's we all remember from our camping trips in the 90's. And this is not a coincidence, because we've seen several rooms. This is Thermaetel 2000 in Valkenburg, The Netherlands, where time stood still since the hotel opened it's doors.

I don't mind paying extra money for a hotelroom. But this hotel is not a 4 star accomodation. And for prices over 225 USD, it's actually a complete ripp-off.

Breakfast is nice....for a standard 3 star hotel. Not for a 4 star wellness hotel, where you expect fresh extras and not a wide range of packed products, except the juices. Most of the tables were still covered with other people's plates when you tried to find your own place. Two thumbs up though:

- The cleaning staff are the only personnell that greets you immediately when you pass by
- The dinners were outstanding, waiters with knowledge about the food, your wish was their command. Fantastic.

The rest of the hotel is not recommendable. Never in my life I paid this much money for such an old, worn out place. But there's more to complain; if you think the Thermae 2000 baths are recommendable, you're wrong. Thermae SPA is aslo a very outdated SPA, where they tried to 'update' the place a few years ago with some white paint. What you can expect:

- Old swimming pools where bath clothing is obligated (??) The swimming area consists out of indoor/outdoor baths with the typical '90's style palmtrees, old baths, noisy whirlpools (air & water sucking sinks behind your back), noisy steambaths with bad lightning (take care of your feet, watch your step), traces of leaking problems everywhere, 2 bistros with appauling food and a very depressive atmosphere in general. The SPA is best described as the kind of SPA you expect in an eastern-European country but the problem is, in eastern Europe they have even better looking SPA's. The colors in the sauna-area of Thermae 2000 guarantee you get the feeling you're dwimming in a crematorium; black, black, wood colors and more black. We were counting the areas where the dust is hanging on the ceilings.

Special warning: At least 2 times a month Thermae has a '100% bath clothing day'. On those days, people are even obligated to wear bath clothing in the sauna areas. Which guarantees a 100% Centerparks atmposhere. Is this wat you expect when you see the website of Thermae 200? No. Do not go to this hotel, take a nice 4 star hotel nearby and you're fine. And I'm not even talking about the extra charges you find on your bill, when you check out in this '4 star' hotel.....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bangkokbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

I have been to this hotel more then ten times. It;s a small quiet hotel with 62 rooms. The service is always perfect. We always go exclusively to visit the baths. It's a really luxurious en relaxing expereance me and my SO both love. You can have breakfast in your bathrobe and you don't have to get dressed to go to the pool. The hotel room is basic but very comfortable. The beds are not small (90cm) each, unfortunatelly there are two single beds.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Barbiebien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

My husband booked the Thermae 2000 hotel as a surprise gift for my birthday....

Upon check-in there were some problems because our voucher was issued by a Belgian touroperator and the items included did not really correspond with the regular programs offered by the hotel... anyway the reception staff took care of it swiftly.

We didn't book any of the treatments nor dinner in advance: which should be done if staying over the weekend !

The room (superior room) was nice and airy with big balcony, 2 chairs and table (only 1 lounger though) and hillside view.
Tv, minibar, white leather sofa, desk + chair, comfy bed (twin) with nighttables and lamps. Senseo machine in the room for free coffee/ tea. Fruitbasket upon arrival.
2 bathrobes and 2 pairs of slippers, toiletries in bathroom.

The bathroom was a bit of a dissappointment: I thought in a wellness hotel they would have a really nice bathtub but it was a not so appealing room... taps etc worn and dirty (from condensation and humidity)... I would have prefered a shower only.

A 3-course dinner at the "Pure" restaurant was included in our package: which we really enjoyed !! Staff very attentive and we had a decent bottle of South African chardonnay for 19 Euro.

Next morning went to the buffet breakfast in our bathing robes !! Ah how relaxing this is.
Breakfast (Pure restaurant) was good too: fresh (!) fruitjuices, fresh fruitsalad, yoghurt, different kinds of bread and buns, cheeses, smoked salmon + as many pots of coffee or tea as you can drink.
We were lucky with the weather so enjoyed a long lazy breakfast with newspapers on the terrace.

The spa/ wellness area is partly outdoors and partly indoors; nice big and clean pools with heathed thermal water, jacuzzi's and sauna's. Lounge chairs were all occupied, and we didn't notice the big grass area on our 1st day with many more loungers. I just wonder where all the people have to go if it's raining and you want to lie down for a rest...

We saw quite a few families with disabled youngsters (no children under 12 allowed) but not all areas in the hotel can be reached easily with a wheelchair !

We had a 25-min. shoulder and back massage which was done by trainees (they were good though) and a 45-min packing (my 1st time so can't comment on this).

I do not recommend this hotel if you are looking for upscale tiptop spa service but it's very good if you want a nice relaxing time with friends or family.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank DesertroseBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Do not consider staying in this hotel unless you are there just for Thermae 2000 and like to be able to walk to the pools in your bathrobe. In that case, be prepared to pay for that privilege and to deny yourself a stay in a nicer hotel in nearby Maastricht.

At this price level, you expect a certain quality of rooms and service. They are both below par. Compared to the four-star hotels we just had in Beijing and San Francisco, this hotel is both more expensive and lightyears behind in quality and service.

During the evenings, apparently there is just one personnel at the reception and no-one else. Friendly personnel – it's not their fault. But don't expect anybody to show up at your room if there is a problem.

The rooms and hallways look empty, uninspired, impersonal and cheapish. Little effort seems to have been spent on making you feel at home. The color scheme of our room was a combination of ash grey, poison green, white and brown; the furniture modernistic, in a depressing way. The TV set was a small antique CRT rather than the flatscreen you'd expect in a four-star hotel.

If you are looking for a friendly welcome note on your bed or anything else of that kind, all you find is a PRICE LIST at the wall, in big shouting letters. Little is supposed to be fun here.

The single beds are narrow, which is only nice for couples living in celebacy. Fortunately the mattresses are very good.

Our room was reasonably clean and spacious (in part because of the small beds) and had a balcony with a view over a roof covered with grass and flowers.

The hotel is built along a hill and has an elevator which looks like a cable car. It's funny but clunky and in need of an upgrade.

Continental breakfast (included) is extensive, fresh and good quality.

The pools at Thermae 2000 are nice, especially the outside pool which has a pleasant view over the valley. The water is comfortably warm and it is nice to stay outside during the summer evening. It wasn't too crowded when we were there.

There is the usual massages and saunas (the latter nude only – no exceptions). There are massage chairs with (my headphones were broken). If you stay at the hotel, the entrance fee to Thermae is included, but this is little consolation.

The hotel doesn't even try to live up to its price tag. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank byjove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We booked this hotel directly on their website for a great rate. You get access to the Thermae 2000 and breakfast is included as well as a bathrobe, towel and slippers for 2. For 2 persons if you would pay this all seperately you would pay the same amount but now we got a 1 night stay as well.

We arrived early and the reception tried hard to get us an early cleaned room. While they contacted the cleaners we were asked to step aside. When they confirmed the room was available we were immediately helped despite the long queue that in the meantime was waiting to check in as well.

The room was very spacious (above average) and this non-smoking room really was a non-smoking room.

The whole experience was great (too much to sum up here). Upon checkout they forgot to include 2 body threatments that we had for over 170 euros (I expect that if I would not have told them I would have ended up not paying for them). They thanked us for our honesty and even gave us a present for that.

This was a top experience!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2007

We've just spent a weekend for the second time at this marvelous hotel. The scenery is great, even now in winter, overlooking the green hillsides surrounding Valkenburg. It is a very big hotel for the region, but you never get the feeling off being overcrowded.
We had the gastronomic arrangement both times and the first time it was splendid but this time the portions were way too big en were following to short (5 courses in 2 hours!). Next time we'll just have the breakfast I think.
The thermae are splendid. Even in weekend it is never too crowded to have a nice relaxing time.
If you're a non-smoker, don't forget to ask for a room for non-smokers. We forgot and ended up in a smokers-room... (It didn't bother to much but I prefer a non-smoker room myself.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 46 in Valkenburg
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 46 in Valkenburg
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 46 in Valkenburg
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#2 of 46 in Valkenburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thermae 2OOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thermae 2OOO

Address: Cauberg 25-27, 6301 BT Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range: £149 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thermae 2OOO 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Thermae 2OOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thermaetel Hotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing