We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with good staff”
Review of Hotel Thermae 2OOO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Pleasant stay, pools, sauna etc in a very good condition. rooms could be improved but ok. the suite is just a junior sweet beut overall very relaxing and to be recommended for one or a few more day. quality of the food ok but nice arranged. the staff eliminates the deficites in the qualitxy. breakfast ok, but too busy

Room Tip: the suite is probably not worth the money but having the "massage chair"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank other_from
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is, off course, convenient located if you want to enjoy a relaxing weekend in Thermae 2000.
It is built on a hillside and very nice integrated in the environment.
Before travelling here I read the comments about the dated accommodation. I have to affirm this. I do not know exactly when the hotel was built, but I think it is a while ago. However the rooms are quite out-dated you can find some "modern" facilities like a flatscreen and Phi Ton beds. Those were amazingly comfortable. But complaining about the rooms is a litle bit overrated. According to me you only need your room to sleep in. If it is clean I am happy.

SERVICE: The staff is really nice and helpful in the hotel. If you have any question they will try to answer it as fast and as good as possible.

FOOD/DRINKS: we had dinner in restaurant Pure (the hotel restaurant) and this was really a culinair experience. Great food, wine and excellent service! We really enjoyed it!
The breakfast is ok but not really large. You have a lot of healthy food, but we had to wait quite a while because the buffet was not supplemented.
You can have your breakfast in your wardrobe if you want.

ROOM: The rooms are really out dated however you can find all the facilities in the room you need, like a flatscreen. Also the beds, Phi Ton, are extremely comfortable.
The bathrooms and the room itself are very spacious. We also had a terrace but this was dirty.
The room was very clean.

Room Tip: no further specifications for the room needed They have a difference between normal rooms and junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The design is interesting. Buld inside the slope of the hill you get your own balcony (with a view onto the trees), a decent sized room with a good bed and a decent sized bathroom. Nothing too fancy, but usable. Not sure whether this is really 4*, though. Anyways, great breakfast, very convenient if you are visiting the spa and sauna.

Room Tip: no special selection necessary, as far as I can tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heiko197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here for one night to visit the termal baths of the same complex. It's very handy you can walk from the hotel to the sauna's and hot tubs etc. After we had a lovely relaxing day in the spa, we didn't have to drive home and we could relax into our own room.

The hotel has got officially 4 stars but it seems the hotel is a little 'old' (maybe built in 2000?). The architecture is quite nice though.

Rooms: Lovely flatscreen, two twin beds, two seperate seats, ... briefly everything you need but another time, it's all very outdated. We got a terrace, which is nice but it was a bit dirty from other visitors (cigarette ashes on the floor etc) . Bathrooms are spacious and very clean.

Food: We had the breakfast for 17,5 euro per person. This was a 'special offer' but actually it wasn't worth the money. I don't want to know what the 'normal price' per person would be cause it will probably shock me. Have to be honest about the good thing too, the orange juice is not from concentrate, it's freshly squeezed juice.

wifi: only in the bar and the lobby. If you are lucky, you can use it in the restaurant. The connection wasn't that stable. Absolutely no signal in the rooms.

parking: 12,5 euro for a night ! way to much for a open stand! They even say 'park here is at your own risk' ...

Briefly a just so - so hotel that's a little outdated but if you like spa's and sauna's, it's very nice you can sleep on the relaxspot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mathias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

First of all, this is a Spa. Not a hotel with a spa. It is 100% spa. You walk, sleep and eat in the housecote. And if You like that as i did its very nice.
The hotell is built at a hillside with the reception on top. So basicly you take the elevator down to everything. The rooms are all (i think) with a balcony towards the hilly area of Limbourg or at least the woods around (lower area).
The rooms are fine clean and as I wrote with a balcony.
The service is high class at the reception, not that good at the lunch restaurant in the sauna area. Which with its fireplace could have been great if the workers could have cleaned the tables a bit and show some smiles at work.
Back to the facility. The place is huge and there is a lot of visitors during the day that do not stay at the hotel. Have never seen a bigger poolarea whit a lot of options. Outdoor and indoor.
The sauna area is also worth mentioned. It is a nude area, it has as I counted more then 10 different saunas. 3 outside in very cozy cabins.
The restaurant is very nice with a great outdoor view, if it has not been for the poor quallity in the sauna restaurant is would have been a 5 star for me. And trust me I did include all the nude women in my rating. :)

Room Tip: The rooms start at 10 are the one with best view, my 43 was at the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikaelH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were lucky to benefit of an up-grade due to overbooking. The room was clean, spacious, with a coffee set etc. Having read a number of complains about the urgent need to refresh the hotel, our impression was that the situation was already improved certainly for the higher level rooms. We regret that for the breakfast, systematically something was missing: either no eggs or no orange juice etc. With the restaurant full, the staff obviously met difficulty to replenish the food and drinks. The swimming pool was fine and we enjoyed the saunas as well as the treatments. Booking largely in advance (before arriving!) the treatment/massage is a must. We regret the parking cost and would recommend it gets included in the price and a discount is applied for guest without car. A place to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Other reviewers have commented on the hotel being a little outdated and this true. Having said that, staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious (with terrace) and clean. Big bathrooms with very good showers. One (big) drawback is that there are no double beds, only twins. The overall architecture is interesting, especially the funicular-like lift under the stairs.

The carpet on the main stairs was worn and stained, which is not very pleasant, but otherwise things looked well maintained.

We were there on a Monday night. All top restaurants in the area (of which there are quite a few) were closed, so we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant (Pure). We were pleasantly surprised by the creativity and quality of the food. Service was also very good.

The spa part does look a bit worn in certain places, but overall it's a great experience. There were not many people there, which helped. Our Ayurvedic massages were wonderful, we enjoyed a cocktail on the terrace and floated around, both inside and outside.

On the day you check-out, you can still enjoy the spa facilities. Separate, big lockers are provided for former hotel guests, away from the general public, which I thought was a nice touch (even though we didn't make use of this).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 46 in Valkenburg
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 46 in Valkenburg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 46 in Valkenburg
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#2 of 46 in Valkenburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thermae 2OOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thermae 2OOO

Address: Cauberg 25-27, 6301 BT Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range: £143 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thermae 2OOO 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World of Wellness on the top of Cauberg hill! In the middle of the dreamy South Limburg hills you will find Thermae 2000. The beautiful view will give you the feeling of being on holiday in the south of France. This is one of the few places in the Netherlands where you can enjoy the refreshing and healing powers of extremely healthy thermal spring water. Start your relaxing weekend away in the biggest health spa in the Netherlands. Covering no less than 1200 m², it has something for everyone. Take a tour around the sauna landscape and then enjoy the warm indoor and outdoor pools with thermal water from our own spring. Complete your overnight wellness stay with one of the many treatments. Among other things, you can choose from massages, facial treatments or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Thermae 2OOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thermaetel Hotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing