We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlas Hotel Valkenburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlas Hotel Valkenburg
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed for three nights over New Year with Travelsphere trip. On first arrival all looked ok until we went to our room which was not only tiny but very depressing and dim until the energy bulbs warmed up. The bed was comfy but the decor and furnishings were dire and initially we just wanted to find another hotel. However, I'm glad we didn't as the hotel itself was really good. The staff were pleasant and the atmosphere in the bar was good with a nice variety of very strong beers. Two bottles of 7.5 percent beer was 7 euros.
On New Years eve the management pushed the boat out with a great firework display and free sparkling wine, sweet pastries and cheeses at midnight.
The town centre is a few minutes walk, just come out of the front of the hotel walk about 20 metres to the end of the road and cross over to the left by the traffic lights and again across that road and that's the start of the centre. There are loads of nice little bars/cafes/shops etc to keep you amused for half a day.
Maaschrict is just a ten minute ride away and I'd well worth a visit, again lots of shops and bars.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOWESTOFT MEMBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    18
    49
    18
    10
See reviews for
10
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for new year and found it to be very satisfactory. The Hotel has a certain old world charm about it. We found it to be very clean and the service was good. The breakfast provided was basic but covered all your requirments - and you could eat as much or as little as you wanted, It is true that the rooms could do with an up-grade but again they provide all that you may need and are very warm - slighty too hot in my case but that just me i prefer a cooler atmosphere. The hotel is in a good location within the town and is in easy walking distance of local resturants and bars as well as the local railway station. Would recommend this venue for anyone looking to explore the local area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel where you wont get any noise from the road or nearby railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterhugo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randers
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

It is not a modern hotel but that gives you some good old fashioned hotel atmosphere. Rooms are ordinary (you get a real key) and the beds to the soft side. An OK breakfast was included in the absolutely fair price. Staying on first floor, we managed to catch free wi-fi from the lobby.
A good location – close to railway station and just five minutes walking to pedestrian street we a lot of restaurants. Parking cost you 2 € each time you leave the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenspeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Nothing to write home about - an average 3 star hotel near the centre of Valkenburg. Fairly central location - parking was plentiful and cost 2 euros every time you left the car park - very cheap for Valkenburg. We paid 55 euros per night inc breakfast (for the room) which is a fair price. If we'd paid the published rates (80 euros) we would have been disappointed.

Although basic, our room was functional and clean. The shower was useless though and kept running hot then cold. If you're just looking for somewhere to stay for a few days this is a good option. Certainly much more to offer in terms of character than hotels like Ibis. Breakfast was fine - no complaints. Nice bar area for a night cap. A 10 minute walk to Thermae2000 - 5 mins into the centre of town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_H_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We were on our way to Maastricht for a daytrip from Amsterdam with our 9 month old daughter and made an unplanned stop in Valkenburg. As we were walking to the town center we saw a sign offering a last minute special for a two person room with breakfast for 55 euros and decided to go for it. The hotel is just around the corner from the train station, 5 minute walk to the main street and an Albert Heijn is very close by for extra supplies.

The 2nd floor room we were given was very spacious, ultra clean and a few perks - coffee, big bathtub, a third bed that we made into a crib and good view. Not fancy but fully functional and comfortable for our little family and limited budget. "Breakfast" in Holland is usually quite small but the one served at Atlas was one of the best - fresh bread, scrambled eggs, chocolate milk, meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereals, etc. - even a baby chair was available for us.

Bottom line was that Atlas turned our daytrip into a memorable and pleasant weekend in Limburg!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

I read the reveiws on this Hotel before I left and was rather apprehensive. I along with my travelling companions, could not fault this Hotel in any shape or form. everthing was exceptionally good, the service was very good , the food ,the room was cosy and warm ,the sleep quality was good and the staff were very good could not have been better,they were only too pleased to be very helpful and I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to anyone. The Thermae Spa was close .Valkenburg has a Casino and a lot of sights to explore ,the town at this time of year is magical with the cave Christmas Markets. Plenty of restaurants and Bars with music or without.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renee043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

I can't remember the last time I stayed in such a bad hotel... Our room was tiny (there would not have been room to open a suitcase on the floor if we had one), ugly, the bed was very uncomfortable, the sheet had small holes in it (moths? pre-war linen?)dustballs and spider webs behind the night stand and two people would not have been able to stand in the bathroom, even if they had wanted to. The only spot I could find for my toilet kit was the toilet, which was handy since it was located right under the sink...or almost.

The only positive things I can mention are the breakfast which was OK - at least not as bad as we thought it would be when we first saw the room and the location is quite good, not in a pleasant part of the city but at least central.

Luckily we were there only for one night and we had a good laugh about it, remembering a few bad hostels we had stayed in 20 years ago when we were students, travelling on a tight budget...

Bottom line is, if you have 92 euro to spend on a hotel room, any other hotel would probably do a better job then the Eurotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valkenburg hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#15 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Monopole
Grand Hotel Monopole
#8 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont
Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont
#20 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#5 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt
Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt
#22 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
De la Ruine
De la Ruine
#16 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Hotel Valkenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Hotel Valkenburg

Property: Atlas Hotel Valkenburg
Address: Nieuweweg 7, 6301 ES Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Hotel Valkenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlas Hotel Valkenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Eurotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing