We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give it a miss next time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlas Hotel Valkenburg
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed here as part of a coach group in May. On first arriving the room I was allocated was dire. There was an electric socket hanging off the wall, with wires protruding. The room was none too clean and the bed old with a very thin mattress with holes in the sheets and the toilet seat was hanging off.. I turned around and walked out. The tour rep complained and was told no other rooms were available. She refused to accept that and another room was found. Much cleaner and more comfortable but no drawers to put any small clothing items away and the only plug found to be able to use a kettle meant unplugging the TV and standing the kettle on a chair as there was no bench space. Don't expect any tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, they are not provided although they did relent and reluctantly provided them the first night. We were also told we wouldn't be offered tea or coffee after our evening meal but could pay for it.

The twin room friends were given was tiny with no room to walk between beds and they had to walk sideways against the wall on one side and window on the other to get into their beds. Their shower room was also very small and gloomy.
Staff at meal times often looked as if they would rather have no customers than a full hotel, The breakfast was the same each morning, scrambled egg with bits of hard ham mixed in, hard boiled eggs, plastic cheese, yogurt, cereal but we had to constantly ask for milk to put on it and bread.
The evening meal was a little better, soup, a choice of either meat or fish each evening and a pudding, all very well cooked and nicely presented.

This hotel really needs some attention to the state of the rooms and I'd be reluctant to class it as 3*

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorcestershireBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed for three nights over New Year with Travelsphere trip. On first arrival all looked ok until we went to our room which was not only tiny but very depressing and dim until the energy bulbs warmed up. The bed was comfy but the decor and furnishings were dire and initially we just wanted to find another hotel. However, I'm glad we didn't as the hotel itself was really good. The staff were pleasant and the atmosphere in the bar was good with a nice variety of very strong beers. Two bottles of 7.5 percent beer was 7 euros.
On New Years eve the management pushed the boat out with a great firework display and free sparkling wine, sweet pastries and cheeses at midnight.
The town centre is a few minutes walk, just come out of the front of the hotel walk about 20 metres to the end of the road and cross over to the left by the traffic lights and again across that road and that's the start of the centre. There are loads of nice little bars/cafes/shops etc to keep you amused for half a day.
Maaschrict is just a ten minute ride away and I'd well worth a visit, again lots of shops and bars.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LOWESTOFT MEMBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for new year and found it to be very satisfactory. The Hotel has a certain old world charm about it. We found it to be very clean and the service was good. The breakfast provided was basic but covered all your requirments - and you could eat as much or as little as you wanted, It is true that the rooms could do with an up-grade but again they provide all that you may need and are very warm - slighty too hot in my case but that just me i prefer a cooler atmosphere. The hotel is in a good location within the town and is in easy walking distance of local resturants and bars as well as the local railway station. Would recommend this venue for anyone looking to explore the local area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel where you wont get any noise from the road or nearby railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misterhugo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

It is not a modern hotel but that gives you some good old fashioned hotel atmosphere. Rooms are ordinary (you get a real key) and the beds to the soft side. An OK breakfast was included in the absolutely fair price. Staying on first floor, we managed to catch free wi-fi from the lobby.
A good location – close to railway station and just five minutes walking to pedestrian street we a lot of restaurants. Parking cost you 2 € each time you leave the parking lot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenspeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Nothing to write home about - an average 3 star hotel near the centre of Valkenburg. Fairly central location - parking was plentiful and cost 2 euros every time you left the car park - very cheap for Valkenburg. We paid 55 euros per night inc breakfast (for the room) which is a fair price. If we'd paid the published rates (80 euros) we would have been disappointed.

Although basic, our room was functional and clean. The shower was useless though and kept running hot then cold. If you're just looking for somewhere to stay for a few days this is a good option. Certainly much more to offer in terms of character than hotels like Ibis. Breakfast was fine - no complaints. Nice bar area for a night cap. A 10 minute walk to Thermae2000 - 5 mins into the centre of town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We were on our way to Maastricht for a daytrip from Amsterdam with our 9 month old daughter and made an unplanned stop in Valkenburg. As we were walking to the town center we saw a sign offering a last minute special for a two person room with breakfast for 55 euros and decided to go for it. The hotel is just around the corner from the train station, 5 minute walk to the main street and an Albert Heijn is very close by for extra supplies.

The 2nd floor room we were given was very spacious, ultra clean and a few perks - coffee, big bathtub, a third bed that we made into a crib and good view. Not fancy but fully functional and comfortable for our little family and limited budget. "Breakfast" in Holland is usually quite small but the one served at Atlas was one of the best - fresh bread, scrambled eggs, chocolate milk, meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereals, etc. - even a baby chair was available for us.

Bottom line was that Atlas turned our daytrip into a memorable and pleasant weekend in Limburg!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eurambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I read the reveiws on this Hotel before I left and was rather apprehensive. I along with my travelling companions, could not fault this Hotel in any shape or form. everthing was exceptionally good, the service was very good , the food ,the room was cosy and warm ,the sleep quality was good and the staff were very good could not have been better,they were only too pleased to be very helpful and I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to anyone. The Thermae Spa was close .Valkenburg has a Casino and a lot of sights to explore ,the town at this time of year is magical with the cave Christmas Markets. Plenty of restaurants and Bars with music or without.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renee043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 46 in Valkenburg
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#2 of 46 in Valkenburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#16 of 46 in Valkenburg
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Botterweck
Hotel Botterweck
#10 of 46 in Valkenburg
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Cafe Hotel Huis ter Geul
Grand Cafe Hotel Huis ter Geul
#40 of 46 in Valkenburg
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Hotel Valkenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Hotel Valkenburg

Address: Nieuweweg 7, 6301 ES Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range: £44 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Hotel Valkenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlas Hotel Valkenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Eurotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing