We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Atlanta Valkenburg.”
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlanta
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Atlanta Valkenburg.”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I have just stayed at The Atlanta Hotel in Valkenburg, great staff, cosy, friendly, welcoming, clean, tidy, good food... the Hotel was great, I would love to return to this Hotel and Valkenburg was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but I managed without a problem, beware twin beds are together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbabe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    40
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
19
47
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break staying at the Hotel Atlanta being part of a coach party. We found the hotel extremely friendly and helpful, room was very comfortable and clean and the food although not a wide choice was all very edible and tasty.
The hotel is situated just on the edge of the town and so it only took around two minutes and you were in the centre on the town which is a lovely old town full of character and plenty to see.
Night time was very enjoyable sitting outside the bars supping 'gluhwein' (mulled wine) keeping warm with the radiators up above.
Altogether a very nice hotel experience.

Room Tip: Room twelve was larger than some of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have just returned from this lovely hotel and was really impressed. There were 36 of us in total and from the minute we arrived, the staff were most helpful and accommodating.
We came to visit the Christmas Markets and such effort was made by the hotel with the Christmas decorations. The hotel had a real WOW factor when you walked in. Evening meal and breakfast were both good and rooms were perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay. I stayed in Room 46 ! (see earlier review) and although it was small, my friend and I had not issues with it. Perfect location for the town, with lots of bars, shops & restaurants, and the friendliness of the staff made it all more enjoyable for us .... keep up the good work - we will be back next year !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissanessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position a few yards down fron a traffic free area of bars and restaurants. It seems to depend on a skeleton staff of excellent young people. Food was good but service of the set dinner was a little slow because two staff were handling 40 people + the bar.
In the morning the excellent breakfast was overseen by one helpful member of staff.
The hotel has a bizarre room numbering system and an equally bizarre key system. The owner seems absent. We had to wait for our room keys because she had not arrived with the master key and the staff could not give us access to our rooms.
Rooms were very clean but dated. My room [52] had a view of a faded mural painted on the back of garages. The fire escape route was to open the jammed window, climb out , lift a double ladder against the garage wall and climb up and over the barbed wire fence at the top!?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I agree with other reviewers. This is a nice hotel, in a good location, with helpful staff (especially the young woman on reception). The food was Ok - the choice is meat or fish, and some tinned fruit, or stewed apple arrived rather randomly as a course between soup and the main dish. However, it was all edible, just a little dull and predictable. We did wait between courses, but not for too long.

Beware of room 46, though. I suspect it is smaller than other rooms. My husband and I had to do a lot of dosey do-ing in the morning, as we got ready, and the ceiling slopes over the bed, so we couldn't sit up in bed to watch TV - the only place to sit. The is, though, a nice little roof garden, and on a warm evening, that's the better place to be.

Plenty of very hot water, a nice deep bath, and a very tiny piece of soap.

Comfortable bed, and big pillows. The complementary ear plugs were a little worrying, but we didn't need them, even at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not room 46
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Great location so near centre of Valkenburg .This hotel has all you need ,good sized rooms clean tidy and quiet. Food good although as we were a party it would help if staff kept an eye on tea bags milk and crockery at breakfast as these often ran out. staff very helpful. lift available very useful for less able as stairs quite steep. all in all an enjoyable experience.Staff were very attentive and helpful. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road as this might prove noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Our coach party travelled from Southern England and checked in following our long journey after a very early start. There was no alternative choice of menu and following a bowl of soup for starters we had a 35 minute wait until main course. The following night some of our group waited at least an hour for service and this meal was meat or fish! The printed menu with its description of food should have been more accurate . Pear compote arrived as peaches and chicken filet arrived with a curry sauce which had no mention on the menu. More staff needed to cope with an influx of guests. Asked for a jug or glass of tap water and was informed a glass would be 1 euro. Offer declined! Next evening service had improved by an increase of waiting staff. The bedroom was warm, comfortable and spacious with two wardrobes, pleasant decor and a flatscreen TV. (No news channels found) Beds were comfortable with duvets and extra blanket if required. Quiet upper room at the back of the hotel. Bathroom was clean, adequate shower over the bath but no rubber slip mat provided. Water took ages to drain away . . . very noisily! Breakfasts were good with cereals, yoghourt, fruit, fruit juices and hot tea or coffee. Cooked breakfast consisted of meat balls, sausages and scrambled egg and then wide variety of cold meats and cheeses, together with good choice of breads and spreads. Bar adjacent to the restaurant was adequate, but there was no separate lounge to sit in comfort. Small lift was ok and a necessity for the more elderly on the top floor. Reception area was very small (The photo was taken on a wide-angle lens ) The hotel is situated in a good spot for the rest of the town and parking space for one coach alongside together with a few cars. The accommodation for coach parties is probably run on a tight budget and there is no excuse for poor organisation and the star rating should not be as high as it is rated!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 47 in Valkenburg
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 47 in Valkenburg
461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
1,662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#7 of 47 in Valkenburg
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#12 of 47 in Valkenburg
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Property: Hotel Atlanta
Address: Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing