We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value”
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlanta
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best value”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is clean and staff are very friendly esp Michell and Christel. We arrived early and Michell were able to check us in right away. Internet is free and available in the room. Breakfast was very good and fresh, a lot better and more choices than our Hotel in Amsterdam. This is a good choice if you are only staying for one night in Valkenburg, right in the heart of downtown area, walking distance to castle ruins, shops, and restaurants (I've never seen so many restaurants in a small town). We were there to attend my brother's graduation from the Butler Academy @ Kasteel Oost. Nice town...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    40
    31
    11
    4
See reviews for
18
44
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

First the good news - the staff are very friendly, the public areas of the hotel are very nice, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the food is fine. Then the bad news ... the rooms are small, old fashioned and sparsely furnished. There is no airco and the windows facing out onto the street and road are single glazed - every passing car can be heard as can every passing pedestrian. This hotel is rated as a four-star which is, one must say, a bit of a joke, Dutch hotel ratings are generally too generous, but this hotel takes it to an extreme. On a kind day you might call it a three star ... otherwise the room itself was the same as some two star places. The public areas are certainly much better though. Generally one gets the impression of a hotel where they really try their best but they havent made a sufficient investment in the property - which is understandable given the area

If you want the centre of Valkenburg (such as it is) then the hotel is perfectly sited.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hastur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here one night in a family room after watching the Tour de France in Liege. Check in was nice and quick. The room was spacious and clean. The kids loved getting their own room with books, colouring in books and games. Kids room has bunk beds, which suits them just fine - in fact they always disagree on who should have the top bunk as they all want it. All very clean, neat and simple. No frills. No English channels on the TV.

Outside, behind the hotel is a nice little sitting area. Breakfast was very good and fresh. Typically what we have come to expect in the Netherlands and Belgium. The dinner was set and was served up quickly and the quality was good. This is not gourmet, just good, honest food.

This town is lovely and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cHICAGO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Ok, first of all you must remember that this is a small town in the South of the Netherlands. There are no real 4 or 5 star hotels. Taking that into consideration we can begin to review:

Of the hotels available with the exception of the Chateau this is an excellent choice. The hotel is clean, service is good, breakfast adequate, owner involved establishment that tries to please.

Internet was inconvenient as only available in the small lobby while I was there but the owner said she is working on making it available within the rooms.

Had an issue with the remote for the TV which even with new batteries was sporadic and the main light went off and on.

This is a maybe 3 star hotel in American standards.

Room Tip: You can ask for the new section which used to be the owners apartment as they are slightly more upda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FORESTBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I have just stayed at The Atlanta Hotel in Valkenburg, great staff, cosy, friendly, welcoming, clean, tidy, good food... the Hotel was great, I would love to return to this Hotel and Valkenburg was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but I managed without a problem, beware twin beds are together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbabe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break staying at the Hotel Atlanta being part of a coach party. We found the hotel extremely friendly and helpful, room was very comfortable and clean and the food although not a wide choice was all very edible and tasty.
The hotel is situated just on the edge of the town and so it only took around two minutes and you were in the centre on the town which is a lovely old town full of character and plenty to see.
Night time was very enjoyable sitting outside the bars supping 'gluhwein' (mulled wine) keeping warm with the radiators up above.
Altogether a very nice hotel experience.

Room Tip: Room twelve was larger than some of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have just returned from this lovely hotel and was really impressed. There were 36 of us in total and from the minute we arrived, the staff were most helpful and accommodating.
We came to visit the Christmas Markets and such effort was made by the hotel with the Christmas decorations. The hotel had a real WOW factor when you walked in. Evening meal and breakfast were both good and rooms were perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay. I stayed in Room 46 ! (see earlier review) and although it was small, my friend and I had not issues with it. Perfect location for the town, with lots of bars, shops & restaurants, and the friendliness of the staff made it all more enjoyable for us .... keep up the good work - we will be back next year !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissanessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#7 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Botterweck
Hotel Botterweck
#10 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Property: Hotel Atlanta
Address: Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing