We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another mixed bag...”
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlanta
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived at the Atlanta on board a New Year coach trip at about 10pm after a long coach journey which i thought would never end !

The Atlanta looked appealing decked out in its Christmas lights and decorations and the staff immediately welcomed us all in ,helped with offloading and incredibly,produced an evening meal for all of us !

The Hotel public areas especially the dining room,are pleasant and attractive and looked nice with the various Christmas decorations and added touches.

I suspect this is a budget hotel which maybe relies heavily on coach trippers. Our room was certainly not the best we have ever had and was cold, dated,stark and not particularly pleasant to be in. I noted in the hotel guest guide book in the room that they offer a "turn down service". I would be much more likely to huddle in my bed with my quilt pulled up around my chin !.

Remember your own travel kettle and tea bags as in common with many european hotels, they do not recognise the British Tea ceremony and dont provide facilities in the room.

I will say that despite the rooms' lack of appeal, it was clean and once i had warmed up,the bed was comfy and a good nights sleep was had.

It was the type of room which has slightly yellowed woodchip which has been painted, single glazed windows,a radiator which barely keeps the place warm and condensation running on the windows when you wake in the morning. I wouldnt have chosen to stay there and wouldnt have paid any more than £30 per night for the room.

Still, on coach tour budgets one has to make allowances.

What makes it for this hotel are the staff,particularly the young lady and young man who seemed ever present and cheerful in the dining room and bar. Also chef !

As mentioned earlier, there are a couple of grumpy characters two and indeed one of them had the temerity to rebuke some guests who had arrived for breakfast five minutes early !

Food is hot, simple and well prepared and served with a smile !

The young man who works here is apparently moving on and he will be a great loss to this hotel and a great asset for whoever employs him in future.

I'm guessing the hotel makes up for income by upping wine prices in the restaurant. There is no wine list and you can either have red/white/sweet/dry..typically 15 to 25 Euros a bottle !

Still taking all into account it was ok and there is only so much you can expect and get for coach trip prices.

Room Tip: I suspect there is great variance in the room quality as the building is made up of different sectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of December, the purpose of our visit was to see the Christmas Markets at the caves. We had hired a car to drive up to Valkenburg from Amsterdam and was pleasantly surprised to be able to park the car and not need it again for the entire weekend, we only had a short walk into the town with its beautiful shops, bars & restaurants which is also where the caves were situated. The rooms were of a good size and spotless, the pillows and mattress were incredibly comfortable. The breakfast is basic but adequate. I don't know his name but the guy who was there to oversee breakfast also checked us out & he was great as was the lady who checked us in & the guy serving in the bar so no complaints about the staff either. Overall a lovely hotel, good staff, great location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucandkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is clean and staff are very friendly esp Michell and Christel. We arrived early and Michell were able to check us in right away. Internet is free and available in the room. Breakfast was very good and fresh, a lot better and more choices than our Hotel in Amsterdam. This is a good choice if you are only staying for one night in Valkenburg, right in the heart of downtown area, walking distance to castle ruins, shops, and restaurants (I've never seen so many restaurants in a small town). We were there to attend my brother's graduation from the Butler Academy @ Kasteel Oost. Nice town...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

First the good news - the staff are very friendly, the public areas of the hotel are very nice, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the food is fine. Then the bad news ... the rooms are small, old fashioned and sparsely furnished. There is no airco and the windows facing out onto the street and road are single glazed - every passing car can be heard as can every passing pedestrian. This hotel is rated as a four-star which is, one must say, a bit of a joke, Dutch hotel ratings are generally too generous, but this hotel takes it to an extreme. On a kind day you might call it a three star ... otherwise the room itself was the same as some two star places. The public areas are certainly much better though. Generally one gets the impression of a hotel where they really try their best but they havent made a sufficient investment in the property - which is understandable given the area

If you want the centre of Valkenburg (such as it is) then the hotel is perfectly sited.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hastur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here one night in a family room after watching the Tour de France in Liege. Check in was nice and quick. The room was spacious and clean. The kids loved getting their own room with books, colouring in books and games. Kids room has bunk beds, which suits them just fine - in fact they always disagree on who should have the top bunk as they all want it. All very clean, neat and simple. No frills. No English channels on the TV.

Outside, behind the hotel is a nice little sitting area. Breakfast was very good and fresh. Typically what we have come to expect in the Netherlands and Belgium. The dinner was set and was served up quickly and the quality was good. This is not gourmet, just good, honest food.

This town is lovely and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Ok, first of all you must remember that this is a small town in the South of the Netherlands. There are no real 4 or 5 star hotels. Taking that into consideration we can begin to review:

Of the hotels available with the exception of the Chateau this is an excellent choice. The hotel is clean, service is good, breakfast adequate, owner involved establishment that tries to please.

Internet was inconvenient as only available in the small lobby while I was there but the owner said she is working on making it available within the rooms.

Had an issue with the remote for the TV which even with new batteries was sporadic and the main light went off and on.

This is a maybe 3 star hotel in American standards.

Room Tip: You can ask for the new section which used to be the owners apartment as they are slightly more upda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FORESTBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I have just stayed at The Atlanta Hotel in Valkenburg, great staff, cosy, friendly, welcoming, clean, tidy, good food... the Hotel was great, I would love to return to this Hotel and Valkenburg was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but I managed without a problem, beware twin beds are together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbabe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 46 in Valkenburg
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 46 in Valkenburg
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#14 of 46 in Valkenburg
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 46 in Valkenburg
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#5 of 46 in Valkenburg
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valkenhof
Hotel Valkenhof
#17 of 46 in Valkenburg
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Address: Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range: £88 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing