We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very friendly hotel with a great restaurant”
Review of Hotel Tummers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tummers
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we stayed in Valkenburg because accommodation was hard to find in Maastricht. The main purpose of our visit was to attend the Andre Rieu concert in Maastricht- hence problems finding a hotel! This hotel was ideally placed directly opposite the train station which provide us with a short journey into Maastricht on a few occasions.The owner and staff were so friendly and helpful at all times. My husband had a terrible cold and the owner even gave us paracetamol tablets! The hotel has a superb restaurant. However the menu is in Dutch and there was no-one to translate for us. We took a chance and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Valkenburg (pretty enough) itself seems to offer only places to eat! Hundreds of them to suit all tastes and budget- but not much else. However the trains to Maastricht were frequent and we also visited Aachen (lovely). On the down side, the rooms are very small, and while we were there very hot! We felt if they removed one of the 2 big chairs it would have helped somewhat. There was also a chair at the mirror. And really, how hard can it be to provide a small kettle/tea/coffee? On the plus side the rooms at the back have small balconies.
I would however, certainly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: rooms are quiet-even with train station directly opposite. however rooms at the back have small balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirkglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Leuk bestemming! Wellness suites have infrared saunas - only drawback is you have to go outside and around the corner to reach the main hotel (breakfast/restaurant). Easy walking distance from center of Valkenburg

Room Tip: Wellness suite with infrared sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFrankens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and found the hotel very good the suite we stayed in was clean but unfortunately had a disgusting smell when we came back after dinner problems with the drains I feel the suite was in the annex and not part of the hotel apart from this the staff were very friendly and informative about Valkenburg the breakfast was Devine.we were in holland for the Andre Riue concert and will be going back in July 14

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11sandy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for one night. A friendly welcome, good clean and well equipped room. free wifi, excellent Michelin Bib Gourmand restaurant with great food at a good price, hotel car parking, a very good buffet breakfast ( with real fresh orange juice for a change ) and efficient service - all this at a very sensible price! Larger hotel chains should take note. Many thanks for a short but enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anguskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I was traveling in Europe for business for 2 months and one weekend I decided to stay in Valkenburg due to the roman caves and the old world feel of the town. The hotel was recommended to me by one of my European colleagues. Upon arrival the parking lot is slightly hidden on a back street and not massive by any means. The front desk was very courteous and helpful explaining what their was to see in the town and even called tours for me to see if any were available. I didn't stay in a standard room, but a suite due to availability. My room overlooked the train station and was quite large. The hotel bar is very rustic, but in a way that it made it feel like the bar had withstood the pressures over the years to conform. The dining room is beautiful with a great menu. Now the hotel is not situated near anything, but during the warm months it would be a lovely walk into the old town. I walked even when it was cold out just to take pictures of the buildings. It is a little pricey, but with the hospitality and amenities it is justifiable.

Room Tip: It is Europe so standard rooms are always small. Just pay a little more for a bigger room with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakes419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our overnight visit to Valkenburg! The hotel is across the street from the train station, very convenient for riding into Maastricht, and has a lovely bar and restaurant on the ground floor - we dined in town, but came back for coffee. We enjoyed talking with the friendly staff and thought our room was charming and very quiet-with a lovely bathroom and small balcony. The breakfast included with the room was extensive, one could even make fresh orange juice! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margrete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Nice hotel with good location near Valkenburg town center, right across the train station.
The room had a very modern interior with new furniture and a massage shower.

The hotel provides free Wifi that was ok in speed, but sometimes dropped connection.

The room temperature was always very warm; maybe due to the in-room sauna cabin. This made the room not so comfortable to sleep.

Breakfast buffet was good and quite extensive, although it could have contained some more sweets to have "breakfast dessert".

We stayed in the Wellness-part of the hotel, located in an adjacent villa. What makes it "Wellness"?: the fact that there is an infrared sauna cabin in the room and a treatment room in the building for supplementary health treatments.
So do not expect too much on the Wellness part. It is a bit misleading terminology, almost false advertisement, but if you know that in advance it is no problem. The cabin in fact was a very good one at that. For a refreshing full day of relaxation and full wellness experience, you can always go to the nearby Thermae2000 like we did.

The hotel provides parking for a fee (per night: 5€ outdoor, 10€ indoor), but we parked our car in the street for 4.5€ per day [10:00-20:00].

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank straal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TummersValkenburg, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tummers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#2 of 46 in Valkenburg
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#4 of 46 in Valkenburg
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 46 in Valkenburg
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
0.8 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#9 of 46 in Valkenburg
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tummers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tummers

Address: Stationsstraat 21, 6301 EZ Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range: £58 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tummers 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant Tummers**** allows you to experience the Limburgian hospitality all year round. Remarkably located opposite the oldest Railway station in the Netherlands, where also our Brasserie, meeting rooms and Art Gallery is located. In our restaurant you can enjoy an excellent French cuisine and in our Wellness Residence you can relax whilst having a massage. In short… If you just want a little bit more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tummers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing