We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty little town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pretty little town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel whilst attending the Andre Reu concert in Maastrict. We arrived by taxi from the airport (33 Euros ) Taxi Hanssen +31 (0) 6 - 11950111 mobile tel number.
Do please book in advance as the other taxis will charge you 50 Euros and it is very difficult to get a taxi at the airport ( I know I could not believe this either but it is true ) Anyway the hotel was lovely with nice gardens and very relaxing atmosphere, breakfast was pretty much all you would want from a buffet style. We did not eat in the restaurant so cant help you with that one. We had to stay an extra night because of flights and the hotel were very accommodating. The room we were giver first was on the main road and therefore very noisy, it was a very warm few days and we had to have the juliet balcony doors open and the traffic noise all night stopped us sleeping however the staff moved us to a room facing the rear of the hotel, this was perfect and very quiet. The hotel has a policy of making you buy tokens to use in the bar, this was bazaar to say the least, it actually made us use the bar less, and the drinks at the bar were very expensive. However Volkenburg is such a lovely place and the hotel was very relaxing, I would recommend this hotel and town to anyone who is looking for a great weekend away.

Room Tip: Do not get a main road side room, too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baronredcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    62
    60
    24
    14
See reviews for
20
94
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently went to an Andre Rieu concert in Maastricht and wanted a hotel out of town but not too far away.This hotel was perfect. It was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, friendly and has a beautiful shady garden where you can relax with a cold beer (the weather was 29 degrees when we were there!) The little town of Valkenburg is a delight with it's castle and 'velvet cave'....lots of good eateries too!!
We had a fabulous weekend and would love to return with more time to explore this lovely part of Holland. Highly recommend the Hotel, Valkenburg and Maastricht!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arataP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed here for three nights whilst visiting the Christmas markets in Aachen and Valkenburg with Skills of Nottingham. A very nice and welcoming hotel, comfortable rooms, excellent food and friendly staff. There was nothing I could fault with it. I even got a small present from St. Nicholas on 5th December!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed for a weekend the a girls hockey team, the hotel reception, and all staff made us welcome, the rooms were clean spacious and well equipped, other than a kettle. The food was excellent with a large choice of menu on a self service basis, with as much as you wanted to eat. The hotel is positioned on a slight incline 5 minutes walk from the centre of Valkenburg with its cafe bars, restraunts, and attractions to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarky1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a tour to the Belgian Grand Prix. Room very comfortable with a nice view. Everything worked and was spotless (as was the rest of the hotel). Obliging, friendly staff, tasty all-you-can-eat buffets for breakfast and evening meal and live entertainment on some evenings. The public areas are comfortable and attractive and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre. The train station is even nearer, with regular services to Maastricht (a journey of just over 10 minutes). What's not to like?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard0001234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a four night sports tour with a School which was an interesting mix of people as the 30 kids in our party and another six school groups fo similar size squared off against the general public including 60 bridge players!

These tours do run in most school term breaks so beware... I was staff on the trip and got around 4-5 hours kip a night with kids running around the place.

That said, it's a large if not standard 3* hotel on the north end of town and a short walk from the centre (Bars etc). Other hotels for this are more central, but also have school groups.

The breaky is OK... Good continental, poor cooked offer.
Dinner is plentiful and varied 3* quality.

Wifi works across the ground floor so no need to use the smoking room unless you need a puff.
Beer tokens are a carry on but no other way round it. Some slight of hand can fool the bar staff.
The exchange rate at the time was 15 tokens for 9Euros.
The World's smallest beer costs between 5-7 tokens depending on the member of staff. Odd.

Rooms have average beds, size and matress.
Good showers in small bathrooms.
Better views are those looking south to the hills.

Staff are helpful, Multi Lingual and in large numbers.
Schools and Groups? Great
Other Uses? Go elsewhere for better location and peace.

Room Tip: South Facing for views Road (Noise) is on the West side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegas_Fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianadorp
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in March. Hotel is clean and helpful staff, room was very small as was the bathroom. Having to buy tokens to have drinks is not a good idea, no 2 waiters charged the same amount for the same drinks. To use wifi had to sit in smoking room. There was a large party from some sort of club, (would like to have known that)who seemed to think it was their hotel (not welcoming to outsiders) The two music evenings were very good. Breakfast was the same each day and had the dinner buffet once , wouldn't do that again, lots of other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllieJulianadorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#5 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Botterweck
Hotel Botterweck
#11 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont
Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont
#20 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel LeTo
Hotel LeTo
#13 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt

Property: Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt
Address: Nieuweweg 40-44, 6301 EV Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing