We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for school groups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited this hotel with a group of 60 students on a music tour. The rooms were more spacious than we usually expect, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms adequate.
Breakfast was a standard buffet (hot and cold) with hot drinks and fruit juice. Dinner was a three course buffet meal with a selection of main courses which varied daily. Perfect when travelling with teenagers who can be picky!
The hotel has a large gated car park and is conveniently placed about 30 yards from the station from where there were frequent, cheap (by UK standards) trains to Maastricht.
Our only niggle with the hotel were the drinks which are sold in exchange for tokens, each worth 60c, which had to be bought from the front desk. Even though tokens could be exchanged back for cash at the end of the visit, this was irritating and it seemed that the resulting drinks prices were rather arbitrary.
Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked this hotel as an overnight stop to get a good night sleep prior to an early airport run the next day. Unfortunately the terrible pub singer and ensuing racket kept us awake until 2 AM in a room no better than a hostel. Extremely poor service and no management to speak to ensured that this building was by far the worst place I have ever stayed. Do not let the photos fool you, this place is an absolute hole!!!

Room Tip: A terrible place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed 3 days and visit the Christmas market. These market took place in a marl cave. The rooms are comfortable and the bathroom was ok. The people of the reception were very friendly and helpfull. The hotel was not far from the city, only 10 min walking. Also positive is the private parking. We had only breakfast but it was a good buffet with several choises. We will sure go back if we go to Valkenburg

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Booked as part of a Christmas Market trip with Leger Coaches.Looked up previous reviews for the Hotel on trip advisor. If anything the hotel was better than the reviews stated. The reception staff were very helpful and the rooms were very warm,large and comfortable. Despite having a wheelchair user with me, I found that the walk into the town only took ten minutes.
What also helped to make the rip quite excellent was the crowd from the coast who quickly gelled and made sue that they all had a good time. To this end the barman Ardo and the barmaid on the other two nights went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. I lost count of the number of wigs and funny hats that he had. Would love to return with the same crowd

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ripley054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here in 2013 for a couple of nights. It is a rather typical ageing continental hotel - the rooms are big enough for sleeping but not intended for anything else. The bathroom had a basic shower cubical and felt dated. We were at the rear of the hotel so no problems with noise.

Breakfast is a good buffet spread and dinner is a buffet too, with a lot more choice than some other places we have stayed and a good variation of options over the nights.

As others have mentioned the staff can be a little severe at times (not just a cultural thing as the staff in some of the bars in town we visited were incredibly friendly) and the token system for drinks just put us off.

Perfectly decent to use as a bed and breakfast joint, not if you plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TMRTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel was clean and well presented but our stay was spoilt by two issues. 1/ we booked a triple room as we have a disabled child, what we got was a twin room with an extra bed "shoehorned" in resulting in about 6" between beds. Not good with a disabled child.
2/ Rude staff, the barman was pulled up by a member of our party for his rudeness but he still managed to offend my wife on our final night with his manners, worst was the absolute dread full breakfast waitress who offended our whole party with her attitude and manners.
After this I must say the hotel was clean, bathroom clean and fully working and food good. Wouldn't go again, there needs to be a degree of appreciation for your custom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Schaepkens as a launching point for the F1 Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamp, Belgium. For this purpose, the hotel was admirably situated. It's location within Valkenburg is perfect. For both of these reasons, it was sad to see so much of the facility in a tired state of decoration and even repair. The area around the elevators smelled musty-oily. Rooms had irregular fittings. One of our rooms looked newly done, but had no plugs in the bathroom, no provided hairdryer, and overly-bright and glaring lights. The other room had dark, yellowy lights (but excellent bedside reading lights) and chairs in bad need of new upholstery and springs. Hallways were uninviting, dining area was heavily set in an older style of decoration.

Buffet breakfast was limited on weekdays, but nice on weekends. If you're expecting a Pacific Northwest styled cup of coffee, you'll be very disappointed. But the weekend cheese plate was very fun and the breads were quite exceptional. Pity that they only serve dinner as a buffet -- we usually ate out of the hotel because, even though the price was right, we never felt we could justify buffet volume.

Staff was generally helpful and accommodating. One day we asked for fresh linen and the request was honoured without question.

Here's the big problem: nighttime noise from the courtyard! With no A/C windows had to be left open for ventilation. With the bar spilling out on to the terrace, sometimes loud (terrible) music, loud laughing, and the occasional fight, there was no sleep until well into the wee hours of the morning. This was such a shame because the beds were really quite nice.

If the hotel did a good-quality, facility-wide facelift (maybe adding some internal air circulation to the rooms), they'd have a real winner. In the meanwhile, bring your own amenities and DEFINITELY ask for a room facing away from the outdoor terrace.

Room Tip: If you think you might want to open the windows for air circulation, take a room facing away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SyrinxSounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 46 in Valkenburg
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 46 in Valkenburg
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#5 of 46 in Valkenburg
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 46 in Valkenburg
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlas Hotel Valkenburg
Atlas Hotel Valkenburg
#40 of 46 in Valkenburg
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt

Address: Nieuweweg 40-44, 6301 EV Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range: £50 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing