We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel With Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Monopole
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here for one night to make the most of our visit to Thermae 2000. I had been looking at this hotel including breakfast and dinner and the reviews were quite good although i was very worried as the price we payed was a bargain. So we turned up to the hotel and it looked good, a couple of days before we went i emailed the hotel to see if we could have a free upgrde and when we checked in we got a tower suite room, sounds very grand but it is very basic. But the hotels in valkenburg are not known for grand rooms the hotels are mainly old and contempry feel, although i must say it was still a good room and the extra space was good. The staff very good, friendly and helpful. Dinner in teh hotel was superb for the price as there was only a few residents and a bus tour only staying tehre they did a buffet but it was still good and enjoyable. The resturant is not what you would expect it was very clean and modern. The breakfast was equally as good to. I would definatley recomend this hotel to anybody and when we go back to valkenburg would probaby stay here again if i can get the free upgrade again :-) and the great price.

Room Tip: Try and get a free upgrade if you want the extra room space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CoventryCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

We went to visit the Christmas markets at Valkenburg and found this hotel which is very near to the Train station. Centrum (Center) is just less than 10 mins by walk. Location wise, we found this hotel perfect. Good staff and morning breakfast was nice. The room was pretty good. Well maintained and worth the money.

Tip: Please make sure to visit the caves in the morning else you might find yourself in a big queue at the entrance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SNTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I went to the grand monopole hotel for a weekend with crusader holidays. We had a clean room. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. We went to the christmas market Please go to the castle. We went late and we were the last ones in, but that added to the experience. It was twilight and as it gradually got dark the lights came on and illuminated the castle. I took lots of pics and when i looked back at them there were orbs in some of my pics. Very eerie.
We had a great time and i am very pleased we stayed at the grand monopole.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pennya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We spent three nights in the Monopole while on a coach trip to Christmas markets. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and very efficient. Public areas were well maintained, rooms are comfortable, though a little tired looking, and lack some common facilities like hairdryer, kettle, etc.
Overall it was good value - we were there on a half-board basis and evening meals were tasty and well presented. Breakfast was also good, though the staff were often over-stretched.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Hotel no coffee tea have to pay for every thing no replacement soap shampoo room grott food basic but very close to centre drinks expensive must be better hotels around check others first

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

nice hotel with good parking.
rooms clean but need decorating.
beds clean and comfy.
nice easy 5/10 minute walk to main centre shops etc.
good evening entertainment.
very friendly staff.
typical coach trippers hotel
nice breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EMT999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

When you travel with a large group you don't often have such good service. Our room was large and comfortable.We had excellent food each evening of our four night stay.The food was always hot and the staff spoke good English. The proprietors were in attendance for most of our stay and did their very best to ensure that our stay was memorable.

Room Tip: Ideally situated for trips to Aachen,Maastrict .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caroline1965190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 46 in Valkenburg
518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#2 of 46 in Valkenburg
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 46 in Valkenburg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#16 of 46 in Valkenburg
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#4 of 46 in Valkenburg
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Monopole

Address: Nieuweweg 22, 6301 ET Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range: £69 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Monopole 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing