We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location - friendly staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Monopole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Monopole
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location - friendly staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed 3 nights at the Monopole hotel last week with two of my friends.
The location of the hotel is very good in the center of the city just few meters walking distance from shops, restaurants, cafes. I had booked a triple room stayed at room 304 in the 3rd floor which had one room with two separate beds and a smaller room with a single bed. Room was quite nice beds were comfortable, bathroom had a bathtub.
Public areas of the hotel were very good.
Internet was not working in our room - the lady a the reception was very polite trying to assist us restarted the router many times.
Hotel is just few minutes walk to train station and to Valkenburg center which is very convenient!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jurrien68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
35
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BURY ST EDMUNDS SUFFOLK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just returned from a brilliant Xmas market trip with Crusader Holidays.
Hotel was in an excellent location for the town centre and Xmas markets.
Made to feel very welcome on arrival. Hotel very clean throughout and the bar area had a really good ambience.
Although it was a set meal for our coach party the food supplied at all times was excellent.
Always hot and beautifully cooked.
Being a family run hotel we found all the staff to be very friendly and would definitely recommend this hotel to any one staying in Valkenburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KEVINBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I cannot believe that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in this hotel, really awful waking up and not being able to have a drink. :-( Also, the waitress at breakfast time was terrible (Basil Fawlty comes to mind) she was very unfriendly and entirely inflexible. The first day we went down to the breakfast room 10 minutes early and she told us off. The last day we needed an early start before our coach journey. Everyone was down and there were no places left in our "group"tables , my daughter and I found an empty, unmade up table (there were plenty of them) and sat there. She came over and demanded that we move to two separate seats "in our group". We explained that we wanted to sit together and did not know the people she wanted us to sit with. She went and got the manager, who told us off and tried to say that we had 'inconvenienced' him and his staff. After this we went off the idea of breakfast and had to travel on empty stomachs. I have never before been so badly treated in an Hotel. Apart from this, the hotel was clean, our rooms were nice, the bed comfortable and the evening meal and waiter service in the evening was good. Valkenberg is lovely and well worth visiting.

Room Tip: It is hard to evaluate the restaurant, As the morning staff were terrible but the evening staff were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel, as part of an August coach trip. Although other dates had been planned for this year, they had been cancelled due to lack of interest and so August was the first time the trip actually ran and stayed at this location. The hotel is run by a family, very welcoming. Unfortunately the person on the front desk couldn't always be bothered to help, if you had a request or needed information you got the impression you were being a nuisance by asking. On a couple of occasions, I got my own room key, while she sat reading her magazine.

The room was Ok, fairly compact but it seems that being an old building, the rooms were made to fit the available spaces, so some had far more space than others. The bathroom was interesting, a shower attachment in the bath but no screen or shower curtain, so it wasn't possible to take a shower standing up, unless you wanted water all over the floor and down the wallpaper. Ironically there was enough room to accommodate a shower cubicle so we wonder why this wasn't done. Being partly disabled, it proved quite difficult getting in and out of the bath which was very deep. We'd know next time to specify that we need a walk-in shower. Water temperature fluctuated depending on how many other guests were using their bathrooms at the same time.

The hotel is well decorated, has a number of restaurant areas and a nice bar and outdoor sitting area. Live entertainment in the bar on occasions. Bingo in Dutch was also on offer in there while we stayed there. The food was Ok, plentiful and if you needed special diet the chef was happy to accommodate your needs. As a coach party we didn't get any choices, just a set menu so its difficult to say what the a la carte menu would be like. The drinks were quite expensive and the service not always very good. Breakfast was a buffet but again, service not too good, on our last morning we couldn't get any coffee.

The best feature of this hotel, for us, was its location. Like a couple of other hotels on that road, a short walk takes you into the middle of town which brims over with eating places and all sorts of evening entertainment. A slow walk also takes you to the caves, castle ruins, shops etc so its ideal for elderly and disabled alike. In fact the whole town seems to be a mecca for the more senior Dutch holidaymakers but few other tourists during the summer season. In December they hold a Christmas market in the caves and this hotel is as good as any to stay in for that, but I'd probably book bed and breakfast only and ask for a room with a shower cubicle.

Room Tip: Specify what facilities you need and hope to get them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigardafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed one night just before Easter. Definitely out of season – I think only three rooms were booked – which made the hotel seems a little abandoned.

The room we stayed in was a little rundown – and felt old fashioned. Except for the bathroom which were renovated lately. (The hairdryer didn’t work though – but they brought me one from the reception when I phoned)

The staff was friendly. Breakfast was okay.

All in all this is a nice 3 star hotel. But don’t expect more than that.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMODenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

First time at this hotel in Valkenburg and we will definitely return. A very welcoming family run hotel. Our room was excellent, comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent and even though our visit was during a quiet period, the service was top rate. The Hotel has its own off street car park which made it ideal for us. There was a lot of roadwork going on outside at the time of our visit but the whole town sewage work is being upgraded ( not the hotel fault). We were assured that the improvements will enhance the entire street. This hotel is located within three mins walk of the town centre with its many restaurants and cafes and is within 1 min of the train station with trains to Maastricht running every 15 mins.. This is an ideal location for a visit to this lovely Dutch town

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the whole area is generally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 139Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our second visit to this hotel,underlined our previous experience. The owners and the staff go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.
As last time the catering was excellent , and although tea making facilities are not provided a hairdryer was in our bathroom.The beds are really comfortable.True the rooms are a bit shabby but are spotlessly clean. Two or three English channels are available on the room T.V. A three minute walk to the town centre is a bonus.The buffet breakfast consists of a fine selection of cold meats and cheese,cereals, yoghurts,etc. Even the coffee is good! (not too bitter)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline1965190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#5 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Monopole

Property: Grand Hotel Monopole
Address: Nieuweweg 22, 6301 ET Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Monopole 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing