We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Split personality hotel - really odd”
Review of Hotel Wassenaar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Wassenaar
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wassenaar
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed here for one night with our 4 and 6 year old. All the great things were the huge family room, lovely bathroom, easy to find great location near the beach, modern hotel, clean hotel. But the service was appalling. We arrived just before dinner time which was a buffet which at first seemed great. But the reality was that my husband spent most of dinner time queuing at the hot buffet bar and we didnt eat together. No salad option, a very tired pasta offering, and one mixed vegetables dish. It was however presented well and was an extremely clean and tidy area. The desserts were incredible - great range. But it was all very overpriced.
There isn't any aircondiitioning and no windows to open in our room so we had to open the door onto the balcony. But the door didn't stay open so we propped it open with a cushion, until we realised the balcony ran the whole length of the hotel so anyone could access our room.
In the morning we went the the breakfast area where there were no staff. I'm not kidding. We had to ask the receptionist to help find the milk.
After breakfast I went to pay and the lady receptionist had clearly missed the customer service part of her training. No 'how was your stay' or even a 'thank you' or 'have a nice day' Considering I'd just paid £180 for one night I thought this was appalling and I felt really cross. She didn't even say goodbye.
Would we stay here again. Probably not.

Room Tip: Ask for the family suite on the first floor - room 119 I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Wassenaar due to our friends recommendation. When we arrived after a 6 hours drive our room wasn't ready (and we where not the only one). We had to wait another hour to get into our room. During waiting there was no activity from the management for a free drink or similar which is from my perspective a must. However, the room was ok: a little bit noisy
and no a/c so it was hard for us finding refreshing sleep. Bed & shower are great and comfortable. We like the lounge area where you can relax and also have dinner/breakfast. Rates for food are slightly overpriced but within the range. Qualtiy of food is ok and also delicous. The breakfast is good and has everything you need for a good start into the day.
We can't find a restaurant in walking distance (25 minutes) so keep in mind you have to drive (or riding a bycicle) because of the nice countryside. For our next trip the Hotel is on our list

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

A lovely comfortable stay in wassenaar we will definitely use this hotel regularly.The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to assist this hotel is very clean and the resturantt evening meal was out of this world thankyou hotel wassenaar for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynpickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Although the hotel is relatively new and the building is good in a decent area, the service was not good at all. I arrived on a Sunday night after having travelled for 24 hours, to find that the restaurant was closed and there was no room service. After complaining, I was invited to join the buffet that the conference taking place at the time was hosting, but found that there was nothing for a vegetarian to eat. On top of which, unknown to me (and not listed on their website) they do not provide any soap in the bathrooms, and - since the next day was a public holiday and the shops were still closed - I had to make do without soap for another 24 hours. Aslo, there was no internet in my room, although this is advertised, and after I complained, the front desk was indifferent to whether or not I could conduct my business from the hotel. I therefore had to sit in the lobby to get access, which was extremely frustrating. The next day there was yet another conference, and I was told to leave the lounge/lobby area as they were using it for a meeting, so I went into the restaurant in order to get internet access, only to find that there was no wifi in the restaurant either. When I wanted to order tea in the lounge, I had to carry it there myself. The list actually goes on and on, and in the end I would have changed hotels had it not been for the fact that all the others in the area were fully booked up. The only saving grace in this hotel is the wonderful young man in the restaurant (I unfortunately did not get his name) who went out of his way to try and help (even though he couldn't fix it all), when he saw how frustrated I was with all the problems. If you are a business traveller and need prompt service, avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the lobby area as this may facilitate wifi access. The further you get from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstenLM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Me and a few friends were looking for a quieter place to stay that was away from large towns and ideal as a base to explore Holland. Arriving late on a Thursday we were informed that the restaurant was closed. By the hotel made arrangements to open it for us to have dinner which is something we didn’t expect. The rooms are pleasant and have been newly furnished and the bathroom is of a high standard. Breakfast was included and the choice was really good, everything was fresh and it was a great start to the day. We ate in the restaurant a number of times and the food was really good. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, the staff were always helpful and I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HassanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here as we wanted to go to the Keukenhof Gardens and Delft and this hotel is located equal distance from both. The hotel is set in the countryside so a car is important. The hotel was only opened last year so it is very modern and minimalist. Our room was at the front facing the road and the traffic noise was noticeable at peak times. We found the bed extremely comfortable and our only criticism would be the lack of hooks or shelf to put clothes or toiletries on in the bathroom.
There was a comprehensive continental buffet breakfast and the food in the restaurant was very tasty. The staff were all very pleasant and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room at the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harleygirl1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: weiter suchen!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Danieladaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wassenaar
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
995 reviews
2.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
2.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leiden Oegstgeest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fletcher Boutique Hotel Duinoord
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 17 in Leiden
671 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
#1 of 5 in Wassenaar
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wassenaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wassenaar

Address: Katwijkseweg 33, 2242 PC Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wassenaar
Price Range: £55 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wassenaar 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Wassenaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wassenaar South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing