We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Facilities, Shame about the Neighbours!”
Review of Duinrell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duinrell
Certificate of Excellence
Whitwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Facilities, Shame about the Neighbours!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We visited Duinrell over the Easter Break ( Easter Saturday 19/4 to Saturday26/4), travelling down to Dover - Calais and driving up through France and Belgium.
We booked, as per our previous holiday, with Eurocamp and managed to bag a bargain price of £350 in a 2 bed Classic Plus including Ferry Crossing.
On arrival at the Parc ( which is very easy to find) we checked in and were shown to our Van. Dissapointingly, as we arrived, the Van next door was heaving with Kids (we stopped counting at 6) and the Parents were playing horrendous Euro-Happy-Hardcore music at full blast from the courtesy Ipod dock. We had also drawn the short straw and were allocated a Pitch right on the end of a row, next door to the Bins. A bonus was that there was a car park right outside our pitch, but as the van next door had 3 (yes 3) cars with them, there was no space for our 1 vehicle. The Eurocamp rep advised that our nearest parking space would be 2 rows along down the side of someone else's Van. Not happy with this I left the car in our Sun lounger space.
The accommodation (ignoring the premium view of the Bins and delightful neighbours) was more than sufficient for the 3 of us ( 2 adults and an 8 year old). Large lounge / kitchen / dining area, more than adequate bedrooms (1 en-suite) and a loo. The décor was good and plenty of blankets were provided for the beds. Even greeted with a bottle of wine.
The main lounge window was only 2 feet away from the decking of next door, so the whole week, the window was kept shut with the curtains drawn. Quite unnerving having numerous kids peering trough your window at all hours.
The neighbours also had to be told (in German) to keep the noise down at past 10'o clock the 2 nights that they were there. After them we had a lovely Polish / German family who also had numerous friends staying at the Parc and proceeded for 3 nights to dine Al-Fresco on the (2 foot away) decking till after 10.
A tip at this point would be to arm yourself with a handy German Phrasebook and learn how to politely ask the neighbours to keep the noise down.
Other than the lovely continental neighbours, the Parc was fabulous. We easily found our way to the Supermarket / restaurant / entertainment area which was a minute's walk. As per other reviews, I would recommend walking into the town and visiting the C1000 supermarket as the store on site is quite expensive in comparison.
The Theme Parc is more than sufficient to keep kids entertained for a week, although the height rules really need updating on some of the rides. I lost count the amount of times we went on the Swing Carousel, Rick Coaster, and the Log Flume.
When the Theme Parc was closed, the play park was always open and was more than sufficient to keep kids happy.
We did visit the Tiki Bad Waterparc which is onsite and Paid the 3.50 Euro discounted entry per person. Again, if you have a child under 1.30m, there are only a handful of slides they can use. The 2 hours we had were more than enough and we weren't tempted to pay to enter again. If it had been included in the price (as is if you stop in the Duingalows) then we MAY have been tempted to go once more.
The little town of Wassenaar is beautiful and very typically Dutch, even sporting a windmill at the far end of the pedestrianized shopping zone (although only open a few days a week).
The location of the Parc is fantastic if you want to explore. We had lots of ideas before we went of all the places we would go and see, an only managed to see a handful. The Beach at Scheveningen is a must and was only 10 minutes drive away, and whilst visiting at this time of year, it must be a crime to NOT visit Keukenhof.
We also went to visit the local Beach one morning, and after being advised that you cannot walk to it, drove up. The parking was 2.5Euro's and must have been the easiest money the locals make. We spent 15 minutes there walking up and down the beach dodging the dog mess that was being left by the numerous dog walkers.
Overall, did we have a good time. Yes, I'd say despite the Accommodation location & neighbouring families we enjoyed our stay.
Would we return - More than likely not, and it may possibly be our first and last visit to Holland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    273
    74
    28
    34
See reviews for
649
51
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Duinrell for 10 nights during the Easter break. The campsite is very large and noisier than other sites in France where we have stayed. The pitches are not demarcated by hedges but instead are located in large fields. The amusement park was free for canvas customers and my children loved it. However the swimming pool cost 3.50 euros each for two hours, therefore costing 17.50 euros for every family swim. This cost built up over 10 days and may be a reason for not returning to this site. The Netherlands was a beautiful country and we visited Amsterdam, Keukenhoff, Noordwijk beach and Maduradam.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just back after a 4 day stay this was our 2 nd visit.Facilities are brilliant theme park is great eurocamp mobile was perfect staff very helpful.Onsite supermarket is expensive we went to c1000 in wassener which was better value.Wassener is a lovely quaint village we enjoyed looking around it.Would prefer this to eurodisney our kids are young they had a ball.Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irelandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our second time at Duinrell (first time 2007 with Eurocamp), but our first time with Canvas. The site is excellent and includes free daily access to the theme park facilities. The Tiki pool and water-slides, come at an additional charge. There are five in our party 2 adults and 3 kids aged 10 (twins) and 12 We chose the classic 2 Bed with deck this year.
This was our first time with Canvas as we normally book with Eurocamp for our annual holidays.
Our accommodation was a little on the tired side, and somewhat small. The lavatory was separate to the sink and shower, requiring folk to walk through the cooking area to wash their hands after the loo, not ideal with kids. The toilet room was so small you had to back into it, Standing up resulted in head butting the door. The only other downside was that there was no microwave in the kitchen, a minor issue to some I expect, but something that makes my porridge easier to make. In hindsight I think we should have gone up a level to the comfort. However the reps were friendly and for the price it was good value, and the site is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PBriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just back after spending 4 nights in a duingalow. 3 adults and 3 children aged 9, 11 and 14. Stayed in a budget duingalow (all that was available when we booked). It was fine for the time we spent in there, it appeared more modern that some we saw. Private garden with furniture, only problem really was ants, a few in the kitchen and the odd one in 2 of the 3 bedrooms we had, we did tell staff and they said they were dealing with the problem. Own marked parking space in front of our duingalow. The park was great lots of rides for all the children (and adults) I only refused to go on the Falcon. We never had to queue for more than 10 mins and this was during the school holidays, some rides we walked straight on. The waterpark was just as much fun we went 3 out of our 4 night stay. We hired bikes and go-cart. We travel on the Hull to Rotterdam ferry and the drive was about 50 mins during rush hour. We use the C100 supermarket and Aldi in the town, and the Ice-cream shop Lucianos has about 30 flavours very hard to choose, There is a Gyros stall just across from the main entrance to the park open till 10pm great food and very handy. Would we go again......yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CB20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I read LOADS of reviews of Duinrell on Trip Advisor before booking and the overall view of it is extremely fair. It's a great holiday for families of children of all ages - something for everyone. The recent review by Maggie McFlurry made me laugh - in a good way. I can't comment on the Duingalows as we stayed in a Thomson Al Fresco Vivaldi 3 bed mobile home (perfectly adequate in every way, just a bit on the small side even though there were only 4 of us) but the Duingalows looked a bit more spacious. The Wi-Fi is a rip-off but my husband and son took to nipping in to the Library in Wassenaar for the free wi-fi and relaxing atomosphere every time they needed to know how their football team/ Clash of Clans was doing!

We paid for most of our holiday with Tesco clubcard vouchers which made it a real bargain. We drove from Liverpool to Dover & then from Dunkirk to Wassenaar - a real trek so if we go again, we will do the Hull-Rotterdam crossing. Financially not much in it when you factor in petrol & an overnight stay each way.

The Hague was only about 7 miles away & the lovely town of Leiden less than that. We cycled to both (& I am NOT fit!!) and it was great. Can thoroughly recommend both.

Not much else to add as most bases have been covered, We went to Centreparcs last year & although that wins in terms of setting & accomodation, I would much prefer to go back to Duinrell - much better value for money & I prefer to be able to go off-site to see things which is not enouraged at Centreparcs.

All in all, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you like it quiet, ask to be away from the Duinhostel - it got noisy at the weekend, especially S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6720S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've visited Duinrell 3 times now- there was a gap of four years between our last visit and this one- which was enough for me to forget the AWFULNESS of the Duingalows, that is, until the key turned in the lock and it all came flooding back!

I would advise- if you can't scrape enough together for the Premium accommodation, and are forced to chose either Budget or so-called 'Comfort'- don't pay full whack for either; they are overpriced. I found that ours had dropped more than 100 euros between me booking it and the start of the holiday. This rate I feel would have been just about right.

The Comfort (hollow laugh)is not much better than the Budget we stayed in last time, if my memory serves me- it's just got a Senseo machine in it, and a dishwasher. The shower will remind you of the first one you had in the 1970s- that, or one in a Cuban prison- squashed against the wall in a tiny space, trying to escape the sopping shower curtain sticking to your bum, whilst simultaneously knocking the control from Freezing to Scalding, or vice versa. Still, at least it's BRACING. And the black grit that appears mysteriously from time to time and won't wash down the sluggish plughole could prove a point of interest if you find conversation with your family starts to flag.

The actual Duingalows are very dated- all the Centerparcsy leafy pictures on the wall don't disguise this- there is no space for any stuff- certainly not enough room for 5 people and their belongings in a 6p Comfort (another hollow laugh). If you need a bit of a giggle, have a look at the stern itinerary with its costs of replacement for the cheapo crockery they must buy by the metre. You'd think they get it all in Selfridges' china department.

the first time we stayed here, we stayed in a static caravan with Canvas. That was five years ago and the kids still talk about it (ice machine in the fridge door). I have no doubt they'll make us go again- next time,we'd either go with Canvas, wait till the prices of the Comfort (hollow...yes, that) drop to an acceptable level, or sell one of the dogs and go for the Premium.

All that said, the site is brilliant; if anything there's too much to do in the immediate area- Wassenaar is great, the transport links are fab, the beach is wonderful and the cycling is smashing.

Oh, but hang on-have I mentioned the eight euros a day for wifi??

Eight. Euros.

EIGHT.

(of course, you shouldn't really need wifi, there's plenty to do. But this is still a rip off).

Room Tip: as above- use one of the other operators on site, or avoid paying full whack for the Duingalows, unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaggieMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wassenaar
2.9 mi away
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
#1 of 5 in Wassenaar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw
1.7 mi away
Hotel Wassenaar
Hotel Wassenaar
#5 of 5 in Wassenaar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#6 of 16 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duinrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duinrell

Property: Duinrell
Address: Duinrell 1, 2242 JP Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Wassenaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duinrell 3*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying overnight at Holiday Park Duinrell, together with family or friends. Amidst nature, with the sea close by, surrounded by the cities of western Holland and with Scheveningen near by, you'll enjoy some well deserved recreation. An amusement park within an arms reach and the splashing of the Tiki Pool within a short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duinrell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duinrell Holiday Camp Hotel Wassenaar
Duinrell Wassenaar, South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing