We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Duinrell”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duinrell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duinrell
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Duinrell”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday here, fabulous! We stayed with Eurocamp, caravan excellent: comfy beds (would you believe) a non-stick frying pan that was actually non-stick, all utensils, microwave, fridge freezer etc.., no TV but that didn't bother us, plenty to do onsite and in Wassenaar. Have stayed with Eurocamp before in France, but the staff here were excellent, very attentive, checked gas bottles, bbq's etc regularly.
Lovely clean site, maintenance always cleaning or repairing things straight away. Theme park, which is free to use for holiday guests, is within the campsite area and is great for the kids, (old and young!), my daughter loved it. The bonus is the Tikki Water Pool which has reduced fee for holiday guests of 3.50 euros for 2 hours which is plenty.
Wassenaar is literally just across the road, lovely town with great cafe bars/restaurants and an ice cream parlour you must try! Aldi and C1000 supermarkets are within the town and obviously cheaper than the onsite market if you are self catering.
The wide expanse of sandy beach is 4 km up the road, so better by car or bike for the day. Car parking at the beach is 5 euros for the day. Cafe bars, food stalls, and a play area are at the beach along with the hire of sunbeds/umbrellas if you want them.
We hired bicycles form the campsite, dutch bikes - brilliant! we all now want one. Enjoyed cycling round the country lanes where you can also see ambassadors residences.
The people are all friendly and nearly all speak english.
We took the train from Leiden into Amsterdam one day, that's an experience on double decker trains and on another day we used the park and ride facility at Olympisch Stadium just outside Amsterdam. The park and ride works out cheaper but it can be full, so recommend travelling mid to late afternoon to get a space - Amsterdam doesn't close at 5pm.
If you are into gardening there is a large garden centre just across the N44 main road, about 5 minutes from the site, which is brilliant, lovely things for the home as well as an array of plants/flowers that are a lot cheaper than here at home.
Overall a great holiday which was thoroughly enjoyed by all family members.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thistledoonicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    269
    74
    27
    34
See reviews for
642
50
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Omg this has to be the worse place we have ever stayed in with eurocamp.
Site is very nice and well worth the trip for the kids but the caravan we stayed in stank of cigarette from the time we got there till the time we left. We complained to eurocamp to be told they will bring us some air fresher which we never got. Found dirty clothes under the bed in the main bedroom, toes nails under the dining table. None of the patio area was clean and the BBQ was a health risk. No health and safety briefing. In a word, get on with it.
We filled in a complains form and got the staff to sign it and was told to put everything in writing to eurocamp which we did.
Just got off the phone with euro camp for them to offer us compensation of £28 . Paid more for the insurance.
Well shame on you EUROCAMP.
As you can imagine this is disgusting.
Told by eurocamp to write to abta.
Next step abta......

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank maria4paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahang
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and learnt that this is the great experience ever after! this holiday park has its own theme park and water park. The kids were enjoyed and had so much fun! Will come back here one day

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiezan1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is now our 4th consecutive booking we have made for here
This time because now euro camp and key camp have joined
together there have been a few name changes to accommodation
types from 24th April till 7th march 2014 we stayed in a 3 bedroom
espace wich was situated on the island all I can say about this is as
my wife and I are both disabled we felt put to the back of the park but
after some discussions with euro camp we eventually had our love for
The area (wassenaar) rekindled so once again we have booked for sept 2015
As we said we have just let the town into our hearts .
There were some problems both with p&o and euro camp witch are being resolved
At the present time.

Room Tip: Wassenaar was excellent as for caravan location **___ location may suit others be we are two disabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at Duinrell for a week with Al Fresco (formerly Thomson) in the Easter hols. I'll be honest - I wasn't particularly excited about going, but we had Tesco vouchers to use, so it was a free holiday and I wasn't complaining.

How surprised we all were when we discovered what a fantastic place it was! I've never been to anything quite the same in the UK - the campsite and theme park are kind-of integrated, so you can come and go as you please, and there is a massive pool complex in the middle of the theme park.

ACCOMMODATION
--------------------------
We stayed in an Al Fresco Rossini Riviera bungalow (a static caravan to us in the UK) which was clean, modern and well equipped. Nice decked area outside and good spacious pitches. Parking wasn't immediately outside but a few yards away, and the space you got was pot-luck, so for people with mobility issues it might be a bit awkward but no problem for us other than a minor inconvenience loading/unloading. There are loads of caravan spaces (Al Fresco, Eurocamp, Selectcamp and Canvas I noticed) mixed between static units and pitches for tourers, and all seemed spacious and clean. Kids everywhere on little hired go-carts!

DUINRELL PLAZA (The campsite restaurant/bar complex)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Set off to the side of the campsite, near one of the entrances to the theme park. There are a couple of restaurants and take aways in here, as well as an Irish Bar (nothing Irish about it, but it was very nice!) which had 4 lane bowling alley and a few air hockey tables, football on large TVs etc. This is the main showbar as well, and it wasn't too busy when we were there, but I can imagine it being far too small for this purpose in the summer. It was very nice though, if slightly pricey. There's a small supermarket that's open till 8pm too in the complex and table tennis tables outside.

THEME PARK
-----------------
You get unlimited free access to this if you're a resident guest, and we made the most of it! There are so many things in the theme park that are just that little bit different from theme parks at home, and it was nice that it didn't seem to be a complete rip-off. When we were there it was very quiet, and apparently it does get busier, but not too much, so you won't ever have the sort of experience that you would at Alton Towers or Disney, where you queue for hours for a 2 minute ride. The longest we queued for anything was about 15 mins, and that was for the toboggon (like a bobsleigh ride without the snow) which was fantastic and well worth the wait.

There's no point in me describing all the different attractions, but I'll just say that even if you're not a big fan of theme parks and rides, you'll find something here that you enjoy. There are 3 rollercoasters, tame, medium and fairly extreme, plus other hairy rides, as well as plenty of more sedate things for younger kids.

One of the best things in the theme park was the play area - there are two gated areas side by side with all sorts of things that my kids have never seen before - hamster wheels, big slides, spinning monkey bars and the usual swings, see-saws and loads of sand. They loved it and spent hours in there. When the theme park closes in the evening, these are still accessible, so there's nothing stopping you taking a bottle of wine over and relaxing at a picnic table while the kids play.

TIKI POOL (Indoor Waterpark)
---------------------------------------
If you have kids that like slides, this is absolute heaven. Very few queues, loads of slides and fun things for them, plenty of lifeguards, and ample seating for those who've had enough. I had a few gripes with this though - the entry system is so overly-complicated that the queues at certain times of the day are out the door and a hundred yards down the road. You can't go in as a spectator unless you pay the full price. It costs 3.50 euro per 2 hour session, or 5.50 for all day, which isn't much, but adds up for a family of 4 going 5 times in a week. The changing areas were bizarre - double sided cubicles that led to nowhere and the likes. They weren't the cleanest either, and the showers weren't adequate for the number of people using them. But that didn't stop the kids from absolutely loving it all.

LOCATION
--------------
One of the best features for me was the location in the town of Wassenaar. This is one of the most affluent little towns in Holland and it shows - it's impeccably kept, with beautiful streets, cafes, shops and bars. As well as the town itself, it's well placed for plenty of other places to visit with The Hague less than half an hour's drive away, as well as Rotterdam and Amsterdam being easy to get to in less than an hour. There's a beach a mile or two up the road as well, and cycle tracks and woodland walks in just about every direction you want to go in.

NEED INTERNET?
-----------------------
Just a helpful hint... there's a little independent mobile phone accessory shop just 5 mins walk from the main entrance to the park - cross the road and walk straight ahead, it's on the right as you get towards the town centre. For 10 Euros you can buy a pre-pay Lebara SIM card that will fit any phone, which includes 1GB of mobile data - enough for most people to last a week. We picked one up for the kids so they could play games, message their friends etc on their ipads in the evening and it was a godsend. The campsite wifi is far more expensive and obviously location specific - get a sim and take it everywhere!

A FEW MONEY-SAVING TIPS...
-----------------------------------------
* If you want to hire bikes they're expensive - take your own on the ferry if you can! But if that's not an option, take your own cycle helmets, as they were another 5 euros each to hire.
* If you go to McDonalds (there's one not far from the campsite, out on the main road, towards Leiden - we went for wifi before we got the sim!) take your own ketchup/sauce! It's 50cents per dip there, which would have been another 3 quid on the cost of our meal if we hadn't had some from home in the car!
*Get your wine on the boat on the way out if you're going that way. It's cheaper than the local shops.
*Large supermarkets are quite difficult to find. There are a couple of smaller ones in the town and also a shop called Zeeman which reminded me a bit of Poundstretcher - fine if the kids have some pocket money they want to waste on tat like footballs, colouring books etc, as the toy shops were very expensive.
*If you're going to Amsterdam, don't drive! We made that mistake and parking cost a bomb. Ask your rep as apparently there's a park & ride for 8 euros for 4 people.

Overall, I can't rate the place highly enough. There were a few niggles, but you get that anywhere. Without a doubt the best family holiday we've had, and we've had a few great ones, but this was due to the fab location rather than just great people or weather. If in doubt, go for it!!

Room Tip: The nearer to the park the better, if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank panddda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Duinrell, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Really pleased to see you enjoyed Duinrell and your first Al Fresco holiday so much!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
the Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonderry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned from a 4 night/5 day stay at duinrell. We booked with eurocamp and paid £100 for the 4 nights which included the park entry for the 5 days. We stayed in the basic 2 bedroom caravan which was fine for 2 adults and 3 small kids. We shopped in c1000 in wassenaar as much cheaper than onsite and ate out in restaurants in wassenaar also which was reasonably priced. The theme park wasnt overly huge but definately enough attractions to keep our kids amused for the 1 full day and 2 half days we spent there. We hired bikes with trailers for the kids and cycled a few miles along a beautiful canal path. Also went to mauderadam, only a bus then a tram ride away, which kids loved(pick up a brochure in the reception of duinrell for discount for mauderadam). We spent a great day at Zaanse Schans windmills, just catch the train from leiden central to amsterdam sloterdijk and change to koog-zaandijk. Free to walk around and theres clog making demos and cheese etc. The keukenhof gardens are a must! Truly beautiful and eurocamp were running trips there however we went ourselves on the bus no problems. The weather was warm and sunny while we were there. All in all we had an excellent time in holland and at duinrell itself and will definately be back. So much more of holland we wanted to see and duinrell was a great base to see it all from!

Room Tip: We were allocated a caravan in middenvale which was a great spot, close to entrance and theme park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonderryFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We visited Duinrell over the Easter Break ( Easter Saturday 19/4 to Saturday26/4), travelling down to Dover - Calais and driving up through France and Belgium.
We booked, as per our previous holiday, with Eurocamp and managed to bag a bargain price of £350 in a 2 bed Classic Plus including Ferry Crossing.
On arrival at the Parc ( which is very easy to find) we checked in and were shown to our Van. Dissapointingly, as we arrived, the Van next door was heaving with Kids (we stopped counting at 6) and the Parents were playing horrendous Euro-Happy-Hardcore music at full blast from the courtesy Ipod dock. We had also drawn the short straw and were allocated a Pitch right on the end of a row, next door to the Bins. A bonus was that there was a car park right outside our pitch, but as the van next door had 3 (yes 3) cars with them, there was no space for our 1 vehicle. The Eurocamp rep advised that our nearest parking space would be 2 rows along down the side of someone else's Van. Not happy with this I left the car in our Sun lounger space.
The accommodation (ignoring the premium view of the Bins and delightful neighbours) was more than sufficient for the 3 of us ( 2 adults and an 8 year old). Large lounge / kitchen / dining area, more than adequate bedrooms (1 en-suite) and a loo. The décor was good and plenty of blankets were provided for the beds. Even greeted with a bottle of wine.
The main lounge window was only 2 feet away from the decking of next door, so the whole week, the window was kept shut with the curtains drawn. Quite unnerving having numerous kids peering trough your window at all hours.
The neighbours also had to be told (in German) to keep the noise down at past 10'o clock the 2 nights that they were there. After them we had a lovely Polish / German family who also had numerous friends staying at the Parc and proceeded for 3 nights to dine Al-Fresco on the (2 foot away) decking till after 10.
A tip at this point would be to arm yourself with a handy German Phrasebook and learn how to politely ask the neighbours to keep the noise down.
Other than the lovely continental neighbours, the Parc was fabulous. We easily found our way to the Supermarket / restaurant / entertainment area which was a minute's walk. As per other reviews, I would recommend walking into the town and visiting the C1000 supermarket as the store on site is quite expensive in comparison.
The Theme Parc is more than sufficient to keep kids entertained for a week, although the height rules really need updating on some of the rides. I lost count the amount of times we went on the Swing Carousel, Rick Coaster, and the Log Flume.
When the Theme Parc was closed, the play park was always open and was more than sufficient to keep kids happy.
We did visit the Tiki Bad Waterparc which is onsite and Paid the 3.50 Euro discounted entry per person. Again, if you have a child under 1.30m, there are only a handful of slides they can use. The 2 hours we had were more than enough and we weren't tempted to pay to enter again. If it had been included in the price (as is if you stop in the Duingalows) then we MAY have been tempted to go once more.
The little town of Wassenaar is beautiful and very typically Dutch, even sporting a windmill at the far end of the pedestrianized shopping zone (although only open a few days a week).
The location of the Parc is fantastic if you want to explore. We had lots of ideas before we went of all the places we would go and see, an only managed to see a handful. The Beach at Scheveningen is a must and was only 10 minutes drive away, and whilst visiting at this time of year, it must be a crime to NOT visit Keukenhof.
We also went to visit the local Beach one morning, and after being advised that you cannot walk to it, drove up. The parking was 2.5Euro's and must have been the easiest money the locals make. We spent 15 minutes there walking up and down the beach dodging the dog mess that was being left by the numerous dog walkers.
Overall, did we have a good time. Yes, I'd say despite the Accommodation location & neighbouring families we enjoyed our stay.
Would we return - More than likely not, and it may possibly be our first and last visit to Holland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wassenaar
2.9 mi away
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
#1 of 5 in Wassenaar
359 reviews
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw
1.7 mi away
Hotel Wassenaar
Hotel Wassenaar
#4 of 5 in Wassenaar
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
851 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#5 of 16 in Leiden
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duinrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duinrell

Property: Duinrell
Address: Duinrell 1, 2242 JP Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Wassenaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duinrell 3*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying overnight at Holiday Park Duinrell, together with family or friends. Amidst nature, with the sea close by, surrounded by the cities of western Holland and with Scheveningen near by, you'll enjoy some well deserved recreation. An amusement park within an arms reach and the splashing of the Tiki Pool within a short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and PitchUp so you can book your Duinrell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duinrell Holiday Camp Hotel Wassenaar
Duinrell Wassenaar, South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing