We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Park, Average Carvan and Lucky(ish) Timing!”
Review of Duinrell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wassenaar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duinrell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our Alfresco 'vivaldi' caravan was tired and worn in comparison to the several Siblu caravans we have stayed at in France. Adequately equipped at best, it was old and tired. Worn out plastic 'comfy' seating, broken trim around the kitchen units, drill holes in the bedroom walls, canteen chairs and so on. The linen pack had clean sheets but cheap sandpaper towels, unfortunately no duvets which we have been used to with other companies.
The park was fantastic when we arrived (23 May), not too many people, only short waits at all the rides and the same for the Tiki pool. But about 3 days before we left it suddenly got VERY busy, the girl at the information desk said it was a Dutch national holiday, "something to do with Jesus" she said, in May?
The pool got the busiest...long queues to get in and long waits for every slide. The changing room was a bizarre layout and way too small for the extra people who decended on it. The noise got deafening, the lifeguards were paranoid about safety, their whistles constantly adding to the din. Before it got too busy the pool was great, the last couple of days we couldn't face it.
We did enjoy the park, there are rides for everyone, but we did count ouselves lucky we didn't book in August.
My advice is to hire a bike, cycling is easy around Wassenaar with great cycle paths and if you get a sunny not too windy day... hit the beach. Cycle left out of the park and keep left, about 4-5 km but an easy ride with only 1 hill.
We enjoyed the holiday but were let down with the accomodation. The Alfresco reps were polite and were as helpful as they could be, but I got the impression they have many similar discussions as the one they had with me.

Room Tip: Make sure you insist on a room well away from the bins.... very noisy early every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kerlann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Duinrell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Kerlann,

I'm pleased to see you had a lovely time on Duinrell and enjoyed your holiday, although disappointed to see you did not fully enjoy our mobile home.

We do update our mobile homes on a regular basis, we will take your comments on board - so thank you for taking the time to let us know.

Many thanks, the Al Fresco team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Omg, what can I say, we have been here numerous times and always had a fantastic time. My kids love it here and when asked where they wanted to go on holiday they choose this place again. Great family fun, we all hire go karts, even me and my hubby and we love it. The dutch are lovely people and are so family friendly. It was great. I can't wait to go back never mind the kids! Warning...you'll be absolutely shattered when you get back. X

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank lyndyloo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights here with our 2 boys aged 4 and 7. We stayed in a duingalow booked directly through the site and it was fantastic. The accommodation booked direct looked much better than the eurocamp/Thomson accommodation. This site has lots to offer for families. The tiki pool, the theme park, the play areas cater for all age groups and we will definitely go back- 5 nights just wasn't long enough. Wassenaar is a lovely place and we had some lovely meals out locally. By far the best place we have been for the children and we shall be back very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisagreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We got this holiday as a last minute booking through eurocamp and were not expecting much! We certainly had a surpise when we got there. Although our caravan only had two bedrooms(there were five of us) it was not squished at all as it was possibly the best and cleanest caravan we have ever stayed in. The reps were friendly but not too friendly. The site itself is fantastic, the rides are amazing and we were shocked at how many there were as well! The pool had a large range of slides as well as lazy river and wave machine so there was something for everyone. It also had a very large shop so you don't really need to venture off site at all. I would recommend this site to anyone and will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TrueTravelChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday here, fabulous! We stayed with Eurocamp, caravan excellent: comfy beds (would you believe) a non-stick frying pan that was actually non-stick, all utensils, microwave, fridge freezer etc.., no TV but that didn't bother us, plenty to do onsite and in Wassenaar. Have stayed with Eurocamp before in France, but the staff here were excellent, very attentive, checked gas bottles, bbq's etc regularly.
Lovely clean site, maintenance always cleaning or repairing things straight away. Theme park, which is free to use for holiday guests, is within the campsite area and is great for the kids, (old and young!), my daughter loved it. The bonus is the Tikki Water Pool which has reduced fee for holiday guests of 3.50 euros for 2 hours which is plenty.
Wassenaar is literally just across the road, lovely town with great cafe bars/restaurants and an ice cream parlour you must try! Aldi and C1000 supermarkets are within the town and obviously cheaper than the onsite market if you are self catering.
The wide expanse of sandy beach is 4 km up the road, so better by car or bike for the day. Car parking at the beach is 5 euros for the day. Cafe bars, food stalls, and a play area are at the beach along with the hire of sunbeds/umbrellas if you want them.
We hired bicycles form the campsite, dutch bikes - brilliant! we all now want one. Enjoyed cycling round the country lanes where you can also see ambassadors residences.
The people are all friendly and nearly all speak english.
We took the train from Leiden into Amsterdam one day, that's an experience on double decker trains and on another day we used the park and ride facility at Olympisch Stadium just outside Amsterdam. The park and ride works out cheaper but it can be full, so recommend travelling mid to late afternoon to get a space - Amsterdam doesn't close at 5pm.
If you are into gardening there is a large garden centre just across the N44 main road, about 5 minutes from the site, which is brilliant, lovely things for the home as well as an array of plants/flowers that are a lot cheaper than here at home.
Overall a great holiday which was thoroughly enjoyed by all family members.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thistledoonicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Omg this has to be the worse place we have ever stayed in with eurocamp.
Site is very nice and well worth the trip for the kids but the caravan we stayed in stank of cigarette from the time we got there till the time we left. We complained to eurocamp to be told they will bring us some air fresher which we never got. Found dirty clothes under the bed in the main bedroom, toes nails under the dining table. None of the patio area was clean and the BBQ was a health risk. No health and safety briefing. In a word, get on with it.
We filled in a complains form and got the staff to sign it and was told to put everything in writing to eurocamp which we did.
Just got off the phone with euro camp for them to offer us compensation of £28 . Paid more for the insurance.
Well shame on you EUROCAMP.
As you can imagine this is disgusting.
Told by eurocamp to write to abta.
Next step abta......

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
11  Thank maria4paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and learnt that this is the great experience ever after! this holiday park has its own theme park and water park. The kids were enjoyed and had so much fun! Will come back here one day

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiezan1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wassenaar
3.0 mi away
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
#1 of 5 in Wassenaar
714 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Wassenaar
Hotel Wassenaar
#5 of 5 in Wassenaar
80 reviews
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fletcher Boutique Hotel Duinoord
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
4.7 mi away
Carlton Beach
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duinrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duinrell

Address: Duinrell 1, 2242 JP Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Wassenaar
Price Range: £32 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duinrell 3*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying overnight at Holiday Park Duinrell, together with family or friends. Amidst nature, with the sea close by, surrounded by the cities of western Holland and with Scheveningen near by, you'll enjoy some well deserved recreation. An amusement park within an arms reach and the splashing of the Tiki Pool within a short distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duinrell Holiday Camp Hotel Wassenaar
Duinrell Wassenaar, South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing