We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base”
Review of Duinrell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wassenaar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duinrell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our first time in Holland and look forward to returning. The camp site was clean, well laid out and a great location for touring the area. Bike and go-kart hire was great for the family and a short ride takes you to lovely little beach. The camp site was perfect for our needs but as we were leaving in mid July the campsite seemed to be getting very busy, temporary fences going up around the car park etc. I don't think I would have enjoyed it if it had become any more busier! Most people respect the 11pm curfew but there was always a few loud voices. The welcome pack made it clear this would not be tolerated but I never heard anybody approaching the people.
The caravan was good and when we arrived it was very clean. Due to our family size we required to use the pull down settee which we had to alternate who was sleeping in it as it was the most uncomfortable bed in the caravan.
The camp rep was pleasant and visited a couple if times which I thought was a pleasant touch.
The location was perfect for us. Entertainment from the activities in the park was excellent but we did not go to the bar activities at all.

Room Tip: We liked the island location for its quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mairi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Duinrell is a fantastic place to go for a family holiday. We stayed in a duingalow which was situated about a minute walk from the theme park. To begin with I first thought it was going to be noisy at night however, the theme park closes at 6pm and after the theme park closes everyone heads towards the plaza which is the other side of the park. The duingalow was clean and spacious, a little bigger than the average sized caravan with a patio and private garden so you didn't feel overlooked.
The theme park was great our children who are 12 and 15 years old loved it. There are plenty of rides for all ages although we went during summer holidays you never had to wait too long to go on the rides. Tiki bad which is the swimming park was also fantastic there are lots of lifeguards keeping watch. The slides are great and are for all ages whether you are a dare devil or not!! Our favourite slide was moonlight and star fright on which as you slide down on a rubber inflatable you experience different coloured flashing lights. As we stayed in a duingalow the theme park and tiki bad were free. I would recommend going to tiki bad as soon as it opens at 10am because there are no queues at this time.
The beaches are amazing in Holland they are absolutely beautiful. There are many cafes/restaurants along the actual beach with superb seating areas.
I would recommend getting an ice cream from Lucinos in Wassanaar they are delicous with many favours to choose from.
There are two supermarkets close by don't go to Aldi not a great selection and it was grubby and smelt bad. C1000 is the better option good selection and quite big there is a car park underneath the shop which you are able to park in for two hours for free giving you pkenty of time to shop, get an ice cream and look around Wassanaar.
My husband also went fishing after speaking to the man at the tackle shop in Wassanaar who was very helpful.
Would definitely go back here again

Room Tip: Choose a duingalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank JemmaG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week there with 7 + 10 year old boys, they loved every minute,plenty for them to enjoy. The water park and amusement parks have plenty to keep the kids busy. The village and shops, bars and cafes are only 10 mins walk from the camp so you won't feel clostrophbic. I couldnt ride a bike for medical reasons but everything remained accessible. We will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We would normally go for luxury holidays but were pleasently surprised by Durinrell. We spent a week here in July and have two children (boys of 3 and 5). They absolutely loved this place and, when asked , said they would rather go here than Disneyland (which they have already visited). The theme park is great for young children (not so much for older kids). Our boys absolutely loved this place and we will definitely return. If you go into Wasenaar you will also find a good range of very good restaurants and surprisingly good food. I must also recommend that you visit Luciano's ice cream parlour where you will get an amazing selection of ice cream made on the premises and flavours to rival any Italian Gelatto.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
1  Thank DHL&CAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Without doubt the best value family holiday anywhere in Europe. Access to the theme park was again included in our holiday reservations which was the main reason for booking. The standard of the holiday camp was generally clean yer very basic similar to the caravans. However we knew what to expect based on a previous stay.

Depending on what your looking for, the island is great for children but will not give you sunshine as in dense woodland. Next to the plaza is great for sunshine, bbqs but your next to a congested high passing traffic area. Even with four kids we preferred being off the island. Perhaps the island is best for families with kids under five. Try and stipulate beforehand what you want. We cannot fault our agent who resolved two problems to our satisfaction.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Daddymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good safe place for kids and adults can relax around them. Loved the theme park. On site food not that great. Booked with Thomson al fresco - static caravan was ok but bit dirty. Reps not that interested in checking cleanliness. We wanted 2 keys as six of us and they couldn't accommodate that - told us to leave key outside which I wasn't too keen to do. Never got the promised welcome drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we went with eurocamp .to duinrell the 19th june to 1st july .the camp itself is good .but the eiland is horrendous eurocamp caravans are packed in .talk about safety hazard .there were football hooligans .we were promised they would be dealth with .no so wrong i went and got duinrells security eventually after 3 nights of no sleep and being threatened by belgian football supporters and they sorted it out .so many people come for a couple of days they seem powerless to stop the bad behaviour .we complained and were told no other vans available .the rep told me they put you on eiland unless you refuse .which i saw people do just refuse to even go in vans .smart move .the vans were clean i must admit that .the camp facilities are good especially the water park .plenty to see and do in serounding area .lovely little town with nice shops .just dont go on the eiland

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fergiefalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wassenaar
1.5 mi away
Hotel Wassenaar
Hotel Wassenaar
#5 of 5 in Wassenaar
79 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
#1 of 5 in Wassenaar
664 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fletcher Boutique Hotel Duinoord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Central Park, by Ron Blaauw
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
972 reviews
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duinrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duinrell

Address: Duinrell 1, 2242 JP Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Wassenaar
Price Range: £87 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duinrell 3*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying overnight at Holiday Park Duinrell, together with family or friends. Amidst nature, with the sea close by, surrounded by the cities of western Holland and with Scheveningen near by, you'll enjoy some well deserved recreation. An amusement park within an arms reach and the splashing of the Tiki Pool within a short distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duinrell Holiday Camp Hotel Wassenaar
Duinrell Wassenaar, South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing