We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Wassenaar(Wassenaar)
US$589
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
251
322
134
59
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
322
134
59
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvan der valkgreat hotelbreakfast buffetnice stayroom was cleanden haagideal locationenjoyable hotelplace to staybooked this hoteleasy accessenjoyed our staygood sizebalconyscheveningenbathaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We decided last minute to visit Amsterdam and Keukenhof, so booked this hotel 2 nights before we left. It is a 4 star hotel and we got such a bargain through booking.com . When we arrived and saw the beautiful hotel, we were sorry it was just for one night! The rooms are spacious, with everyrthing provided; heated bathrooms, toiletries, flat screen TV with a few English channels (bonus!) and very clean.. The reception staff were very courteous, and if I ever return to the Netherlands, this is where I am heading to stay!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms get no noise from the floor above - great ceilings!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were booked in here by a friend whose party we were attending in Holland. We asked for this location as we wanted to visit the Keukenhof Gardens.

We were bowled over by the quality of the hotel and the staff, who made us very welcome. We had asked about local restaurants to eat in the evening but in the end, after a day at the gardens , we decided to eat in the restaurant, and we were not disappointed in the slightest. We were survey a marvellous meal in their restaurant with excellent service from Stephen.

I would thoroughly recommend anyone in the area needing a hotel to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Ariving at the hotel we were disapointed on the location, it was located directly next to the freeway and quite some distance from Den Haag. Staff however was fantastic and breakfast was amazing. Only downside was the location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bithja I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've stayed at this hotel a couple of times previously, as it is well placed being near to Keukenhof, Wassenaar, Leiden, Scheveningen etc., and less than an hours easy drive from Amsterdam. There were 10 of us in total, in 5 rooms, and we were there 3 nights.
The hotel is well presented, with recently renovated rooms (well, they were last year as well) with clean rooms, very good quality bathrooms and excellent beds. The hotel has excellent reception staff (all with better English than mine) and for me the restaurant is also excellent. Also, despite being located on a major road, it is not noisy, at least in the rooms we had.

So, the restaurant. Great quality food, but for the second time one of the meals we had for our group was wrong, and then the replacement was also wrong. The staff were good about it but it's a pain in backside. Having said that, I put some of this down to the language difference, but it's annoying anyway. On the second evening, the main issue was running out of menu dishes, which is a problem if ones daughters are fussy eaters and thats all they wanted! Main choice not available, second choice also not available. Kids menu then, or ask for an omelette. Still, not much the waiters can do about that. But to reiterate, I really like the food there and you get lots of it.

Breakfast is a buffet, and includes all the usuals (bacon, eggs, toms, mushrooms, sausages) plus lots of cold cuts and cheeses and different breads, croissants cakes... Epic! I only needed a light lunch of Dutch Apple pie! And if you've never had that, you're missing out. It was superb pretty much wherever I had it. Diet time now...

Overall, I like the hotel and will stay again.

Location wise, it's a great base for going to Keukenhof to see the gardens (which this year were amazing). Not normally my thing, but I really enjoyed it. We also went to Amsterdam, which is only 45 minutes drive away. Tip: if you do this aim for one of the car parks in the centre (we used De Bijenkof). They are not cheap, but easy to get to, especially with sat nav helping, and properly secure. Scheveningen is also worth a visit if you like a seaside resort feel, and we also drove to Volendam just to the north of Amsterdam on the coast of the Markemeer.

Other places worth the visit are Middelburg in Zeeland in the south, and if you go there, you should not miss Veere, an ancient and very charming old trading town on the now effectively landlocked Veerse Meer lake. A truly beautiful spot. Also worth the drive down along the N57 which takes you over the Delta Expo water defences - proper Dutch engineering on a huge scale!

We had a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back. Also, not all have baths, as many rooms were converted to wet rooms with walk in showers. Quite a few ground and first floor rooms have a balcony or access to a sitting area and seemed to be larger. Still, nothing wrong with the 2nd floor room we had.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richdebonnaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Van der Valk Den Haag Wassenar was a very nice hotel. I only stayed one nite but I would come back here.
Everything was very nice in the room and internet connection was quite good.
Breakfast was very good and cost 12.50 Euro.
Only complaint is that the front desk check inn was very, very slow. They only had one person working the front desk and she said that she is alone including the busiest check in hours.
She was very kind and I felt sorry that she didn't have help necessary to make quick check in when alot of people arrive.
Despite this, I would definitely stay here again as the accommodations were comfortable, breakfast very good and the price slightly less than 100 Euro a nite including tax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILoveIsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews