We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woudschoten Hotel & Conferentiecentrum
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Zeist
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I had a training at Woudschoten for 2 days so I also stayed in the hotel. And it is strange to have a intense training in such a peaceful environment, a forest that just is so inviting to relax. The nice aftersummer weather made it even more authentic. The hotel in whole was quite modern and provided a very good lunch and dinner service. At breakfast I got cold scrambled eggs, but it is just a minor inconvenience. The room was renovated but still so plain and boring. With such wonderful views I would have loved to have a big window, a balcony would be even better. All I got was a small window that did not even open fully. It was a clean room, but beds were nothing special.

And that was the whole paradox from Woudschoten. It is a good place to hold a conference or training and even have lunch or dinner, everything is just there. But as soon as you enter the whole room you wonder: Is this all? It was funny that they gave me a pricelist from the minibar, and the while checking out, I gave it back and said that I did not use anything, only to hear that my room did not have a minibar. Strange things. If you like peace and quiet, have a training and don't care that much for luxury, than I can recommend Woudschoten to you. Would I go here on a very romantic weekend? I don't think so.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    57
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
49
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The Woudschoten is a conference centre about 2km outside Zeist near the village of Austerlitz. It's main business is clearly conferences but as a result it offers very cost effective weekend accommodation. The hotel is modern and well maintained, rooms are comfortable and quiet, although on the small side. Bathrooms modern and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good - and included some hot bacon and scrambled eggs plus the usual old meats and breads. Staff were helpful and overall, it was a relaxing stay. Negatives - rooms are not air conditioned; not often an issue in The Netherlands but it made for an uncomfortable night when we stayed during some exceptionally hot weather. Windows open so we had some ventilation, but it was hot outside over night! We stay here whenever we need to overnight in the Zeist area - thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: This is a quiet hotel in a peaceful location - don't think room location makes much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishmanonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

The Woudschoten is what you would expect from a conference center in Holland. The rooms in the hotel are VERY basic -as in no amenities such as toiletries or a coffee pot. They are also very small but clean! Also, don't expect haute cuisine. The food is basic - but solid. In short, you get what you would expect here. Nothing more nothing less.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroteAppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had scheduled some meetings in the Netherlands. The hotel looked alright in the homepage and it had only a couple of negative reviews in Tripadvisor. After spending a couple of days there, I honestly do not understand the negative reviews: the hotel was fine, the rooms confortable, very good internet connection, the service was fine as well.

The hotel seems to be popular for conferences; as a business traveller it was alright, the hotel bar was very busy and fun. The hote is in a forest (!) and there was a fantastic track for jogging. The breakfast was good as well!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelers_Solna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Arrived for a two-day conference with a lunchtime start, but not permitted to check - in until the lunch had started. Not that practical!

Food was good but not exceptional with lunch offering one warm offering of pizza bread on the first day and wraps on the second in addition to soup!

Facilities for conferences are excellent with multifunctional rooms and large open spaces indoors for further chats or formal meetings or what's better still...the fantastic grounds of the hotel...in the luscious woods with lots of areas to sit in the fresh air and talk!

Rooms are either in the process of being upgraded or are completely upgraded. I had one of the newly- styled rooms. Rooms are small and compact with a tiny flatscreen mounted on an arm in the wall. The room is decorated in white plastic with a pleather (plastic-leather...leather-look) headboard and a leather relax chair and table and chair. When waking up in the admittedly- comfortable bed, it feels like you are in a hospital.

Bathroom is tiny ...you can't even stretch out arms without touching all four walls!

Service is robotic and efficient and absolutely no sense of warmth or personality. Guest names are not used and was left to feel more like a hindrance than a guest! Pity!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the noisy bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 747jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I stayed here about 5 years ago, and remembered a shabby hotel. However, most of it has been refurbished and now it is actually quite a decent place to stay. I was given a room in one of the wings, and it was very nice.

However, one of my colleagues had his girlfriend come over so I swapped rooms with him, and ended up in one of the older rooms (above reception). After a couple of hours, I regretted swapping; my "new" room was noisy (lots of noise coming from the hotel bar, and from people sitting in the garden), had a low ceiling and the furniture looked tired. The bed in this room was very very soft, way too soft for my liking. So avoid the rooms in the main part of the building and you're fine.

Breakfast was plentiful; lots of healthy and unhealthy foods to fulfill your every need. The package included lunch and dinner as well, and both were also very nice.

If you manage to secure a refurbished room, I'm convinced you will have a very good stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryWrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I booked this hotel based off of reviews and the price. We were VERY satisfied with our stay. Beds were comfortable, accommodations were classy and clean. Beautiful modern bathrooms with fabulous showers. We used this hotel as home base as we traveled to Amsterdam, Zaanse Schans, Lisse, etc. The location was convenient for our purposes. Very accommodating staff. Danku wel!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghijka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeist
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Oud London
1.3 mi away
Kasteel Kerckebosch
Kasteel Kerckebosch
#1 of 6 in Zeist
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Theater Figi
Hotel Theater Figi
#2 of 6 in Zeist
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
4.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bergse Bossen
Hotel Bergse Bossen
#1 of 2 in Driebergen
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woudschoten Hotel & Conferentiecentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woudschoten Hotel & Conferentiecentrum

Property: Woudschoten Hotel & Conferentiecentrum
Address: Woudenbergseweg 54, 3707 HX Zeist, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Zeist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Zeist
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woudschoten Hotel & Conferentiecentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Woudschoten Hotel & Conferentiecentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing