We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brinkhotel Zuidlaren
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zuidlaren
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is a nice one. We stayed here for one night. Late in the evening we called for a room. Gladly they had one for this was a very late booking. The room we were given was not a very good one, so at midnight after checking in we went back to the frontdesk and asked another one. Fortunately there was one better available. This was a room with a staircase. Entrance with a salon, stairs, and there was bedroom and bathroom. The bed itself was not a very large one but okay. The bathroom had bath and shower, toilet and another door. Don't open this one unless there is an emergence. This is your escape door. Breakfast next morning is okay too, not included.

Room Tip: Don't book room 123, this is a very small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
38
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If your planning a visit around the end of June say to the Assen TT (MotoGP),this hotel is handy about a 15-20min ride. We booked in November of the preceeding year for 3 nights and then required a fourth night. The fourth night was almost 50% cheaper as it was the day before the start of the TT.There is parking available freely and within walking distances a number of meal choices are available. There is also two supermarkets and a post office within 200m. The town has many quaint buildings and hosts a market in the town square.
The hotel rooms are average in size with smallish bathrooms.However tea & coffee making facilities are available and 24hrs reception. An in house restarant is available. A sauna and solarium are available also.The price we paid of 106euro wasnt cheap and didnt include breakfast. Wi Fi is free in the rooms.

Room Tip: try to get breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driehuis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

It's time for the hotel to renovate the rooms; the carpet smells a bit and is at least a decade old. When we arrived, both the room and the bathroom were properly cleaned. There is only one main lamp available in the room and two next to each side of the bed. For people with low visibility, this might be a bit difficult. Basic amenities such as shampoo and shower gel are available.

The hotel offers two types of pillows; a stiff one and a soft one that I prefer personally. Breakfast is decent, not extraordinary and not bad either. Items that I regard as normal to be available in a hotel, such as orange juice, scrambled eggs, croissants, dairy and fruit. Yet the croissants weren't freshly baked as far as I know. Service in the hotel is not extremely friendly, but the staff was experienced anyway. The surroundings are nice for small excursions by bike or by car; the cities Assen and Groningen are within 15 minutes of driving. Wi-Fi is available for free and functions properly.

I personally do not think that this hotel is a 4-star hotel. I would regard is as a 3-star hotel. We (a family with 6 persons in total) benefitted from a special arrangement in June 2013; €89 each for two nights, two breakfasts, two dinners and free bike rental. Public transport to Groningen is possible by public transport: the bus stops in front of the hotel. The town Zuidlaren has ±10,000 inhabitants: it's especially long, but not very wide. The town is nice to make one or to small hikes through, but nothing special.

All in all, I would recommend the hotel for those who are not requiring hotel visitors that like to see the surroundings of Zuidlaren; Assen and Groningen city for 2-3 days, and would not accept a price higher than €80 p.n. For business travelers, I would recommend sleeping somewhere else since the amenities are too limited and the town too quiet. For those, Mercure Groningen would be a better solution in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timnij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Well, it was a cheap hotel, so the cheap rooms and the location combined makes this a decent option if you're staying in Zuidlaren area. However, there were quite a few things that really did not charm us.
Let's start with the reception: the staff did their job perfectly okay, but they never smiled, were not interested in helping us or other guest with what to see in the area and quite frankly came across as being rather rude.
The first night of our stay we had dinner in the restaurant: the food was miserable, badly prepared and on top of that we never got one of our dishes - although we paid full price. The breakfast buffet was also a miserable affair. In all fairness, when you opt for a cheap hotel solution you cannot expect a super breakfast, but the food here was not nice and add to that that the buffet area was too small and therefore permanently overcrowded. Worst of all, of course, was the coffee machine. In the name of efficiency they have a coffee machine from where you get your hot drinks. Now that is actually okay for a hotel in this price range, however, it is not acceptable that to get a cup of tea or coffee you have to wait a long time in the line - every day and every time without fail. On the bright side, the staff in the restaurant were always friendly, maybe to compensate for the extremely dirty chairs.
On our last morning, we had put the "please-do-not-disturb" sign out while we were getting ready to depart. However, that did not deter the cleaning staff from knocking on our door, and asking us if we would be ready to leave soon because they were keen to clean the room (needless to say, this was before check-out time).
So yes, it was clean, cheap and had good location, however, I recommend you to look for another option.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indiaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zuidlaren hotels

Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed in this Hotel for one night, after Check in went to the room, what was very disappointing for what I paid, was old, smelly, small, bathroom tiny and tiles with no grouting, shower had mold on the floor and wall. I had a appointment straight away, but after i got back to the Hotel went to reception and complaint about it, answer I should have come sooner nothing they could do about it !!!!! For the price I paid 81 euro's without breakfast I found this a rip off and that for a 4 star Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room inspection first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I used this hotel for work on a number of occasions in Autumn 2011. I found this hotel cheap, clean and in a great location, right in the centre of Zuidlaren. We paid around 50 Euros per night for a double room without breakfast. The food in the hotel restaurant was good and the staff very polite and helpful. I think they had just started to renovate some of the rooms during my last visit, some of which are definitely in need of an update.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road as this can be rather noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeroy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We used this hotel only for one night. Location is good in the very nice village of Zuidlaren, and not too far from Groningen. Easy to reach by car or bus. Check-in without any additional information at the front desk, not even about breakfast options, which were not included in the price. We did not use the restaurant, there are several good restaurants at walking distance (we had dinner at Cosineros, very good!). Our room was on the second floor, very small, basic and outdated. No refrigerator, no minibar. You can make some instant coffee however. Bathroom was nice, shower only. Room and bathroom were both spotless. Beds were pretty soft. Our room overlooked a small and not very attractive patio. All in all, certainly no 4 stars, 3 at most. But, the price we paid was equivalent. Pay attention to the rooms, ours was a standard room, there are superior rooms as well, these are more expensive. Both type of rooms seem to have many differences though. We would come back if it was again for a one night stay, but certainly not for about a week or so. Check out took a long time, because there was only 1 person available at the desk, and of course there seemed to be a problem with another couple's invoice...

Room Tip: If you need some space, take a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuidlaren
9.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Assen
2.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zeegser Duinen
8.6 mi away
Best Western City Hotel De Jonge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek
17.2 mi away
Abdij de Westerburcht
Abdij de Westerburcht
#1 of 3 in Westerbork
117 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Hartlief
Hotel Hartlief
#1 of 2 in Buinen
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brinkhotel Zuidlaren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkhotel Zuidlaren

Property: Brinkhotel Zuidlaren
Address: Brink O.Z. 6, 9471 AE Zuidlaren, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Zuidlaren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zuidlaren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brinkhotel Zuidlaren 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brinkhotel Zuidlaren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing