We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not extraordinary...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brinkhotel Zuidlaren
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zuidlaren
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I went here during a short weekend break. We had a hotel voucher so the room was very cheap. We also booked the breakfast separately, but it was not spectacular. Just a simple buffet. The room was clean, but nit very big, with two separate beds. There was a coffee make, a small tv and a balcony. The staff was friendly and we would recommend the small high-tea. It was excellent. We also had dinner in the attached restaurant which was quite good.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team_Panic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Brinkhotel Zuidlaren
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is a nice one. We stayed here for one night. Late in the evening we called for a room. Gladly they had one for this was a very late booking. The room we were given was not a very good one, so at midnight after checking in we went back to the frontdesk and asked another one. Fortunately there was one better available. This was a room with a staircase. Entrance with a salon, stairs, and there was bedroom and bathroom. The bed itself was not a very large one but okay. The bathroom had bath and shower, toilet and another door. Don't open this one unless there is an emergence. This is your escape door. Breakfast next morning is okay too, not included.

Room Tip: Don't book room 123, this is a very small room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If your planning a visit around the end of June say to the Assen TT (MotoGP),this hotel is handy about a 15-20min ride. We booked in November of the preceeding year for 3 nights and then required a fourth night. The fourth night was almost 50% cheaper as it was the day before the start of the TT.There is parking available freely and within walking distances a number of meal choices are available. There is also two supermarkets and a post office within 200m. The town has many quaint buildings and hosts a market in the town square.
The hotel rooms are average in size with smallish bathrooms.However tea & coffee making facilities are available and 24hrs reception. An in house restarant is available. A sauna and solarium are available also.The price we paid of 106euro wasnt cheap and didnt include breakfast. Wi Fi is free in the rooms.

Room Tip: try to get breakfast included.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

It's time for the hotel to renovate the rooms; the carpet smells a bit and is at least a decade old. When we arrived, both the room and the bathroom were properly cleaned. There is only one main lamp available in the room and two next to each side of the bed. For people with low visibility, this might be a bit difficult. Basic amenities such as shampoo and shower gel are available.

The hotel offers two types of pillows; a stiff one and a soft one that I prefer personally. Breakfast is decent, not extraordinary and not bad either. Items that I regard as normal to be available in a hotel, such as orange juice, scrambled eggs, croissants, dairy and fruit. Yet the croissants weren't freshly baked as far as I know. Service in the hotel is not extremely friendly, but the staff was experienced anyway. The surroundings are nice for small excursions by bike or by car; the cities Assen and Groningen are within 15 minutes of driving. Wi-Fi is available for free and functions properly.

I personally do not think that this hotel is a 4-star hotel. I would regard is as a 3-star hotel. We (a family with 6 persons in total) benefitted from a special arrangement in June 2013; €89 each for two nights, two breakfasts, two dinners and free bike rental. Public transport to Groningen is possible by public transport: the bus stops in front of the hotel. The town Zuidlaren has ±10,000 inhabitants: it's especially long, but not very wide. The town is nice to make one or to small hikes through, but nothing special.

All in all, I would recommend the hotel for those who are not requiring hotel visitors that like to see the surroundings of Zuidlaren; Assen and Groningen city for 2-3 days, and would not accept a price higher than €80 p.n. For business travelers, I would recommend sleeping somewhere else since the amenities are too limited and the town too quiet. For those, Mercure Groningen would be a better solution in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timnij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Well, it was a cheap hotel, so the cheap rooms and the location combined makes this a decent option if you're staying in Zuidlaren area. However, there were quite a few things that really did not charm us.
Let's start with the reception: the staff did their job perfectly okay, but they never smiled, were not interested in helping us or other guest with what to see in the area and quite frankly came across as being rather rude.
The first night of our stay we had dinner in the restaurant: the food was miserable, badly prepared and on top of that we never got one of our dishes - although we paid full price. The breakfast buffet was also a miserable affair. In all fairness, when you opt for a cheap hotel solution you cannot expect a super breakfast, but the food here was not nice and add to that that the buffet area was too small and therefore permanently overcrowded. Worst of all, of course, was the coffee machine. In the name of efficiency they have a coffee machine from where you get your hot drinks. Now that is actually okay for a hotel in this price range, however, it is not acceptable that to get a cup of tea or coffee you have to wait a long time in the line - every day and every time without fail. On the bright side, the staff in the restaurant were always friendly, maybe to compensate for the extremely dirty chairs.
On our last morning, we had put the "please-do-not-disturb" sign out while we were getting ready to depart. However, that did not deter the cleaning staff from knocking on our door, and asking us if we would be ready to leave soon because they were keen to clean the room (needless to say, this was before check-out time).
So yes, it was clean, cheap and had good location, however, I recommend you to look for another option.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indiaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed in this Hotel for one night, after Check in went to the room, what was very disappointing for what I paid, was old, smelly, small, bathroom tiny and tiles with no grouting, shower had mold on the floor and wall. I had a appointment straight away, but after i got back to the Hotel went to reception and complaint about it, answer I should have come sooner nothing they could do about it !!!!! For the price I paid 81 euro's without breakfast I found this a rip off and that for a 4 star Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room inspection first
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I used this hotel for work on a number of occasions in Autumn 2011. I found this hotel cheap, clean and in a great location, right in the centre of Zuidlaren. We paid around 50 Euros per night for a double room without breakfast. The food in the hotel restaurant was good and the staff very polite and helpful. I think they had just started to renovate some of the rooms during my last visit, some of which are definitely in need of an update.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road as this can be rather noisy at times.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeroy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuidlaren
2.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zeegser Duinen
6.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek
14.6 mi away
Hotel de Koekoekshof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel De Koningsherberg
8.3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Plaza Groningen
12.4 mi away
Restaurant Hotel Bieze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brinkhotel Zuidlaren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkhotel Zuidlaren

Address: Brink O.Z. 6, 9471 AE Zuidlaren, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Zuidlaren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zuidlaren
Price Range: £51 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brinkhotel Zuidlaren 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brinkhotel Zuidlaren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing