We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Far From the City Centre, Not a Rorbu”
Review of Lofoten Rorbuer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Svolvaer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lofoten Rorbuer
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is more of a hotel with shared bathroom, rather than a rorbu (which is okay if you really weren't looking for a rorbu, but just a bed for the night). The double bed was too small to share comfortably, but the place is clean and well maintained. The biggest problem with this place is that it's located too far from the city centre. Walking only takes a quarter of an hour, but remember that Lofoten is a windy and chilly place. Bring a warm jacket or a car or stay somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tobias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Lofoten Rorbuer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

The place is 15 minutes walk from Solvær. The room is well equipped for several days stay (kitchen) but no individual bathroom. Options to get a byke to visit the area. A good option to stay in Lofoten for a reasonable price

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Inigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We visited the Lofoten in December and it was really beautiful. It is not too dark to explore the islands, during this time you have even both, great colours during the daytime and northern lights at night. The accommodation was great, we had a nice, cosy room with everything we needed. It was very clean and the kitchen well equipped. We even saw the northern lights from our window.. :-) First we thought about going north to Tromsø, but as we felt like home at this beautiful place, also because of the warm and friendly hosts, we decided to stay in Svolvær. We are two young girls, so it was no problem to walk from the Hurtigruten to the rorbuer. Plus attractive prices!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danemolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in one of the rorbus last year.The location was amazing!! It was absolutely perfect.
The rorbus are all well maintained, all as shown on the website. If I ever go back to the Lofoten I wil certainly go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artemisAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We were visiting Lofoten in the end of May. It was very quiet and peaceful. We were the only ones that lived at Å Rorbuer that night. Unfortunatly that meant that no restaurang or bar was open but we were given the breakfast in a bag with plenty of juice and sandwiches. They also gave us a personal coffemachine to use.
The environment was really Norway at its best. A fantastic little place with red houses, just the sea and a lot of seabirds. We slept so nicely hearing the waves from the sea.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Our group of four stayed in a newly renovated apartment at Lofoten Rorbuer for 3 nights in August 2011. The facilities were excellent and the view from the deck is unbeatable. We arrived by Hurtigruten and took a taxi to the rorbuer. It is to far to walk with baggage, but a pleasant and interesting stroll without. Svolvaer is an excellent base for exploring the Lofoten Islands. We had a great time staying at the Lofoten Rorbuer and can definately recommend it.

Room Tip: The apartments on the deck overlooking the harbour are excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepvanwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The room was nice and clean, but a little far from svolvaer downtown, if you do not have a car and you have to walk from Svolvaer to the Lofoten rorbuer with your luggage it is quite a long walk!.
No breakfast available.
The guest was not very friendly, you could not contact her since 9 am.
And she did not neither call us a taxy when we had to leave: I had to use my own mobile phone, which, beeing abroad, was expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Viaggi-viaggi-amo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Svolvaer hotels
0.7 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 6 in Svolvaer
564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#4 of 6 in Svolvaer
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#3 of 6 in Svolvaer
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anker Brygge
Anker Brygge
#2 of 6 in Svolvaer
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
3.4 mi away
Hammerstad Camping
Hammerstad Camping
#2 of 6 in Svolvaer
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lofoten Rorbuer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lofoten Rorbuer

Address: Jektveien 10 | Marinepollen, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Svolvaer
Price Range: £88 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural-historical accommodations in Svolvaer. Modernised in 2012. Lofoten Rorbuer is situated in a central and sunny location in Svolvaer town centre and only a short distance from the fishing grounds, the beach, the mountains and the famous Svolvaergeita peak. Lofoten Rorbuer consists of a total of 14 units, accommodating 2 to 4 persons per unit. Eight of the units are equipped with a kitchenette, TV and stereo. Shared bathroom and shower. There is also a shared kitchen and loft lounge. NEW! This winter we have build new apartments with 2 double rooms, kitchen and bathroom. History The seahouse (sjohus) is one of the oldest quayside buildings in Svolvaer. It was built in 1850 and was formerly situated on the island of Svinoya, next to the Borsen Spiseri restaurant, before it was relocated to Marinepollen in 1938. After it was moved, the seahouse was used as a fish landing station and as lodgings and storage room for fishermen. In more recent years it has been restored and redeveloped into overnight accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lofoten Rorbuer Hotel a i Lofoten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing