We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic view in superiour room”
Review of Thon Hotel Lofoten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Svolvaer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A good 4* hotel. Good breakfast and superiour coffee (Nespresso). The ordinary rooms are relatively small. The superior rooms have a breath taking view on the harbour. A very pleasant hotel, with a good restaurant for dinner as well.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HSLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

As part of a conference, I spent three nights at this hotel. All staff encountered were pleasant and I would like to say efficient... However, the day before check-out, my colleague asked for a taxi to be booked for early morning (flight at 05.47). The receptionist advised it's a small airport, you do not need to leave before 05.00. My colleague rang down later, the night before, and was advised the taxi had been booked. Needless to say, next morning, 05.10 came and no taxi arrived. I went and asked for one to be booked and, very luckily, we just managed to get the flight although airport staff were not very pleased at all. The airport is about eight minutes drive but it was still cutting it very close.

So, I would have given the stay five out of five were it not for this incident. The bedroom and shower-room were of a good size. As with the Thon hotel in Bodo, the mattress was very comfortable. Several of us had so-called mountain view rooms but this happens to incorporate some of the little harbour as well; even if it did not, the mountain view is a pleasant scene.

The only other comment I would add is that if you are on the nineth floor (out of ten), it will provide a good view... but disco noise from above can very significantly penetrate. I was surprised at the level of vibration. After ringing Reception, this stopped - at about 01.00.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel offers great rooms, fantastic views and very helpful staff. The breakfast buffet is the best of all the hotels we have stayed at in Norway. Highly recommend this hotel. Parking costs 90NOK per day or you can park your car behind the hotel for free (if you find a spare car spot).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Orbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for one night while waiting to pick up the Hurtigruten ferry on to Tromso. We were greeted by two very friendly clerks who without our even asking for it offered to discount our room. They also mentioned that the hotel's breakfast was rated third in the country. We'd had a fine breakfast at the chain's hotel in Oslo, and could not imagine better.
Our rooms were large, the beds perhaps a bit too soft, but uniquely furnished -- a pair of binoculars for watching ships come into the harbor or perhaps guests in the hotel across the plaza. An umbrella hung on the stand near the door. A fridge and parking in the hotel's garage (90 k).
They gladly held our bags formthe day while we finished sightseeing before boarding the ferry northward.
All was done with a smile.
And breakfast was indeed better than Oslo, you name it, it was available, kiwi, strawberries, two kinds of prepared salmon, six or eight different cheeses and on and on.
Location could not be better, in the heart of town and adjacent to the hurtigruten dock.
.

Room Tip: Harbor view are the best, but likely a bit more in price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is a quite normal and standard hotel, but the view from the room is not found anywhere else. So don't forget to ask for a room With a seaview. Try to get at room at floor 7 or higher, to get the full effect of the view.

Full Norwegian breakfast was excellent, and beakfast service was Nice.

Central placed in "town" center, nearby restaurants and bars/pubs.

Room Tip: Rooms at the seaside is also quieter, and do aparently have paired room numbers (2,4,6...) Rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrtravelalotaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I spent one night there for work in June 2013 and I was almost scarred by how luxurious everything was... The view (complete with goggles !), the breakfast, the location, the rooms... That's gotta be the best hotel I've seen in Norway ! Totally recommended !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

There are some rooms that are very miserable, tiny, grey and very gloomy with the view on the grey wall. The Lobby itself reflects what some rooms are, as it's gloomy and grey as well and reachable through a kind of corridor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Land00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eriktaraldsen, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your feedback. This hotel has 161 rooms where most have view towards the sea and mountains that surrounds Svolvær. Unfortunately we have some rooms without view and they also has to be used when we are fully booked. We also have some upgraded rooms where the view is guaranteed. Basically we inform all our guests about the possibility to book an upgraded room with guaranteed view, although the vast majority have one. Best regards Erik Taraldsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.2 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#2 of 4 in Svolvaer
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#3 of 4 in Svolvaer
95 reviews
10.6 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anker Brygge
Anker Brygge
#2 of 7 in Svolvaer
143 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#2 of 25 in Vagan
132 reviews
19.6 mi away
Lofoten Panorama
Lofoten Panorama
#2 of 2 in Stamsund
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Lofoten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Lofoten

Address: OJ Kaarbos gate | Torget, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Svolvaer
Price Range: £149 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Lofoten 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Thon Hotel Lofoten - a new and top modern conference hotel in Svolvaer, the hearth of Lofoten! Thon Hotel Lofoten is located right on the sea front of the harbour in Svolvaer. Only a few metres away from Hurtigruta and within walking distance of the many attractions of Svolvaer, the main centre of Lofoten. Thon Hotel Lofoten will have 161 modern rooms and wireless internet access points throughout the hotell. Most of the rooms will have a spectacular view of the Lofoten sea. Eating and drinking: Restaurant Bojer is located on Kaien (The Quay) in Svolvaer. The restaurant serves food made from local foods, like Cod and Stockfishk from local fishermen, whale meat, local cheese and the Lofoten lamb. Outdoor service in the summer season. Conference at Thon Hotel Lofoten The conference department has a capacity of 750 persons in the largest hall and an additional 20 meeting rooms allow for maximum flexibility. Maximum total capacity will be 1 100 persons. We can arrange banquets and parties for up to 750 persons. Thon Hotel Lofoten - A perfect starting point for exciting experiences in beautiful nature! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Lofoten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing