We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Nearby Hotels
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anker Brygge(Svolvaer)
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Svolvaer(Svolvaer)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Berg Apartments(Svolvaer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
329
208
55
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
208
55
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomelettefantastic breakfasttown squareexcellent hotelbreakfast buffet isgreat viewmodern designtop floorclean hotelnext morninglofoten islandshurtigruten cruisestayed here for two nightssuperior roomcoffee machinegreat selectiongoat
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we had a wonderful comfortable business corner room on the 4th floor , view over the fjord,excellent breakfast with variable food ,espresso machine in the room,free wifi in the room,location of the hotel at the center of Svolvaer

Room Tip: business corner room ,viewing the fjord
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roro1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback.

This I liked to read. Thank you.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you here again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great service and location. Very good value, and we were absolutely amazed by the breakfast that included pretty much anything you can think of. Free wifi and coffee/tea. We parked the car out in the street, so also free. Also worth mentioning, the view from our room was "svolværgeita":)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hege N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback.

Sounds like you had a nice stay here with us. And that makes me happy. It`s allways nice to reply to comment like this. We pride ourselfs in our breakfast where we use local products made from the Lofoten Islands.

Hope to see you here again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We ended our Lofoten week with two nights in Svolvær and we were very happy that we picked this hotel with the most magnificent view. We checked in early and the staff was really friendly, helpful with a touch of humour.

Unfortunately we were given an ordinary room (7th floor) and not the superior room we had booked, but as the hotel was fully booked they could not move us until next morning. The first room was nicely decorated but a bit small, not much room for suitcases. There was a magnificent view over the square and harbour. The only negative thing was that the room got very hot and had no air condition. They provided us with a small table fan which actually didn't help.

The next morning our suitcases were moved to our new room at the 9th floor. They even moved some leftovers from the minibar and bathroom!

The new room was nicely decorated, a bit larger and with the most wonderful view of the square, harbor and sea. Because of the large windows you may sit in bed and enjoy the magnificent view. The only problem was that the room got so extremely hot that we could barely stay there and nor sleep.The next morning our room held 33° C! Too bad they do not have a proper air condition installed in such a nice hotel. But warm weather is a bonus in the northern parts of Norway and the experience of being able to sit outside and enjoy dinner late in the evening was wonderful. I will not downrate the hotel because of the warm weather!

The new room, which actually must have been a Business room according to the extras (coffee machine, iron, safe, a selection of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers) but we didn't see the announced travel magazines. One floor up there was a terrace where we enjoyed watching the arrival of Hurtigruten.

The breakfast was one of the best we've had in a Norwegian hotel, with everything you wish for. You may also have fresh omelettes and pancakes. We had dinner at the hotel our last night and the food was good but a bit small portions.

We were promised a lower rate to compensate the room incident and we were happy with the way they fixed the problem and the reduction the offered us. If I go back to Svolvær Thon hotel will definitely be my first choice. This hotel seems to care for their customers.

Room Tip: Top floors gives a magnificent view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekbno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback.

My appologizes for having to change rooms. But once you did I am glad we took care of it and made everything easier for you. And yes, we uppgraded you to a Business room cause of the misstake upon check in.

This year we had the warmest summer in a long time, and our ventilation could`nt handle the heat, so the rooms were a bit warmer then usual. Sorry if that caused problems for you but at least you had wonderful weather during your stay here.

Our breakfast is one of the best in Norway, and we pride ourselfs in the varity of local products beeing used in the breakfast. So I am glad you liked it.

Hope to see you again here at Thon Hotel Lofoten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here two nights while touring the Lofoten Islands. Overall this was a clean hotel that was easily accessible to shops, food, tourist attractions, and the main road (E10). We only ate here for breakfast. They have an incredible buffet with one exception - the eggs. Two days, different style of eggs each day, and none were cooked right. The Hard Boiled were so soft that the yolk ran out once the shell was broken. The scrambled were too liquid like for my taste and the omelet station used way too much oil and didn't cook the eggs to completion (she flipped them once on each side and handed it to you and the oil and uncooked egg just dripped). While it was nice to have the Nespresso machine in the lobby, we would like to have had coffee or tea in the room (yes this one is nitpicking). I really liked the big windows and the views - even at breakfast. Wifi was included in the price of the stay (as was breakfast) but no free parking - we found a great spot on the street and I think most could find a spot easily. Pricey maybe but this is Norway and I have yet to find anything in this country that is reasonable in terms of pricing by my standards (i.e., an 8 oz cup of coffee runs around 20NOK or about $3.50USD).

Room Tip: We had a mountain view which also included a good portion of the harbor. I don't know that you can get a 'bad' view given the location of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback.

Sounds like you had a plessant stay. We will go through the routines with the staff and make sure the eggs are up to standard and we will cut down on the oil.:)

Glad you liked the rooms, and the view they offer. and again thank you for your feedback.

Hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We are making a round trip of Norway and this hotel has friendly and helpful staff. We had a room on the 9th floor looking towards the ocean. It was a relaxing time.
This modern glasshoused
hotel has an excellent Cuisine.
The lounge at the reception öfters Nespresso free for guests. It has a lovely spacious lounge area. Wifi is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfwpeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback.

Am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our 9 th floor is the Superior categhory witch garantee a spectacular view.

Our Restaurant Bojer is one of the best and specialises in 2,3,5 and 7 courses. So will tell them that you enjoyed your dinner.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews