We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room quality but not quantity”
Review of Scandic Svolvaer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Svolvaer
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Svolvaer
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in March this year and we echo most comments, staff seem mildly interested but not over concerned with helping you (my general experience of staff in Norway) the tea and coffee facilities were not refilled, cups werent cleaned or rooms dusted, we did get clean towels, unlike at Sortland.The rooms are small with no storage space, only a shower, no tub and again cramped. However all that said we did like the Rica positives, beautiful views, comfy beds, fantastic shower and a balcony by the water. The breakfast was varied, although the hot food wasnt, hot. All in all if you come to Svolvaer consider the superior rooms here, not everyone tastes but still ok.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ezzavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here two nights in march 2013. Staff at the reception were nice, but not up-to-date with the travel itinerary of the group we belonged to. The reception area is nice, and also serves a the breakfast buffet area. Breakfast choice and variety was good, the waffle-maker is a great plus. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel twice, as a group. The food was nice, but some guests' portions were much bigger than others. The view from the restaurant/bar is beautiful: snowy mountains, the Hurtigruten cruise ship harbour, the fisher-boats, it's just fantastic. The bar is very basic, but we enjoyed that we could sit upstairs and take in the views.
The room we had was very small and basic, the bathroom was even more basic. Still, it was all spotless clean and well maintained, had a flatscreen TV and comfortable beds.
To summarize: good, not great. The hotel could do better if staff was a little more enthusiastic and helpful, and dinners were improved. The location and superb views of this hotel are unique and really wonderful.

Room Tip: As for water views, but the view over the mountains is not bad either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippinThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June last year. We need to use some Eurobonuspoint's and had a longweekend in Lofoten, Norway. We stayed in a dobbleroom with a terrasse next to the sea. In the evening the ship: Hurtigruten (it goes up and down the coast of Norway, from Bergen to Kirkenes) come to Svolvaer, 1 around 7 pm and the other going down to Bergen around 9 pm. You'll have a lovely view to that. From the restaurant at the hotel you also have a perfect view. You should give it a try to go to Lofoten it's really beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaStigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

It was low season, so the hotel seemed short staffed and some staff were more helpful than others, but they all meant well! Our room was comfortable with a great view. Meals were not that exciting, but on a cold night good not to have to go out! We saw the Aurora from their car park, which was wonderful.
It was a very convenient location as well as being beautiful, but we needed a taxi from the Hurtigruten terminal.

Room Tip: Overlook the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Our rooms were standard and faced the sea with balconies. Yes the room is not big but it has a very comfy bed and amazing view. The bathroom was clean but they need to dust shelves a bit more.
Dinner was very tasty but sadly as we were late in we weren't offered dessert. Breakfast was also very tasty with a wide selection.
Staff are relaxed so service is also relaxed but they do try. Hard to say re value because of exchange rate and how much things cost in Norway.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel overlooks the harbor in Svolvaer from a beautifully designed set of buildings which complement the location. The dining and breakfast room jut out over the water to give almost a 360 degree view. We really enjoyed our superb buffet breakfast from this area. We asked for, and were given, a room overlooking the water. This had a small balcony from which you could view the arrival and departure of the ferries and other cruise boats…and watch the tide come in and go out under our balcony. So, even though the room was not big, we were very happy with our accommodation.

(Take a trip on the M/S Orca to the Trollfjord….We had a great time, with fishing and feeding the sea eagles as an added attraction)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the beginning of August 2012. The hotel has a nice location, close to the city centre, the port, shops and restaurants. We booked late and the only thing avaliable was superior rooms. Therefore our expectations were high. Unfortunately the room did not quite meet our expectations. The room was very tiny and the only thing that the room contained was a double bed and a bathroom. I guess what made the room superior was the (tiny) balcony overlooking the sea. There where two chairs on the balconny, and one of them was destroyed. In the early morning expect som noise from passing boats and gulls crying in despair or joy? The bathroom was old fashioned with a shower of plexiglass and lynolium on walls and floors. The bed was comforftable with good pillows. The breakfast was very boring and dull. For the price of the "superior" room I guess there are better options in Svolvær.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnerikkescreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 4 in Svolvaer
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#3 of 4 in Svolvaer
97 reviews
10.8 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Lofoten Panorama
Lofoten Panorama
#2 of 2 in Stamsund
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lofoten Suite Hotel
Lofoten Suite Hotel
#1 of 1 in Svolvaer
95 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lysvoldbrygga
Lysvoldbrygga
#1 of 1 in Henningsvaer
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Svolvaer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Svolvaer

Address: Lamholmen, Svolvaer 8300, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Svolvaer)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Svolvaer
Price Range: £92 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Svolvaer 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Svolvaer located on its own island in the middle of the harbour in Svolvaer, the capital of Lofoten, is excellent for recreation, activities and holidays. Our hotel offers 146 rooms with sea view, balcony or both and if you are planning a meeting, conference or event we can provide venues for up to 100 participants. The hotel's a la carte restaurant and bar is located in a boat-shaped building with a panoramic view of the Svolvaer harbour and the magnificent surrounding countryside. Free outdoor parking is available for guest arriving by car. As a hotel guest you always have free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Svolvaer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing