We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Scandic Svolvaer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Svolvaer
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Svolvaer
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were very impressed with the helpful friendly staff here. Although small, the room was comfortable with a balcony looking out over the harbour. Breakfast was very good, all we needed.
Plenty of car parking and easy access to centre of Svolvaer.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    128
    83
    29
    21
See reviews for
28
151
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on a trip to the north cap. We stayed at this hotel two nights. A big hotel with rooms in different buildings. I had a room facing the water with a balcony. Very nice. Clean. All the amenities. Our stay included dinner and breakfast. The food was average although there was a big variety on the buffet tables. Staff was a bit stressed as the hotel was full but they did their best. There is no elevator.....so be ready to have to carry suitcases up one flight of stairs. When we were there, the weather was beautiful (in the 80s) and we sat outside on the terrace of the restaurant until after midnight....and the midnight sun! The seagulls are abit agressive and attacked our fruit when out heads were turned. Probably our own fault ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAC1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Rica Svolvaer hotel was okay. It is on the water with fantastic harbor views. It actually sits on its own island with a short one lane driving bridge. But our room did not have a view (and no elevator). The harbor side rooms cost more, which you don’t see online. Our room was to a parking lot full of German tour buses, and late night talkers. Since there is no AC or fan, you will most likely need to sleep with the window open (summer). The front desk staff was friendly. Parking, Internet and Breakfast are free/included, along with free coffee all day long. It is very central. The breakfast was good but not fantastic. It was a basic Norwegian breakfast spread. The view from the restaurant is very nice. But, if you sit outside, be aware of the seagulls as they will aggressively try to get your food. CONS: High price, very small rooms, no lift, no ac, no fans, no blackout drapes, noisy late night bar 50 yards away, very crowded breakfast.

Room Tip: Call ahead to get a harbor view room. If not, go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was there for 7 nights, as part of a British hiking group. All the rooms are the same, small size.
You can upgrade to have a balcony and harbor view, but the room is the same. For 2 persons for 7 nights, this is a bit of torture. Most guests stay only one night, as they continue on their cruise.
The dinner and breakfast buffets were very good, with a great varieties of foods.
The scenery around is spectacular.

Room Tip: Pay more to get a room with balcony facing the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laopet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated perfectly for a good view of the town. Sitting by the watersfront, you can enjoy the views while relaxing in your room.

I upgraded to a superior room after looking at the hotels website. However I was asked a little snootily if I authorised the upgrade with my travel agent.

The rooms are an OK size. I got a room overlooking the town and on the oceans front. It was clean, spartanly decorated but slightly dark. A seating area with a table was available. But there are no bedsite tables but a shelve istead. Rather unpractical.

The hotel itself is an old fishermans house and well kept. Nice and inviting restaurant and reception area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights while on an Aurora Hunters Holiday. We arrived late on the first night but there was a meal waiting for us. The room overlooking the harbour was very comfortable and quiet. The staff were very helpful, polite and courteous. The set dinner was good, a wide variety of dishes and always attractively presented. It was ideally positioned for a very short walk to the town.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarysMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel was clean, hotel staff friendly and helpful. Room a bit on the small side but only booked for one night. The bed was right up against the wall so was difficult to get into on one side, so had to rearrange the furniture a bit! The location was lovely overlooking the harbour. The food in the restaurant was superb . Despite there being several tour parties in it was quiet. The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice. I would recommend this hotel but if I was staying longer I would need better bed arrangement

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 6 in Svolvaer
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#3 of 6 in Svolvaer
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anker Brygge
Anker Brygge
#2 of 6 in Svolvaer
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#2 of 9 in Vagan
123 reviews
10.8 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fast Hotel
Fast Hotel
#5 of 6 in Svolvaer
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Svolvaer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Svolvaer

Property: Scandic Svolvaer
Address: Lamholmen, Svolvaer 8300, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Svolvaer)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Svolvaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Svolvaer 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Svolvaer located on its own island in the middle of the harbour in Svolvaer, the capital of Lofoten, is excellent for recreation, activities and holidays. Our hotel offers 146 rooms with sea view, balcony or both and if you are planning a meeting, conference or event we can provide venues for up to 100 participants. The hotel's a la carte restaurant and bar is located in a boat-shaped building with a panoramic view of the Svolvaer harbour and the magnificent surrounding countryside. Free outdoor parking is available for guest arriving by car. As a hotel guest you always have free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Svolvaer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing