We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best rorbuer, excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

we're staying 6 days in one Bedroom Rorbuer. the rorbuer are located on an Island near Svolvaer. 20' (feet) to Center.Reception ist nice and the check-In was perfekt, many Info of svolvear. us Rorbuer was big and we have a good kitchen. the view of the Water was fantastic. for me the best "hotel" in Svolvaer. A cab to the Airport is about 180 Kronen

Room Tip: a separat Rorbu ist perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flucki00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a cozy cottage in August. The cottages are located on an island just off the mainland of Svolvaer (even though Svolvaer is on an island also). We didn't have a car, so walking was our mode of transportation. We must be out of shape because when we had to walk up this big bridge to get to the island I panicked. But then when I saw grandpa with his cane walking up the bridge faster than me I realized I was being dramatic about the bridge. Once we crossed the bridge we found the rorbu reception building directly to our right. The receptionist was very nice, he even let us check in early. We had a rorbu that was attached to another rorbu, and we could hear them talking all the time, which was annoying...I thought they were going to be separate rorbus. But, the cabin was extremely cozy and in a very beautiful setting. We would definitely stay here again. And fyi, a cab to the airport from the rorbu is about 200-250 kroner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank skigirltiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked this hotel (traditional cabin) based on reviews we'd read. For four weeks ahead of arriving I tried in vain to contact the hotel to confirm how to reach the property - they supposedly had a shuttle, and I wanted to book it, but could never connect with management despite repeated e mails and even a phone call (the answering machine offered only a Norwegian message). I also tried to confirm if they had a hair dryer, no answer. If they could help arrange a taxi, no answer. If they were still open, after having sent me a confirmation via booking.com of my non-refundable charge, no answer. Despite all this I kept the reservation, based on the ratings. When we reached Solvaer, I was reassured by the Hurtigruten ferry staff, that this is just sometimes the norwegian way and not to worry (after trying several times herself, she finally connected), they were expecting us.
All is well, i think. We arrive by taxi I arranged to pick up our key at the hotel's restaurant, no problem, but I casually ask how late the restaurant is open, only to get the response. "oh, I'm fully booked". Not, gee, I am sorry but we book weeks in advance, but if you don't mind a wait you could sit in the bar and have a coke oe cup of coffee
...it is after all 10 pm.
We go to our cabin, and pass through the entry that smells as if some homeless fisherman had slept in the doorway and relieved himself there. Thankfully, the inside was clean and very accommodating. Nice big kitchen if I had planned to be there longer. Nice heated floors in the bathroom, not so nice that two of the window shades were broken ( thankfully we were not there during the summer of all day sun).
I knew from the website that no breakfast came with the room, but was certainly wiling to pay for it, as I had read that others did. When we appeared at the office the next morning to inquire about breakfast, the young man at the desk who seemed much more interested in his computer screen than helping a guest said, "oh, we only do prepaid breakfasts.". Well fine, we walk in to town and eat at a bakery. When we return to checkout, I pass through the dining room. There isn't a soul there. No one has eaten there all morning (it's 10 am). I would not have minded if the clerk had said, sorry were closed for breakfast for the season, just please be honest and courteous.
So. Now, having one more night to spend in the town, we moved to the Thon to a delightfully helpful reception clerk and a wonderful room.

Room Tip: One that doesn't smell like a latrine in the entryway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Three days in a Rorbuer. Fantastic. A small cottage in the sea but fully equipped with all facilities and even big for our family with two bedrooms and a living room with kitchen. Very romantic view on the bay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoRosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have to say that Svinoya Rouber is in any case a paradise.
In addition of an incredible location of this complex of apartments and rooms on a tiny islands linked by a bridge to the city center you have the opportunity to meet the friendly manager, a genuine local character that without any request offered us an upgrade to an apartment built on the water.
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, one of them with sauna, one kitchen with all accessories, 2 lounges with wide windows and one platform direct on the water with private seagull ! Is it enough for a couple ?
Yes, it was a kind upgrade but it is all nice around that I suppose that also the standard rooms should be ok.
What makes the difference is as usual the care of the customer. Here the customer receives all the best available, especially if you consider the usual high standard of cost of lodging in Norway.
In addition to all that see the fantastic reception, an old drugstore full of things everywhere and try the very good (not included) breakfast on the annex restaurant Borsen Spiseri, an old wooden tavern very typical and warm.
The light and the atmosphere of the location of Svinoya Rourber and in general the picture perfect landscape around are so outstanding. If you are so lucky to obtain a flat you probably never will forget this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were in rorbu number 5 for one week in August. The view was on a little inlet and was pretty quiet. It was a rorbu with one bedroom. That's a big word. Just 2 beds fitted in there and a little side table. That's all! But because there is a living/dining/kitchen area, you have enough room to put your suitcases there. And there was a bathroom. As I understood, most bathrooms in Norway (don't know in new buidings) are very small. So was this one, although the shower was larger than normal. It all looked 'rustique', except for the tv. It was almost very clean! They wiped the floor with a mob I guess, because on the right and the left of the hallway were a lot of grey hairs. And the heater and ventilator in the bathroom were very dusty. This you see in may places. But I just don't get it. It is an object as any other and should be cleaned! The rorbu wasn't cleaned for the whole week. That was a no go for that price! Clean towels and sheets as many as you want, just ask the reception.
The area is magic and very central to visit a big part of the Lofoten. And the restaurant Børsen Spiceri is very good. Read my seperate review on this one. Both Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Not all rorbuer have a good view. Numbers 1 and 2 are situated near the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were upgraded to a beautiful glass fronted house with two balconies and a sauna. It has a well equipped kitchen and v comfy furniture. A real treat. The house looks straight on to the water and there is plenty of boat activity to watch. The town is a working capital and so some ugly buildings but surrounded by mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindanaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 4 in Svolvaer
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#2 of 4 in Svolvaer
345 reviews
11.0 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anker Brygge
Anker Brygge
#2 of 7 in Svolvaer
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lofoten Suite Hotel
Lofoten Suite Hotel
#1 of 1 in Svolvaer
92 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#2 of 25 in Vagan
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten

Address: Gunnar Bergs vei 2, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Svolvaer
Price Range: £89 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Svolvaer and Svinoya Rorbuer | Open all year round Our Rorbu Resort is located in the harbor of Svolvaer the capital of Lofoten, and we provide accommodation, dining and activities on both land and sea. Our Rorbu cabins are beautifully located on the waterfront. We are Lofoten in a miniature, with a walking distance to the town center and a short drive to all transportation hubs. On our island you find the sea on one side and the dramatic mountains on the other, offering great views everywhere you lookWe also offer package deals for individuals, groups and cooperation's with accommodation in our original Rorbu cabins, newly built Rorbu Suites and Suite Hotel. We have excellent conference facilities and our renowned restaurant Borsen Spiseri serves locally produced food. With our local identity, knowledge, network and experience, we deliver world class experiences and memories for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svinoya Rorbuer Hotel Svolvaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing