We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Home from home, welcoming, clean, wonderful views, bit of a walk to Harbour/restaurants area easy car parking, Nastly Rotten Fish smell if wind blowing from North - but thats not the fault of the Svinoya folks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nairb356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    120
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
64
160
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The Rorbuer are simply delightful! Our booking was handled well, and dinner at the restaurant on the second night was unforgettable. Staff were very helpful and friendly, including giving us all their hints for " must do" activities in Lofoten.
Just watch out for the low doorways if you are tall!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in a Rorbuer cabin for 2 nights and loved every second of it! The cabin had kitchen, living room with cable tv and 2 rooms which was more than enough for our needs. The views all around were spectacular. The only thing to take into account when booking this property is that if you do not have a car it is about a 15 min walk to go into the main town area and have to go up a steep bridge so if you have trouble walking that distance then probably a better idea to stay at one of the hotels in town. If that's not an issue though would absolutely recommend this for a stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janders050413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamnøy, Lofoten
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I was here with a photo group in february and are know back with a ski group. The rorbu is great, customer service is always on top and the restaurant Børsen is after my meaning one of Lofotens best if not The best. This is a propper feel good place.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Rorbuers are fishermen's cabins beside the water, and much more fun to stay in than the average hotel room. There is a bedroom (small but adequate), bathroom with shower and a living/dining room (with kitchenette) to spread out in. They are very warm and cosy, and a short walk from the hotel restaurant, and a 10 minute walk over the bridge from the town of Svolvaer. The WW2 museum is a must and the owner full of interesting and entertaining stories about his many (often rare) exhibits.
The restaurant was great - a good spread for breakfast, and very tasty evening meals. Cod was usually on the menu in some form for starter or main (cod drying racks are all over the island), amnd we also had smoked reindeer, pork neck and chicken breasts - all in delicious sauces. The chef made a real effort to cater for the individual needs of some members of our group. The waiter, Andre, was very entertaining and helpful.
We were lucky enough to see the Aurora Borealis while we were there, and also went on a Sea Eagle trip by boat. The eagles fly over and alongside the boat to collect fish that is thrown for them and so it is a great photo opportunity.
As everyone has said Norway is VERY expensive, so you do need to budget for this.

Room Tip: Ask about the facilities in your rorbuer as they do vary - the newer ones are larger and some have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife decided for her 70th birthday to visit the Lofoten Islands and I booked an individual package tour with Simply Sweden. The highlight of our eight-day tour was the four nights we spent at Svinoya Rorbuer. We arrived by boat from Harstad and it was dark when we reached Svinoya Rorbuer, so we were unable to take cognizance of our surroundings. The welcome we received from Andre was excellent, we booked our evening meal and then made our way to our allocated cabin. We stayed in one of the original fishermen's cabins (I believe that there are newer cabins with additional facilities such as a sauna and bigger bedrooms) and on opening the door we were entranced. The cabin was spotlessly clean, nicely warm and cosy with everything we could need including free Wifi. It had a lovely bathroom with a great shower and under floor heating. The bedroom was on the small side with two twin beds and not a lot of room, but adequate storage space - we were comfortable enough and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The views from the island are just fantastic and we enjoyed our walks into the town centre and around the island itself. If staying there for any length of time I would recommend hiring a car. We hired for three-days and didn't regret the extra expense. We decided that we wouldn't drive for miles and miles but just take our time driving around the islands. The only problem is that you want to stop every 100 yards or so to take more photographs. We were told that it was unusually mild during our stay - we'd packed thermal everything but didn't need them even in late February/early March; a tee-shirt and fleece was all that was needed. (Our Damart, socks, long-johns, vests etc returned home unused). We stayed out of season and there are not that many places open which was a little disappointing, but it didn't spoil our visit. The restaurant attached to Svinoya Rorbuer (Borsen Spiseri) is a little gem and is fabulous inside. Andre was really helpful in helping us decide what to choose. Between us we tried everything on the menu. I loved the Artic Char and Lofoten Lamb as did my wife. The Sockfish Royal (air dried Cod) was very pleasant as was the Reindeer steak. I would suggest trying the Plate of Lofoten Delicacies as a starter: the smoked whale meat was substitute at my request with smoke reindeer. Breakfast is available in the restaurant and is more than adequate, but disappointingly for me there were no fish dishes provided. It's a great place to stay and like another reviewer I would strongly recommend adding it to your bucket-list and also include the Hurtigruten trip from Harstad to Solvaer - 10 hours of shear bliss with endless spectacular views.

Room Tip: Depending on what you want I would suggest one of the original fishermen's cabins but if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lasapiniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

These little cabins are really warm and cosy and very inviting to come back to after a day out in the Norwegian cold, and the little island on which they are situated is very interesting to walk around, with beautiful views. Only criticism of ours was that the bedroom was very small, with scarcely room for anything apart from the beds! The hotel reception area used to be a shop and is now like a small but fascinating museum. The restaurant does good and quite inventive dinners, though there is not a lot of choice. Wine is very expensive, but then that is always the case in Norway. Good breakfast. Don't miss the war museum in Svolvaer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 6 in Svolvaer
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#3 of 6 in Svolvaer
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anker Brygge
Anker Brygge
#2 of 6 in Svolvaer
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#3 of 9 in Vagan
111 reviews
11.0 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#4 of 6 in Svolvaer
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten

Property: Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
Address: Gunnar Bergs vei 2, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Svolvaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Svolvaer and Svinoya Rorbuer | Open all year round Our Rorbu Resort is located in the harbor of Svolvaer the capital of Lofoten, and we provide accommodation, dining and activities on both land and sea. Our Rorbu cabins are beautifully located on the waterfront. We are Lofoten in a miniature, with a walking distance to the town center and a short drive to all transportation hubs. On our island you find the sea on one side and the dramatic mountains on the other, offering great views everywhere you lookWe also offer package deals for individuals, groups and cooperation's with accommodation in our original Rorbu cabins, newly built Rorbu Suites and Suite Hotel. We have excellent conference facilities and our renowned restaurant Borsen Spiseri serves locally produced food. With our local identity, knowledge, network and experience, we deliver world class experiences and memories for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svinoya Rorbuer Hotel Svolvaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing