We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good old fashioned cabin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anker Brygge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anker Brygge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Svolvaer
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good old fashioned cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed at the Anker Brygge for one night, we were touring Nprway on motorcycles. The cabin was very nice, well appointed and two bedrooms. It had a nice view of the harbour, and within easy walking distance of the restraunts in the town. there is a restraunt on site, but was fully booked when we enquired. The bed was very comfy, and the area was very quiet. Breakfast was good, not too much choice, but to be fair it was the quiet season, and what was on offer was very good

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trev k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    56
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
60
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at Anker Brygge for 3 nights. Breakfast buffet wasn't very big BUT the waitress baked delicious waffles that made everything perfect for me! The rooms are old-fashioned and traditional but very clean. There is a little pier at the back of the room where you can enjoy the harbour. We stayed during midsummernightweekend and had some really noisy neighbours who partied all night, so we didn't get much sleep.
Very friendly staff at the reception and at breakfast. Rooms were cleaned every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had tried many months ago to find a reasonably priced place to stay in Svolvaer for one night before catching the early morning ferry to Bodo. We had ended up unable to find anywhere cheaper and we had reluctantly booked here at a cost of Nok 1,990-, which was by far and away the most expensive place we stayed anywhere in our 12 days in Norway. It wouldn't have been so bad if the room/hotel had been somewhere exceptional, or at least worthy of its price.....unfortunately it wasn't.
When we arrived the reception staff were advised by us that we could not enjoy the included breakfast as we had a 06.30 ferry to catch the next morning. Regrettably this solicited no offer of even a modest reduction in the room rate. We asked about the location for the morning ferry and the means of buying a ticket but one staff had no idea, and the other was less than sure. Surely this kind of information should be common knowledge to hotel staff ? It was left to us to ask around the town and harbour to get confirmation of the facts.
When we arrived at the cabin we found that the bedrooms (one downstairs and one upstairs) were separately locked. Our key fitted the downstairs bedroom but not the upstairs. So what conclusion were we to draw (not having been advised as to this situation by the reception staff) on this ? One possibility was that the upstairs bedroom was to be occupied by some other guest, and we would therefore be sharing the common living area ? Fortunately, no mystery guests arrived during the night.
The decor was dark and gloomy, overall very average furnishings, poorly lit rooms (thankfully the midnight sun largely offset this problem !), misfitting front and back doors, and not a kettle in sight. Talking of "midnight sun" - wouldn't it be a good idea for hotels in these locations, not least those charging such prohibitive tariffs, to 'splash out' and fit blackout curtains in the bedrooms for the vast majority of guests who actually do want to get at least some sleep at night ?

After such an enjoyable time on the Lofoten islands, it was a shame to end the trip on such a disappointing note.

Room Tip: Avoid room 217, although I fear most cabins are the same. Ideally, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris53kualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortyMo, Public Relations Manager at Anker Brygge, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Hello.
I am are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay in one of our rorbu suites. I would just comment on your question regarding the other, locked, bedroom on the first floor. If you use only one bedroom, we never let anybody else use the other room. You will never experience another guest in the other bedroom. That is also reflected by the price - in fact you rent a 45 square meter big apartment.
Rgds Morten Moe, Market Manager, Anker Brygge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We visited this hotel in March 2013, during the cod fishing competition.
The rorbuer we (3 people) stayed in was simply but elegantly furnished with all the commodities: tea, sugar, everything to cook in the kitchen, soap, towels etc. We had two bedrooms (one on the ground floor and one on the first floor) equipped with their own private bathroom and lockable door. The house was warm and cozy, the living room comfortable, the wifi, hot water and appliances working perfectly.
Breakfast was very good, served in one of the two main buildings. There was a large buffet with a choice of various local and international food. No croissants or pain au chocolat, but you can't have everything I guess!
The receptionists we met were incredibly friendly, helpful and informed. Service is always SO important in hotels, especially in small towns such as Svolvaer, and I found it impeccable.
Only one, small, note: maybe the public parking area could have some spaces reserved for the hotel's customers? Just a thought - maybe the problem arose because of the full festive weekend and never usually does.
Anyway, best rorbuer ever, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margherita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortyMo, Director of Sales at Anker Brygge, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hello! Thank you for your opinion, it is much appreciated. Regarding the parking area and availability; you are absolutely right. The only weekend this problem arise, is during the World Cod Championship, the last weekend in March every year. We never experience this problem during the rest of the year. Best regards, Morten Moe, Market Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myre
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Very attractive old-style-decorated inside the cabins (Rorbuer) with very comfortable beds and fully equipped kitchen, even with a dishwasher machine. The location is down in Svolvær harbor in nice and quiet environments. Short walk to the restaurants that you find along the harbor. The prices could be adjusted down a bit, but unfortunately Lofoten seems to take overprice on everything.The staff is very helpful and everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible :)

Room Tip: Ask for better prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balsam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed two nights, and loved the place ! High standard cabins, nice staff and excellent service. The beds are very good and the bathroom and all the rooms warm and cosy a cold december night.

We recommend Lofoten during winter!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins. The site is pretty extensive with a lot of cabins and a hotel. We thought Svolvaer was a pretty depressing place - the pictures of the cabins on the waterfront make it look idyllic but in fact you are right in the middle of a busy harbour, and Svolvaer itself was not attractive - it is the main service town in the area. Anker Brygge had a restaurant but we wouldn't eat there as they sold whale meat.
The cabin we had had 2 bedrooms sharing a kitchen and living room. I'm not sure whether they let the 2 bedrooms separately or whether you always have exclusive use of the living areas - no one else came along but I did wonder whether we were suddenly going to find ourselves sharing. It would be worth checking if you are thinking of booking. Having said that, the cabin was very nice indeed - lovely bathroom, big bedroom and good kitchenette with dishwasher. Our only complaint was the lighting was dreadful. I don't know whether it was supposed to be authentic, but as it got dark we had to go to bed (there were good reading lights over the beds) as we couldn't see to read! The breakfast were also excellent - everything you could think of and more!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 57russett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortyMo, Director of Sales at Anker Brygge, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thank you for staying at Anker Brygge. I would like to comment on your question about whether you would have exclusive use of the living areas. And the answer is easy; you do! If you rent a double room in one of our rorbu suites we would never let anyone have the other room. That is one of the reasons for us not being on the cheap side of pricing. Hope to see you again in Lofoten! Best regards, Morten Moe, Market manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 7 in Svolvaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#3 of 10 in Vagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#3 of 7 in Svolvaer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#4 of 7 in Svolvaer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Brygge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Brygge

Property: Anker Brygge
Address: Lamholmen, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Svolvaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anker Brygge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Brygge consists of highly comfortable rorbu suites spectacularly situated on its own little island named Lamholmen in the middle of Svolvær harbour. The resort is connected to Svolvær city central with a bridge. Living at Anker Brygge you are within a 200 meters range from the Town Square, Hurtigruten and small shops and galleries. All suites are traditionally built and fully equipped for today`s standard – making your stay with us nice and comfortable. From all of our rooms/rorbuer you have an amazing view to the sea and mountains surrounding our world famous islands. On the outside quay of your cabin/rorbu you can enjoy your morning coffee or you might try to catch your own fish? At Anker Brygge we also offer a solid and traditional meal at our highly recommended Restaurant named “Kjøkkenet” . Lamholmen has been inhabitated since the early 1800`s. There were several fish-companies, fish treatment factories, a barrel factory and "rorbuer", barns and houses on the island. The fish products from Lamholmen was mainly exorted abroad to Italy, Spain, Portugal and Brazil. Today you can feel the atmosphere from the old days in all of our rooms. You still get the feeling of the era when life was rough and fishermen came to Lofoten by oars and sails in their small fishingboats from places all over this nations long coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Anker Brygge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing