We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place in a wonderful setting - it was really special to me even though quite overpriced”
Review of Anker Brygge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anker Brygge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Svolvaer
Certificate of Excellence
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Very special place in a wonderful setting - it was really special to me even though quite overpriced”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Svolvær was the most beautiful place that I have visited in Norway. Hotel Anker Bryggen is a very charming hotel located on the water. The rorbu (chalet) accomodations are very typical and I just found it very special to stay here. The red wooden houses are charming. The furniture is simple but okay. My bed was comfortable, the bathroom nice but for the price I have paid I would have liked to have a bathtub. The living room contained a small kitchen. All in all the windows are sort of small, there is not much sunlight inside the houses. The furniture is quite dark, I would have decorated them a bit friendlier...
The staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful, they all did everything to make me having an unforgettable stay there. I felt at ease here and would love to come back. There are bigger and more posh hotels in Svolvær, but they are too modern and lack of charm. Anker Bryggen is very charming. The rate is very high, but all over in Norway things are very expensive. But this is a SPECIAL hideaway and therefore I will go back there one day.
Breakfast well, other reviews said that they expected more of it. I must agree. At 09.30hrs in the morning many plates on the buffet were already empty. There was no staff around for a much too long time...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    58
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
64
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a rorbu cabin which had a small terrace with sun until 10pm which was very nice. The rorbu self was ok. Nothing fancy. Breakfast was ok but when paying 1990 NOK a night we expected a bit more. The employees at the reception were very helpful when you wanted to go for a hike or plan any other activities. Overall we had a very nice stay however we think it is a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed at the Anker Brygge for one night, we were touring Nprway on motorcycles. The cabin was very nice, well appointed and two bedrooms. It had a nice view of the harbour, and within easy walking distance of the restraunts in the town. there is a restraunt on site, but was fully booked when we enquired. The bed was very comfy, and the area was very quiet. Breakfast was good, not too much choice, but to be fair it was the quiet season, and what was on offer was very good

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trev k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at Anker Brygge for 3 nights. Breakfast buffet wasn't very big BUT the waitress baked delicious waffles that made everything perfect for me! The rooms are old-fashioned and traditional but very clean. There is a little pier at the back of the room where you can enjoy the harbour. We stayed during midsummernightweekend and had some really noisy neighbours who partied all night, so we didn't get much sleep.
Very friendly staff at the reception and at breakfast. Rooms were cleaned every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had tried many months ago to find a reasonably priced place to stay in Svolvaer for one night before catching the early morning ferry to Bodo. We had ended up unable to find anywhere cheaper and we had reluctantly booked here at a cost of Nok 1,990-, which was by far and away the most expensive place we stayed anywhere in our 12 days in Norway. It wouldn't have been so bad if the room/hotel had been somewhere exceptional, or at least worthy of its price.....unfortunately it wasn't.
When we arrived the reception staff were advised by us that we could not enjoy the included breakfast as we had a 06.30 ferry to catch the next morning. Regrettably this solicited no offer of even a modest reduction in the room rate. We asked about the location for the morning ferry and the means of buying a ticket but one staff had no idea, and the other was less than sure. Surely this kind of information should be common knowledge to hotel staff ? It was left to us to ask around the town and harbour to get confirmation of the facts.
When we arrived at the cabin we found that the bedrooms (one downstairs and one upstairs) were separately locked. Our key fitted the downstairs bedroom but not the upstairs. So what conclusion were we to draw (not having been advised as to this situation by the reception staff) on this ? One possibility was that the upstairs bedroom was to be occupied by some other guest, and we would therefore be sharing the common living area ? Fortunately, no mystery guests arrived during the night.
The decor was dark and gloomy, overall very average furnishings, poorly lit rooms (thankfully the midnight sun largely offset this problem !), misfitting front and back doors, and not a kettle in sight. Talking of "midnight sun" - wouldn't it be a good idea for hotels in these locations, not least those charging such prohibitive tariffs, to 'splash out' and fit blackout curtains in the bedrooms for the vast majority of guests who actually do want to get at least some sleep at night ?

After such an enjoyable time on the Lofoten islands, it was a shame to end the trip on such a disappointing note.

Room Tip: Avoid room 217, although I fear most cabins are the same. Ideally, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris53kualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortyMo, Public Relations Manager at Anker Brygge, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Hello.
I am are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay in one of our rorbu suites. I would just comment on your question regarding the other, locked, bedroom on the first floor. If you use only one bedroom, we never let anybody else use the other room. You will never experience another guest in the other bedroom. That is also reflected by the price - in fact you rent a 45 square meter big apartment.
Rgds Morten Moe, Market Manager, Anker Brygge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We visited this hotel in March 2013, during the cod fishing competition.
The rorbuer we (3 people) stayed in was simply but elegantly furnished with all the commodities: tea, sugar, everything to cook in the kitchen, soap, towels etc. We had two bedrooms (one on the ground floor and one on the first floor) equipped with their own private bathroom and lockable door. The house was warm and cozy, the living room comfortable, the wifi, hot water and appliances working perfectly.
Breakfast was very good, served in one of the two main buildings. There was a large buffet with a choice of various local and international food. No croissants or pain au chocolat, but you can't have everything I guess!
The receptionists we met were incredibly friendly, helpful and informed. Service is always SO important in hotels, especially in small towns such as Svolvaer, and I found it impeccable.
Only one, small, note: maybe the public parking area could have some spaces reserved for the hotel's customers? Just a thought - maybe the problem arose because of the full festive weekend and never usually does.
Anyway, best rorbuer ever, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margherita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortyMo, Director of Sales at Anker Brygge, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hello! Thank you for your opinion, it is much appreciated. Regarding the parking area and availability; you are absolutely right. The only weekend this problem arise, is during the World Cod Championship, the last weekend in March every year. We never experience this problem during the rest of the year. Best regards, Morten Moe, Market Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myre
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Very attractive old-style-decorated inside the cabins (Rorbuer) with very comfortable beds and fully equipped kitchen, even with a dishwasher machine. The location is down in Svolvær harbor in nice and quiet environments. Short walk to the restaurants that you find along the harbor. The prices could be adjusted down a bit, but unfortunately Lofoten seems to take overprice on everything.The staff is very helpful and everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible :)

Room Tip: Ask for better prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balsam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 6 in Svolvaer
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#3 of 6 in Svolvaer
285 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#3 of 9 in Vagan
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#4 of 6 in Svolvaer
82 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lofoten Arctic Hotel Knusarn
Lofoten Arctic Hotel Knusarn
#2 of 2 in Henningsvaer
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Brygge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Brygge

Property: Anker Brygge
Address: Lamholmen, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Svolvaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anker Brygge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Brygge consists of highly comfortable rorbu suites spectacularly situated on its own little island named Lamholmen in the middle of Svolvær harbour. The resort is connected to Svolvær city central with a bridge. Living at Anker Brygge you are within a 200 meters range from the Town Square, Hurtigruten and small shops and galleries. All suites are traditionally built and fully equipped for today`s standard – making your stay with us nice and comfortable. From all of our rooms/rorbuer you have an amazing view to the sea and mountains surrounding our world famous islands. On the outside quay of your cabin/rorbu you can enjoy your morning coffee or you might try to catch your own fish? At Anker Brygge we also offer a solid and traditional meal at our highly recommended Restaurant named “Kjøkkenet” . Lamholmen has been inhabitated since the early 1800`s. There were several fish-companies, fish treatment factories, a barrel factory and "rorbuer", barns and houses on the island. The fish products from Lamholmen was mainly exorted abroad to Italy, Spain, Portugal and Brazil. Today you can feel the atmosphere from the old days in all of our rooms. You still get the feeling of the era when life was rough and fishermen came to Lofoten by oars and sails in their small fishingboats from places all over this nations long coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Anker Brygge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing