We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night stay at Oslofjord”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Oslofjord
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandvika
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I had a room with a double bed. Room seems to be newly renovated with simple design of white walls and light coloured wooden floor that brighten up the room. Bathroom is a bit dim though. Generally a good night stay. Breakfast was served with reasonable varieties of food items.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RebeccaNeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear RebeccaNeoh,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing view of the lobby from the window. Just like having a room in a cruise ship viewing a great atrium.

Room is clean, spacious with writing desk and sitting area.

Clean bathroom, good space with adequate amenities. Bathtub / shower has anti slip tape making it safe to use.
In room wardrobe cabinet needs re-touching/repainting due to partial damage (room 442)

Breakfast is good with adequate variety as "Scandinavian Breakfast" and what made me excited was the freshly squeezed orange juice machine that makes you see in your very eyes as you pour it in your glass.
Set dinner was also great and elegant.

Hotel is not centrally located but has a shopping mall next door.
Going downtown maybe a bit difficult but If you are traveling in a pre-organized tour, location does not matter anymore as sightseeing tour includes city visit and orientation and free time for shopping and dinning.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank BUTCH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear "Butch A",

Thank you for your review. We are very greatful for so much great feedback!

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Positive:

- excellent breakfast buffet
- free coffee, tea, water during the day
- modern meeting facilities
- walking distance to fast train station

Negative:

- waiting time check out
- rather old interior in rooms

Summary:

Clear recommandation for short business trip

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for you review. We have taken action with the reception to reduce waiting time. We are also refurbishing rooms, and you are welcome to tro one of our new rooms.

Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We checked out of our first hotel because it was not very nice. The Hotel reception could not have been more helpful. They gave us a large business suite for 5 days at the weekend rate. A superb room, with bathrobes and slippers.

Don't be put off by the dull outside as it has a very light and spacious interior with a number of rooms facing inwards to a large open to the sky interior. A lovely comfortable lounge with free tea and coffee. Wi Fi is excellent and they have a computer area you can use with a printer - very useful.

Probably the best breakfast buffet I have tried ( Better than those in Las Vegas for quality).

Salads, cold meats, smoked salmon, fish, herring, bacon, eggs , cakes etc. etc. all included in the price. Alcohol may be very expensive in Norway , but this Hotel with breakfast is an excellent price.

Also opposite the largest shopping Mall in Scandinavia which you can walk through to the train station. Very convenient.

Couldn't fault it. 10 out of 10. Staff were brilliant

Room Tip: Upgrade to a business room it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim_bayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Jim Bayfield,

Thank you from all our staff for your great feedback.

Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Arrived after a long journey looking forward to a nice meal and comfortable room.
Courteous multi-lingual staff from reception to dining : had a lovely spicy salad which I would recommend if you want something light and zesty and overall tasty.
Sadly the rooms don't match the above. Tired, noisy and in serious need of renovation. Despite changing rooms, the bathroom extractor fan appears to have a noise commonality with Niagara.
Creaky beds too. Also note - rooms do not have an iron either, lack of plug sockets for the laptop, phone etc - so collectively not exactly a modern business class hotel.
Hotel is beside a motorway and noise from that does enter the room.

Worth noting a positive point - hotel has Free wifi.

However, sleep and comfort are the priority so Sadly now Considering finding an alternative hotel for remainder of my stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank AHobie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Eyeswide,
Thank you for your review.


Unfortunately you got one of our older rooms. We are renovation 29 more room this spring. You are welcome to change room and try one of our new rooms.

Thank you for good feedback on our restaurant.

Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here as a group for a weekend and it was great. They had one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever been to in Norway (and Ive been to a few) with all you ever could need, even cottage cheese! As well as a omelette-maker ready to make you your special made omelette. Good training facilites for a hotel to be. And Norways biggest shopping mall is literally 20 meters away, so a good place to stay if you planning on shopping.

Also want to specially say thank the once in the reception and Daniel, who on short notice managed to fix us a conference room, absolutely great service!

If needed I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you simsam93. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast so much! Welcome back from Daniel and the rest of us at Thon Hotel Oslofjord.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was there for two days facilitating a conference. The conference manager did a really great job - always very proactive - and so did the rest of the staff. Food was also really great - very fresh, variated Norwegian / international kitchen at it's best.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for positive feedback on our restaurant and conference.
We will notify all our staff about your nice words.
Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandvika
3.9 mi away
Scandic Fornebu
Scandic Fornebu
#1 of 3 in Fornebu
709 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Vettre
Thon Hotel Vettre
#3 of 3 in Asker
162 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Expo
Quality Hotel Expo
#2 of 3 in Fornebu
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
849 reviews
6.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
7.2 mi away
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Oslofjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Oslofjord

Address: Sandviksveien 184, Sandvika 1337, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Baerum Municipality > Sandvika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandvika
Price Range: £111 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Oslofjord 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Oslofjord in Sandvika is one of Norway's biggest seminar and conference hotels, centrally located in Sandvika, only 10 minutes from Oslo city centre. The hotel offers free parking, easy access with public transportation and large guest rooms.Thon Hotel Oslofjord features 248 large rooms (from 22 square meters), 20 superior rooms and 19 large business rooms. All of the rooms have TV, hotel cinema, minibar, telephone, wireless Internet, large wardrobes and bathrooms with bathtubs. All rooms are air conditioned. All guests at Thon Hotel Oslofjord are offered free coffee and tea in our lobby.Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel.The hotel has a fitness room with a sauna. This is open from 06:00 to 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Oslofjord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Sandvika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing