We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well functioninig business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Oslofjord
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandvika
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well functioninig business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Well functioninig business hotel, great breakfast, 7x24 coffee @ reception, 10 min walk from railway,
Well functioninig business hotel, great breakfast, 7x24 coffee @ reception, 10 min walk from railway,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank kimbertyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear "Kimbertyr"

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy you enjoyed our brekfast and free coffee in the lobby. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    129
    86
    28
    5
See reviews for
45
41
13
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

As Thon hotels go, this one is similar to the other hotels of this chain. It is OK for business, but I wouldn't pick it for a holiday except for a one day stop over. The name might make you think it has a view over the Oslofjord, it doesn't. The restaurant is not bad, but I have had awful service experience at times. When you have breakfast, don't forget they have a Nespresso machine for you, that almost compensates for the bad service in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwizim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear "Kwzim",

Thank you for your review!

We are happy that you enjoyed our free Nespresso. The give the best service as possible in the restaurant is very important to us, and we are very sad you had a bad experience.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 6 times over the last 6 months on business. The rooms are big and have all usual appliances but are quiet dated. The rooms at the centre of the hotel do not have any means of fresh air because the window overlooks the bar and lobby. The AC is very noisy and not very good in all rooms I have stayed in. The gym is very good and not usually very busy. The breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of hot and cold options and the breakfast staff are very helpful. The reception staff are very helpful and very nice. The hotel is very close to a huge shopping centre, bus stop and the train station is a 5min walk away. The hotel provide a free shuttle bus Mon to Fri to the local business areas which is a brilliant service. The worst thing a the hotel is definitely the restaurant for evening meals, I have tried it 4 times in the 50+ nights I have stayed there and every time it got worse and worse. The menu is very small, never changes, over priced and just very poor quality!!!! Thankful there is some lovely restaurants within a 5min walk of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with an external window!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.

We are refurbishing many rooms this year. You are welcome to ask for and try a new room.

Your feedback about the restaurant has been forwarded to the head chef. We try to have a very good restaurant and we are very sorry about your experiences.

We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast, the gym and our free shuttle service.

We want to provide the best service as we can and you are welcome to contact us any time.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
's-Gravenzande, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice big room, but a little bit outdated. Service is good at the reception and in the restaurant. Excellent breakfast buffet - free coffee, tea, water during the day. Free shuttle bus to the office. Hotel is 10 min walk from the train station but is no real problem. The most of the walk you can use the shopping mall, nice for rainy days. Oslo-fjord is nearby, approximate 10 min walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast and the free shuttle.
We are renovating more hotel rooms this year.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I had a room with a double bed. Room seems to be newly renovated with simple design of white walls and light coloured wooden floor that brighten up the room. Bathroom is a bit dim though. Generally a good night stay. Breakfast was served with reasonable varieties of food items.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaNeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear RebeccaNeoh,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
158 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing view of the lobby from the window. Just like having a room in a cruise ship viewing a great atrium.

Room is clean, spacious with writing desk and sitting area.

Clean bathroom, good space with adequate amenities. Bathtub / shower has anti slip tape making it safe to use.
In room wardrobe cabinet needs re-touching/repainting due to partial damage (room 442)

Breakfast is good with adequate variety as "Scandinavian Breakfast" and what made me excited was the freshly squeezed orange juice machine that makes you see in your very eyes as you pour it in your glass.
Set dinner was also great and elegant.

Hotel is not centrally located but has a shopping mall next door.
Going downtown maybe a bit difficult but If you are traveling in a pre-organized tour, location does not matter anymore as sightseeing tour includes city visit and orientation and free time for shopping and dinning.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BUTCH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear "Butch A",

Thank you for your review. We are very greatful for so much great feedback!

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Positive:

- excellent breakfast buffet
- free coffee, tea, water during the day
- modern meeting facilities
- walking distance to fast train station

Negative:

- waiting time check out
- rather old interior in rooms

Summary:

Clear recommandation for short business trip

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for you review. We have taken action with the reception to reduce waiting time. We are also refurbishing rooms, and you are welcome to tro one of our new rooms.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandvika
Scandic Fornebu
#2 of 3 in Fornebu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Vettre
#3 of 3 in Asker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Oslofjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Oslofjord

Property: Thon Hotel Oslofjord
Address: Sandviksveien 184, Sandvika 1337, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Baerum Municipality > Sandvika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandvika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Oslofjord 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Oslofjord in Sandvika is one of Norway's biggest seminar and conference hotels, centrally located in Sandvika, only 10 minutes from Oslo city centre. The hotel offers free parking, easy access with public transportation and large guest rooms.Thon Hotel Oslofjord features 248 large rooms (from 22 square meters), 20 superior rooms and 19 large business rooms. All of the rooms have TV, hotel cinema, minibar, telephone, wireless Internet, large wardrobes and bathrooms with bathtubs. All rooms are air conditioned. All guests at Thon Hotel Oslofjord are offered free coffee and tea in our lobby.Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel.The hotel has a fitness room with a sauna. This is open from 06:00 to 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Oslofjord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Sandvika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing