We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Mouraliz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Mouraliz
Certificate of Excellence
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Vilamoura is a spot which suggested you have to have money to stay there as it is all swanky posh hotéls Around the marina área, however if you stay just a little further back and not in the posh newer hotéls this is not the case.
We stay in moura liz as is 5 minute walk from the marina , it is slightly older build and is apartments not a hotel with masses of faciliteis this brings the prices down . We still enjoy the resort beach , bars and restaurants .and the complex is very Nice if simple.
We Don't fly BA we use low cost and we Don't use the airport taxis as they are ridiculously prices too . ( also note you order a taxi from your hotel they use the even more overpriced private taxi service which they Gain comission off you end up paying 15 euro from the marina to your hotel)! We use yellowfish taxis from the airport they change 25 euro and are waiting for You the airport with a free bottle of red wine and free wi-fi in the car
The point here is that just brecasse VIlamoura is renowned for golfing , posh hotéls with spas and clubs it can still be enjoyed by the average traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    32
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I wouldnt normally review a cheapy apartment block but this is necessary.
2 females travelling, we booked through Low Cost Holidays to enable us to get a 5 night break.
Our transfer bus dropped us of (on our own) and the driver pointed to the building which was supposed to be Mouraliz apartments. He drove off, it wasnt Mouraliz. We walked further down the road, no sign, back to the top and round the other side, couldnt see it and had no idea where were were as we had not been to Villamoura before. My friend called the agent and requested she helped us find out where the apartments were, less than useless Im afraid. Asked a taxi driver to take us there, it was literally round the corner a bit further than where we had already walked (like 3 blocks behind the building we were told originally by the driver). Then there was no one there as we arrived at 9pm ish. Called the number on the door, no answer. Then by luck, a couple walked past and told us we needed to go to the Garvatur (real esttate) office up the road - where the bus dropped us off! This was whilst we were dragging suitcases from pillar to post. Met another couple there who was just calling someone, who was coming to bring the keys. 25mins later he arrived and took us back down to Mouraliz. Phew. I was concerned we were set up for a night on the pavement. Apartment was spacious and clean and equiped with microwave, fridge, kettle and toaster. 2 mins walk to the marina, 15 mins walk to beach.
Villamoura itself is gorgeous. Classy bars and restaurants and a couple of rowdy bars. Woudl definately recommend The 19th Hole down by the Tivoli hotel. Live band most nights, great atmosphere and drinkss were not expensive. In the marina bars they can be a little overpriced.
The Mayflower Restaurant was the best to eat in, but everyone knows it so it is very busy, and higher priced than some others but worth it. Other restaurants still good. had pizza, pasta, wine, bubbles..
The beach is totally amazing but if you want a sunbed, be prepared to pay 17 euros for 2 sunbeds for the day. Extortionate!!! Hardly anyone on the sunbeds - not surprised!
Check out was easier. As long as you are prepared with the tel number and know excactly where to go for late check in, i would recommend this for a cheap stay in a classy place. However, we would have welcomed some air con as the nights were unbearabley sweaty!! Even with the doors and windows open!
Villamoura 10/10. Mouraliz apartments 7/10

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MissT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed at the Mouraliz for five days to watch some football on the Algarve.

The location of the apartments is superb, very close to the popular Marina and other amenities.

The apartments are spacious, clean and well equipped for a self-catering holiday. They have a communal pool (you need to pay a 20euro deposit for a key card) the pool is fine but there is a lack of sun loungers and no bar.

The only downside for me was the lack of air con in the rooms, it was very hot during my stay and not comfortable to sleep. There can be some road noise if you leave the french doors open on an evening.

All in all the apartments are a fine budget choice but the lack of air con could be a drawback for some.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank top4718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is the first time we have stayed at these apartments, and after reading the reviews, was a bit worried.
NO NEED TO WORRY AT ALL.......These are really lovely apartments, in an EXCELLENT location!!!
There is everything on your doorstep!! Supermarket is 3 mins walk, Marina is 3mins walk other way. Lovely Restaurants 2mins away, bars 2mins away and the beach is about 10-15mins walk depending on which side of the Marina you like to use.

We were lucky enough to get the ground floor apartment, that had 2 balconies and a small grassed private garden. (I did request this)
The apartments are VERY safe and the doors and windows are very secure with well fitted modern sliding doors and shutters.

The kitchen is well equipped with fridge and small freezer compartment, 2 ring hob, microwave, Kettle, Toaster and even a blender!
There are plenty of pots and pans too, plus a frying pan, which is very rare on hols abroad.

In the bedroom wardrobe there was also an iron and ironing board, heater and plenty of spare blankets.

The apartments are very clean, well maintained and quite modern, airy and spacious.

I would defo go back, in fact I plan on going back next March with lots of friends!!

As we arrived about midnight I was rather worried about getting the key,....but worry not!!
Just let them know you will be arriving late, they will give you the emergency number (00351-9685-77123) you need to call this when you arrive at tha airport and they will make sure there is someone to meet you with the key.....EASY!!

We used Suntransfers for our airport transfers, and they are EXCELLENT and lots cheaper than any others. We have used these on 2 other trips too.

The pool is just across the road, and looked very nice but we did not use it on this holiday. You need to buy a key card for €20 that you get back when you return it.

Happy Holidays People!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jantex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Mouraliz Apartments. For the price we paid I think this accommodation is good value. The apartments were spotlessly clean and were serviced twice during the week as promised. The water temparature was a bit iffy but as the outside temperature reached the 30's during our holiday cold showers were the order of the day anyway. The only negatives are the lack of balcony - only the ground floor has outside space and there is no aircon.

It is worth noting that if you plan to use the pool you will need to pay a 20E deposit for a security card that gives you access to the private pool and can be collected from the reception. If you arrive on a late flight you will need to collect your keys from the "post office" which is the same building as the apartment reception office Garvetur. I was a bit concerned after reading it was a ten minute walk from the apartment but it really isnt, it's about a two minute walk on the same road as the apartments. But our lovely taxi driver drove us straight to reception then dropped us off at the apartment too. English is widely spoken so ask your driver to do the same!

The marina is on your doorstep but eating and drinking is costly. The Atlantic Bar on the upper level very close to the apartment does a Happy Hour every day, perfect for a cocktail before dinner and was quiet and chilled out - suitable for my 65 year old mum! We wanted to avoid the very English feel of the marina so opted for the square that is behind it and right on the Mouraliz's doorstep. Here the restaurants are much better value and more Portugese in style. We really enjoyed the Pecador for the fresh fish and Cataplana.

Falesia beach is stunning and quiet, just come out of the Mouraliz turn left and stay on the main road until you hit the beach. Very good facilities and spotlessly clean. This is a definite highlight of the area. If you plan a daytrip dont use Garvetur's to book as they charge around twice as much as other companies you will find around the marina.

Overall we had a great week and would come back to Vilamoura and Mouraliz apartments.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank missbreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

the apts are clean the kitchen well equipped,plenty hot water,i read some reviews that made the place sound a little scary,we didnt have any problems,they are really near the marina 2 mins,beach 15 mins ,and 5 mins from my favourite restaurant pipa rota.the only warning i would have is that only the ground floor have a balcony,i would most definately NOT go there without a guarantee of one.

Room Tip: ONLY go if you can get a ground floor with terrace/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank polly086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was a bit worried about these apartments after reading some reviews but they were perfect for what we wanted. Great location, 2 mins from marina & 25 yards from some really nice restaurants. They wouldnt suit anyone who wants a patio to sit out, as only the ground floor apts have them. We were very lucky to get one of these (room B101) - they have a patio at the front & the back and also have a small garden. We didnt see a pool & didnt bother looking for it as we were only there Mon to Fri and the patio was big enough to lay out & sunbathe. The kitchen had everything needed for self catering - very well equipped. We walked to Quartiera a couple of times - about 40 mins stroll along the sea front. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Room B101 has a big patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina1077004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Mouraliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Mouraliz

Property: Apartamentos Mouraliz
Address: Avenida Cerro da Vila | Lote 42, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-407, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Mouraliz 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mouraliz offers self-catering apartments with free WiFi in Vilamoura centre.Falesia Beach is 15 minutes' walking. Each apartment features a fully equipped kitchen with oven, electric hob and refrigerator. They all have the necessary equipment to prepare a homemade meal, including an electric kettle. The living area includes Air conditioning, a flat-screen LCD TV and the ground floor apartments include a private patio with a small garden, where guests can relax after a day of sightseeing. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy 6 golf courses in a 4 km radius. Mouraliz can organise a shuttle service to Faro International Airport, located around 25 km away. Bicycle, boat and car rentals can also be arranged, helping guests to explore the Algarve at their own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartamentos Mouraliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Mouraliz Hotel Vilamoura
Apartamentos Mouraliz Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing