We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views of Marina”
Review of Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Plaza
Co Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely views of Marina”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Very close to all amenities with lovely views could do with a little TLC though!
We used YellowFishTransfers.com for our airport transfers and I can only say that the experience was excellent and the young man who collected us on arrival actually phoned the company's out of hours phone no when no one was there to give us the key to our apartment.
The same young man collected us for the return transfer - he was mannerly and made polite conversation the taxi was spotless inside and out I would highly recommend them.

Room Tip: The maids were excellent it's the actual apartment just looks a bit grubby. Ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tyrone_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The apartments have a great location, really central, you can just park the car (car park included in the fare) and walk everywhere. This is clearly the upside.
The apartment also had a lot of domestic appliances - microwave, washing machine,... and the rental conditions were very clear about cleaning and other fees.
This i a great place for long stays and if you wish to have schedule flexibility.

The downsides; the decoration and the cleaning staff seem to be a bit sloppy. You could really notice that the apartment hasn't undergone a deep cleaning in quite a bit of time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank damenax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Travelled 31.3.13 - 5.4.13 with my husband. Lets get the negative's out of the way first - having visited Villamoura for the past 10 years this is the first time we have stayed at these apartments. Because the weather for the past week has been the coldest we have ever had in Vilamoura we did spend more time than usual in our apartment. The apartments are very old and in desperate need of upgrading - expecially the bathroom and the kitchen. The top of the cistern on the toilet had been cracked and stuck back together again, some of the tiles were cracked also. The shower curtain could have done with being replaced as it was dirty at the bottom. Overall, very tired and dated. The kitchen did have everything that you would require from a self catering aspect - if you choose to eat in. The kettle - we had to stand it on top of the microwave as the lead was only about 4 inches long and would have never reached the plug socket from the work surface. The building itself was freezing...we only had one portable heater for the whole apartment. We choose to put this in the bedroom as this was the smallest room and stayed warmer for longer. I think that there should be more heating. The bed was the most uncomfortable and squeeky we have ever slept in..the covers didn't fit the bed they were far too small more to fit a single bed I think rather than a double. ..the pillows could have done with being replaced they were quite lumpy and obviously old. Personally, I think all the furniture is a little dated, and made the apartment feel quite dark and dull. I think the emphasis for these apartments is the prime location...I also feel that in this day and age there should be some form of satillite tv..all we had were Portuguese channels...We were on the second floor in a 1 bed apt and I would imagine that in the height of the season it would be quite noisy especially if you have young children..You are probably reading this and thinking that I have done nothing but moan!!!..The location of these apts are absolutely fantastic and if you get one with the view of the marina you won't be disappointed - how amazing to wake up to that view every morning or to sit on the balcony and watch the sun set!!..The points mentioned are purely I feel to bring these apts into the 21st century...Would I stay at these apts again??.....yes probably but only during the summer months as they were far too cold..

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment with a view of the marina - it's well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank 4JaneJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We moved here after we booked somewhere else which we didnt like at all. We let ourselves in and immediately saw the view for the Marina, i couldn't believe our luck. It was absolutely gorgeous so definitely worth paying the extra!

The first floor 1 bed apartment was extremely spacious and very clean. I know this as im a cleaner myself and i couldn't fault anything!

Staying on the Marina there was so much choice for eating out it took us a while to decide which one to choose!

Shortly after our return we booked again. Going back tomorrow and very excited. A week isn't long enough though! Everything perfect and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank connie12801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel was very nice it was clean and the food was lovely the staff where very friendly over all a great hotel

Room Tip: The rooms very nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I was offered this accommodation following an arrival where the apartment I had booked being totally inadequate and unsatisfactory. All i can say is WOW. Location you really get no better. Completely unspoilt views of the marina, really nice and cool apartment on hot days and in the evening you get to see the sunset in the west. Okay so the furnishings are not world class but I have to say incredibly comfortable, clean and spacious and right on the step of the marina and all the lovely restaurants as well as a stones throw away from the beaches.

I can highly recommend this place. Pay a little more and you definitely wont be disappointed with this accommodation. If I go back to Vilamoura and I am more than likely to (this was my 4th visit), this is where I will be stopping.

Room Tip: Always try get the apartments with unspoilt views of the marina. You wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Possibleprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Was a little unsure about the above having always stayed in the Ampalius hotel, but my resertvations were laid to rest the moment we went inside the apartment, it was fantastic, big lounge, seperate kitchen , bedroom (basic) very clean with views of the marina to die for.

We loved it so much we booked again the day we returned home, going back December.

We would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Timmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Plaza

Property: Marina Plaza
Address: Avenida da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-401, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Plaza Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing