We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't even know??”
Review of Ostra d'Ouro

Ostra d'Ouro
Ranked #92 of 194 Restaurants in Vilamoura
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We didn't even know??”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For the last 4 years we have visited Vilamoura with 4 friends two of whom own a villa there and have found all the best restaurants. Each time we have visited this place twice on each trip it was so good! However we only know it as "The Big Beer" place on account of the giant beers they serve. Having checked Tripadvisor to find the best restaurant we found we already knew. Artur, Paulo and Victor, the very friendly owners, are always in attendance making sure their high standards are met and they love chatting and joking with the customers. Their grilled fish is always straight out of the ocean, wonderfully cooked and presented to have your mouth watering before you start to eat!! The steaks are great and I could go on.... If you are in Vilamoura you have to try it. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesM132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    37
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Food of the Week”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had been recommended to try here by friends at home. I am delighted to say we were not disappointed :-)
It is up a side street from Old Navy and the fish display outside together with the slightly dark interior decor doesn't look so attractive but the waiters were very friendly with a well practised repartee.
My partner & I had the sea bass (to share) both times we visited and it was lovely, light & moist served with separate portions of mixed vegetables. It was filleted with a flourish at the table so the remaining bones were very few. Our companions had lamb cooked how they liked it, and it was declared delicious - it certainly looked good. Our Crepes Suzettes were also cooked for us at the table which added to the sense of style. My only negative is that the tables are a little "cheek by jowl" close together. That said, on our second visit we had a lovely chat with the folk either side of us which added to our enjoyment but the closeness may not suit everyone.

We would definitely return here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Loved their rose sangria, fresh sea bream or sea bass and the fillet steaks.
Good ambience with staff keen to please

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great crab!! And crepe suzettes ”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We love this resturant and always book when we are in vilamoura there crab is the best and the waiters are funny and entertain.great value and delicious food from starters to desserts!!!
See you soon

Helpful?
2 Thank Chefzobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, uk
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, only missing a view”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This restaurant sits in a side street just up from the marina. The food is very good with a short but adequate wine list and good fish (common) and steak (uncommon for Vilamoura). Staff are accommodating and efficient and the décor, although basic is quite interesting with a number of fish tanks. Best of all it is excellent value, about 3-40% cheaper than like for like actually on the marina

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ostra d'Ouro also viewed

 
Quarteira, Faro District
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Ostra d'Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing