We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of late check-outs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We requested a late check out, to which we were advised there would be a 50 euro charge. Excessive for a couple of hours we thought when most good 5 star hotels allow this as a matter of courtesy, however we agreed as had an evening flight. Upon checking out we were informed that 'we misheard' and the reception had said 50% of the best available room rate, which had suddenly become twice the rate we had paid per night for the entire week. All in all, 4 extra hours cost as much as a night B&B in the hotel. The reception offered the poorest level of customer service I have ever experienced in a 'quality' hotel, and for this reason I would never return to the Tivoli Victoria; the customer is always right ethos does not apply here! The receptionist was even rude enough to insinuate 'you booked with an agent' as if it made you a sub-standard guest; when in fact we had booked directly with the Tivoli.

The hotel is isolated, and the staff are not overly helpful in organising taxis!

I would not bother with breakfast, the 'hot' food is not even warm. The poolside menu is limited, and based on the remoteness of the hotel; going elsewhere for lunch is not easily accessible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ts4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,386 - 2,392 of 3,489 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 10 days 2 adults/2 kids in a 2 bed apt
The apt was huge and perfect in every way.The hotel is luxury which we also used.The marina hotel we also used for free parking and pool etc This also good
I believe for a family is the best in Vilamoura

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ebird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed at tivoli Victoria for one week with my husband 13-20 may. Hotel very nice and very well equipped- beautiful spa, good gym and excellent golf facilities with range and Oceania Victoria golf course. Also very nice outdoor pools. It is located just outside vilamoura, but it is easy to reach marina by car (free parking at tivoli marina) or shuttle bus provided by hotel.

Rooms in hotel are spacious with balcony. they have flat screen tv with lots of English channels. Beds very comfortable with pillow menu. Would say that cleaning could be bit better- whilst cleaners came twice per day and replaced the lovely toiletries/ towels- under the bed was covered in dust- which had obviously been there for some time.

Staff mainly friendly especially reception staff. We found Jose very helpful.

Breakfast is excellent with alot of selection- cereal, fruit, cheeses, full English breakfast and breads. There is also a chef who cooks hot food of your choice.

Wifi available in public areas of hotel- dining room and reception. However, additional charges for wifi in your room.

Golf course at hotel is excellent. Free range balls for Hotel guests too. However, had bad experience at lunch in clubhouse. Ordered club sandwich- when it came it was cold and had frozen meat within it- had to sent it back- first time I have ever sent food back in a restaurant. Bacon was very fatty, lettuce limp and chicken was poor quality -not what I would expect for over 10 euros a sandwich. Would recommend not eating here!! There are lots of lovely restaurants in vilamoura and we enjoyed lots of lovely meals out.

Overall we had an excellent time at the tivoli Victoria and we would definitely return!!!!!!


  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Faulkner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I stayed at the Tivoli Victoria for a week with my boyfriend in May. From start to end everything was perfect. The hotel is so clean and modern as it is only a few years old. All the staff are very friendly - they will help you with anything. Directions to shopping centres, restaurant recommendations, whatever your needs be. All the little touches really make it a pleasant stay - for example they bring chocolates and the weather forecast for the next day to your room each evening. The service they provide is really 5* treatment. We had breakfast every day which was delicious. There really wasn't anything more we could ask for - hams, cheeses, fruit, breads, full English! (plus a chef to cook you up anything else you could possibly want!)

The pool area is beautiful and is definitely very relaxing however I wouldn't suggest going to this hotel if you have children as it is mainly adults and has a very relaxed atmosphere. You must also visit the spa which is 16+, this really was a treat. They have a Jacuzzi pool, sauna and steam room and lots of therapies.

There are many reviews that say this hotel is in the middle of no where but this couldn't be any further from the truth. As long as you have a car then everything is well within reach. The marina which is full of restaurants and bars is about 5/10 min drive away and has a great atmosphere in the daytime and evening. We used the free bus on two nights so we could have a drink. this takes you to the Tivoli at the marina. It was packed but as long as you get there about 10 minutes before then it is fine. I suppose in the summer this will be much busier.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and the area of Vilamoura. It is one of the most relaxing holidays I have ever had and the locals are lovely - they really make you feel welcome and are happy to answer any of your questions.
Thank you so much for such a great holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank francesca c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, Gerente at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear guest
We would like to thank you for your comment about your experience at Tivoli Victoria.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you can visit us again soon.
We would also like to inform you that during Summer, in order to provide a better service to our clients, the transfer service to the beach and the Marina is made more often and we have two buses instead of just one.
Please let us know if you have any other questions or comments.
Contact us to experience.victoria@tivolihotels.com<mailto:experience.victoria@tivolihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I recently stayed for a few days in this lovely hotel.
Easy to check in, amazing room: never had a television in the bathroom before! Comfy bed and duvet, with pillow menu. Huge roomy room with loads of room for cases etc and a great balcony.
Staff were absolutely lovely and friendly at all times.
The only downside was the food. The breakfast was lovely. But lunch and thereafter was disappointing and really expensive.
The hotel is a little isolated, but I was there just prior to the season starting. There is a bus into town a few tiem a day and this is a must!
The poolside was amazing with the most lush loungers that I have ever been on! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view as this means that you get the sunshine. The garden view gets only sun in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fionadesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Fantastic accomodation and a great stay.

There is the Hotel and the Residences which are apartments which is where we stayed. A lovely 2 bed apt which was excellently finished. Only downside was that the position of ours meant the sun only came to the balcony for about an hour at 6pm - wasn't great. Did overlook the golf course though!

In terms of both places -you can use the facilities at either however be warned, prices in the hotel are significantly higher than the Residences which I was far from impressed by... Example beer at the Residences by the pool 3.50 euros compared to 5.00 at the Hotel. Didn't feel right

The staff are great albeit a very slow pace of life with service taking quite some time most of the time .. so order well in advance!

It's possible to walk to Vilamoura but takes around an hour - so may put people off, however there's a shuttle bus if you are prepared to queue ... we ended up with taxis that are 9.00 Euros each way

Fantastic place to stay if you don't mind being out of it, with nothing around you. Golf course is spectacular though didn't play it.

Top Tips:
Loads of brilliant bars and restaurants with A Broa being the best we found. Try the steak on a hot stone - was delish!

Be careful in the bars on an evening as most staff actually increase the prices the more they think you've been drinking and won't notice - have your wits about you

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank madyorkshiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

It's a great hotel for both couples or families. Although not in the center of Vilamoura that's actually a plus since you can enjoy the quiet and beauty of the surroundings. Will definitely go back. The place is beautiful, the SPA is great and the staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Try asking for a higher room, they have small walk in closets :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luis_FFigueiredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
817 reviews
6.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,419 reviews
1.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,177 reviews
13.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort

Address: Av. dos Descobrimentos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-309, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £103 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Debuting Anantara’s authentic luxury in Europe, Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort offers a landmark of quiet prestige, along southern Portugal’s picturesque Algarve coast. Immerse in Vilamoura’s glamour from a tranquil retreat, overlooking the Oceanico Victoria golf course. Revealing a journey of local artistry, the hotel’s sculptures, artwork, paintings and installations create a contemporary Portuguese gallery. Signature luxuries embrace you in spacious rooms, indulgent suites and penthouse prestige. Relax on elegant terraces, refreshed by rolling golf greens and cerulean pools. Feel renewed by spa pampering that draws on healing Algarvian traditions, exploring a unique Ayurvedic philosophy that is exclusive in the region. Drift between five beautiful pools. World-class facilities welcome families with fun dining, creative clubs for kids and teens. Poolside Champagne cabanas refresh relaxation with decadence. Emotive fine dining fuses Portugal’s spice trading discoveries. Al fresco decks romanticise sundowners. Wine Guru journeys swirl stories of local heritage vines. Love and family celebrations are tailored impeccably with Dining by Design. Just moments from golf-side tranquillity, Vilamoura is an energising celebrity enclave of desirable boutiques and glittering nightlife. Sunshine glows on golden beaches. Vilamoura Marina is the place to see, be seen and embark on sailing voyages. The Algarve’s zest flourishes as you explore wineries, olive groves and luminous fleur de sel fields. Time spent at the golf club on our doorstep, and over 30 nearby courses, is seamlessly arranged by our Golf Guru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Victoria Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing