We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but long way out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We've just returned from a week half board at The Tivoli. The hotel itself is very lovely indeed, clean and very well presented and furnished, the swimming pools are superb and the comfiest sun loungers ever ! The staff friendly and efficient. The breakfast and evening meal we could not fault, a really good choice for breakfast, the evening meal was a different themed buffet each evening inc. bbq, mediteranean, spanish style etc..With lovely desserts too. Drinks were expensive a G&T 10 Euros, but you expect hotel prices I guess.
There were some nice touches including a turn down service each evening where a weather forecast and a choccy were left on your pillow, being a girl I loved this !
The only down side was that the hotel is quite a long way out, my partner walked into Vilamoura each day and it took him over an hour and he's young and fit, I would guess its about 5km into the town. There is a shop at the hotel which sells newspapers, sweets etc..but the opening times are limited. The courtesy bus too runs only 4/5 times a day. They perhaps need to think about upping this - The evening buses were 7.30pm and 8pm and there were so many people waiting they had to lay on 2 buses both times we were queuing. All in all, a really super hotel but if you want to be near facilities then its probably not for you.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor side garden view, which was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,300 - 2,306 of 3,446 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Tivoli Victoria Hotel (we had previously stayed 4 years ago). Positives outweigh the few negatives and we would happily return again next year!!

positives: The hotel is absolutely stunning-modern and simplistic with excellent cleanliness standards. The rooms are stunning,very spacious and comfortable-all with aircon. Breakfast is delicious-excellent choice- cooked breakfast,omelettes cooked to order,pancakes,fresh fruit etc . The only downside of breakfast is people from other nationalities smoking in the outside breakfast area whilst having breakfast-maybe the hotel should allocate designated smoking areas to avoid irritating those who are not accustomed to this.

The hotel is located next to the golf club- we would recommend going here for a drink/lunch. The atmosphere is very relaxed and prices are reasonable.

The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the marina. We took other reviewers advice and ensured we queued a good 20mins before the departure time-we got a seat every time. I do agree that the buses should be more frequent. Taxis from the marina are approx 10euros each way.

Negatives:when booking the holiday I contacted reception to request an early check in-I received an email back saying the request had been noted. However upon arrival (10am) the reservation dates were incorrect and our room was not ready. We decided to wait at the pool whilst the room was being prepared (rather annoying after a 8 hour trip). At 3pm -5hrs later we proceeded to reception to find out what was going on. The receptionist confirmed our room was still not ready- And failed to apologise for the inconvenience. We returned back to the pool and at 430(6.5hrs later) our room was ready. This is not a major issue but be warned if checking in during the day prepare yourself with appropriate clothing etc for a long wait for your room. A late afternoon arrival time would therefore be more suitable.

Some of the reception staff we experienced lacked interest and urgency in any requests/information requests.They did not fulfil the standards of a 5 star hotel where customer service is paramount- I enquired about horse riding and was simply handed a leaflet. My advice would be go down to the far side of the marina and make all your bookings with the "best offers" agents down there. They we're very helpful and prices were really competitive. We went horse riding at the Centro hipico Santa Maria stables which was fantastic! 45 euros pp for 2 hours trek. 10 euros for transport (a fair distance away)and they will collect you from the hotel.

Tips: the Chinese restaurant on the marina is excellent value for money and very tasty! We were recommended a restaurant " A Bora" by a local resident. This is slightly back from the main marina but the food was really delicious and the service was excellent. Average cost on the marina for two drinks (pint of beer and vodka and mixer) is 10 euros. The aquashow park was a good day out-22 euros per person-taxis are approx 15 euros each way from the hotel

Overall a fantastic stay- a few issues that need to be addressed- but I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. We would definitely return and we hope the hotel continues to expand and improve!




Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lilafeen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have just returned after a week at the Tivoli Victoria. Whilst the accommodation was worthy of 5* rating we felt the lack of transport throughout the day to take guests to Vilamoura centre was insufficient. Guests started to queue at the designated bus stop up to 30 mins before the coach was due to ensure a seat and in searing heat this was a challenge. As for the hotel being 3k from Marina in Vilamoura.................. This journey cost us 10 Euros each way which suggests its farther than this. If you are after isolation then this hotel would suit you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45Chrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Really enjoyed our week stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely polite and well trained, the restaurant food was lovely and was always fresh. The spa was also great and we thoroughly enjoyed our treatments there.

Only negative comments would be that the bar food was overpriced and wasn't that great. Also the holiday season was beginning to come to an end by the time we left (Sept 6th), so one of the bars had already shut and the restaurant was also closing.

Would definitely recommend it though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We went for a short trip at Tivoli Victoria and had a great time. The hotel is modern, very clean, has a fantastic spa, 2 pools and located on a beautiful golf course. The food is very good and reasonable priced. The staff is very courteous, well trained and friendly. We got surprised for our anniversary with a bottle of port and petits fours as well as being provided with a box of pastries for the road when we left the hotel. We will return to the Tivoli and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room #250 is fantastic, corner, large terrasse, board room, living room and 2 bath rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for five nights and everything was great. The hotel its very nice, the rooms are fantastic, the pool and breakfast too. The hotel is not walking distance from anything but we rented a car and we parked in the hotel very easily without extra charge.The Spa its very nice and there are some restaurants and bars. My only comment its that being a big hotel there is nothing special about the service but other than that its great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattyaragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

OUTSTANDING HOTEL. my husband and I stayed for 10 nights, the hotel was amazing staff were there for your every need. our room was great over looking pool and golf course with turn down service every night. pool area was very relaxed and spotless never a problem to get a sun lounger(best sun loungers ever so comfy).B/fast is great. The hotel also runs a great shuttle bus service into the marina with the last bus returning at 11:15 pm (free of charge)or a taxi coasts 12 euro back to hotel. we would definitly return to this hotel amazing holiday !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: first floor easy access to reception,pool,and bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,294 reviews
1.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
783 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
6.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort

Address: Av. dos Descobrimentos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-309, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £133 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Debuting Anantara’s authentic luxury in Europe, Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort offers a landmark of quiet prestige, along southern Portugal’s picturesque Algarve coast. Immerse in Vilamoura’s glamour from a tranquil retreat, overlooking the Oceanico Victoria golf course. Revealing a journey of local artistry, the hotel’s sculptures, artwork, paintings and installations create a contemporary Portuguese gallery. Signature luxuries embrace you in spacious rooms, indulgent suites and penthouse prestige. Relax on elegant terraces, refreshed by rolling golf greens and cerulean pools. Feel renewed by spa pampering that draws on healing Algarvian traditions, exploring a unique Ayurvedic philosophy that is exclusive in the region. Drift between five beautiful pools. World-class facilities welcome families with fun dining, creative clubs for kids and teens. Poolside Champagne cabanas refresh relaxation with decadence. Emotive fine dining fuses Portugal’s spice trading discoveries. Al fresco decks romanticise sundowners. Wine Guru journeys swirl stories of local heritage vines. Love and family celebrations are tailored impeccably with Dining by Design. Just moments from golf-side tranquillity, Vilamoura is an energising celebrity enclave of desirable boutiques and glittering nightlife. Sunshine glows on golden beaches. Vilamoura Marina is the place to see, be seen and embark on sailing voyages. The Algarve’s zest flourishes as you explore wineries, olive groves and luminous fleur de sel fields. Time spent at the golf club on our doorstep, and over 30 nearby courses, is seamlessly arranged by our Golf Guru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Victoria Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing