We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take care with extra costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed at a lot of hotels and the general standard of this Hotel is good. The staff were mainly attentive and quality of room was good.
Sometimes though it is the small things that make or break the stay and this has affected my rating. Firstly the Internet service. If you are in the Public area it is free but relatively slow. If you are in your room you have to pay €15 for each connection - so more than one machine and it starts mounting up. I can't remember the last time I paid for Internet and having paid I would have expected a much better connection. This was expensive, wasn't a good signal and regularly dropped.
My next irritation was the coffee supply. I didn't go searching through the room but the only obvious source is a Nespresso machine sitting there with 6 capsules. More fool me to assume this was provided free - each capsule is charged at €2. I should have brought my own which I buy at €0.30.
Room service food is ok. However most of the same food is available in the Bar area at a significantly reduced price and you don't also pay a €5 room charge. For example for the same desert it is €6 in the Bar and is €10 in the room. Extra charge or service charge - not both!
Finally I also can't remember the last time I stayed at a good quality hotel and a complementary bottle of water wasn't provided - not here. You can purchase one out of the minibar.
So comfortable stay which in itself would have a higher rating but the add ons certainly upset me and overall it only just got a 3 rating.
Take care!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bostik17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I apologise if the hotel service did not meet your expectations, specifically about our room service prices. In fact the prices for room service are slightly higher than the bar prices, however, we don´t charge any room service tax. If any room service tax was charge by mistake please contact me to mario.custodio@tivolihotels.com, so i can make you a refund.
About the Nespresso coffee machine available in all the rooms, it is a facility we provide guests that they can enjoy in the comfort of their own rooms without having to go to the bar.
I would just like to mention that if you sign up to our free loyalty programme - GHA Discovery- you will have free WIFI internet as well as other benefits such as a free bottle of mineral water in your room on arrival and a free daily newspaper of your choice during your stay. Sign up on your next visit and you'll also have access to a unique portfolio of local experiences.
I look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.
My best regards.
Mário Custódio
General Manager
Tivoli Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,254 - 2,260 of 3,449 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Another great holiday at this hotel . Little bit of luxury on the algarve . Friendly staff, good food and drink and comfortable rooms . Staff are so attentive and nothing is too much for them . Dropped on some good weather which allowed us to use the outdoor pool area . Comfortable sun lounges ideal for spending the day relaxing with your loved one. Great cocktails and generous servings when it comes to gin and tonic . A hit with the golfers who are certainly catered for. Well equipped gym to keep those pounds at bay. Lovely spa creating a warm and calming environment to forget all your worries. The heat beds certainly ease your aches and pains . Nice little finishing touches on your turn down service including next day weather report and chocolates on your pillow . Sure we will be returning in the not so distant future as this hotel offers everything we as a couple are looking for in a luxury hotel

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Claremcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Claremcharles, thank you for sharing your experience at Tivoli Victoria. We’re glad to know you enjoyed staying with us.
Tivoli Victoria is pure sophistication, from the amazing rooms to the panoramic views out over the beautiful fairways of the Oceânico Victoria Golf Course. And for pure leisure sit back and enjoy some amazing delicacies prepared by our chefs at one of the numerous restaurants and bars or pampering yourself at the Elements Spa by Banyan Tree.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Mário Custódio
General Manager of Tivoli Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I am a regular visitor to this hotel with my partner, after visiting the Algarve and especially Vilamoura regularly for the past 10 years I know the area well and frequented most of the hotels in the area.

Home from home, is the best way I can explain this hotel, we visit once a year as a minimum. Its staff are always very friendly and polite, travelling again in April this year for a long weekend break we cannot wait to go back again, I will not stay anywhere else.

It has a sister hotel in the Marina which is equally as nice and slightly more central to Vilamoura, but the Victoria is the best if you are looking for a relaxing break away.

The Spa is amazing, situated on the roof of the main hotel building, with slate black stone flooring, very contemporary with amazing massages and treatments on offer.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms have a balcony with a big double sofa you can sit on and relax. Don't be conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S6Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear S6Mark
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Tivoli Victoria. We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do have a sister hotel, Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, located on the town center. We have a courtesy shuttle to this hotel, so our guests can acess to all the facilites and enjoy the animation, of the Vilamoura Marina.
We would like to remind you that we are currently on the Algarve Spa Week, a initiative that aims to provide luxury at affordable prices treatment at 5 star hotels spas, in the Algarve. Next editions will be in 15th to 23rd March and in 25th October to 2nd November.
We wish to exceed your best expectations and welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Mário Custódio
General Manager of the Tivoli Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for 3 night in October, partly coinciding with the Portugal Masters. The hotel is great and huge. Excellent rooms, good breakfast and a few restaurants to choose from. Pool areas very nice, and never got crowded when we were there. The hotel is huge though, so it could be a bit of a walk from reception to your room. If you're there for Portugal Masters it's obviously the ideal choice. Next door to the golf course, you can see 18th fairway and green from the hotel, and you get close to the players since many of them stay there. Villamoura Marina too far away by foot, and nothing else than hotel & golf course next door. Hence, you'll need a car.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Krister Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Krister Z., Thank you for sharing your experience at Tivoli Victoria. We’re glad to know you enjoyed staying with us.
We are the best hotel for the Portugal Masters. Our free shuttle service goes to Vilamoura Marina and the town center with access to all the region's attractions. It operates between 4 to 8 times a day from 10am to 11,15pm. This service, which is provided free of charge to all guests of the Tivoli Victoria and The Residences at Victoria, is operated in accordance with guests' needs and the occupancy at the time in question.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We felt welcome and pampered from when we arrived. Our room was already available before noon, we got an upgrade to golf view. The room was spacious, modern and ample wardrobe room and hangers. Everything we needed that was not in the room you just had to ask and it was there.
Breakfast was varied and delicious. As there were cyclist teams for the volta Algarve, even this early the hotel was buzzing with activity. Bit early for the pool but it look good. Should try in summer.
The gourmet restaurant also hit the right spot. As a diabetic I could even have the apple dessert without going in high figures. Yey.
We had no complaints on our 5 day golf break. With the
7 Oceanico golf course around the hotel you are in golf heaven.
For the marina there are shuttles available, but we had a car.
Lots of dining options in the Marina too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 171winstonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of at the Tivoli Victoria with us.
we're glad to know you enjoyed staying with us, specially our restaurant where the staff have special attention to any food restrictions.
If you have any further queries or comments, please contact me at: mario.custodio@tivolihotels.com
We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Vilamoura.
Mário Custódio
General Manager of the Tivoli Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Warm and friendly staff. Luxurious rooms. Excellent selection of food at breakfast. Food at dinner was also very good but portions for a man could be larger. This hotel is well appointed for my needs. It's five minutes drive to the Horse Show.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

5 stars seem to be given out all too frequently these days. A nice enough hotel, a nice enough golf course attached,but neither warrant the stars given.Herded onto shuttle buses like a cheap package deal to Marbella.Any 5 star hotel I've stayed in has it's own service.Restaurant was good.Location too far out of town with a limited service.All in all, I would give the whole experience 3 1/2 stars tops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DomBHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,305 reviews
1.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
783 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
6.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort

Address: Av. dos Descobrimentos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-309, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £132 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Debuting Anantara’s authentic luxury in Europe, Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort offers a landmark of quiet prestige, along southern Portugal’s picturesque Algarve coast. Immerse in Vilamoura’s glamour from a tranquil retreat, overlooking the Oceanico Victoria golf course. Revealing a journey of local artistry, the hotel’s sculptures, artwork, paintings and installations create a contemporary Portuguese gallery. Signature luxuries embrace you in spacious rooms, indulgent suites and penthouse prestige. Relax on elegant terraces, refreshed by rolling golf greens and cerulean pools. Feel renewed by spa pampering that draws on healing Algarvian traditions, exploring a unique Ayurvedic philosophy that is exclusive in the region. Drift between five beautiful pools. World-class facilities welcome families with fun dining, creative clubs for kids and teens. Poolside Champagne cabanas refresh relaxation with decadence. Emotive fine dining fuses Portugal’s spice trading discoveries. Al fresco decks romanticise sundowners. Wine Guru journeys swirl stories of local heritage vines. Love and family celebrations are tailored impeccably with Dining by Design. Just moments from golf-side tranquillity, Vilamoura is an energising celebrity enclave of desirable boutiques and glittering nightlife. Sunshine glows on golden beaches. Vilamoura Marina is the place to see, be seen and embark on sailing voyages. The Algarve’s zest flourishes as you explore wineries, olive groves and luminous fleur de sel fields. Time spent at the golf club on our doorstep, and over 30 nearby courses, is seamlessly arranged by our Golf Guru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Victoria Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing