We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

we just returned from one week at the Tivoli and it was fantastic. We have a 3 year old and as it is a 5* I worried that it would be a bit too snobby for her, but everyone was extremely welcoming and the hotel is really nicely set up for families...if i was looking for a true spa break, i probably would not pick here as it really is 85% families...but for us it was perfect.
Lots of debate on the 5* and i have stayed in luxurious resorts before like the Four Seasons and The Ritz and this is definitely not a true 5* on our terms but considering value for money, facilities, the staff are fantastic, it's a good 4* hotel.

It is out of the way, but they do offer a coach service shuttle which we used every day, and it works well. One thing I would recommend is the dinner buffet which at 35 euros is pretty decent value for The Algarve and wine/beer is included.

WIFI as stated by many before me, is USELESS. Leave the blackberry at home...load up the iPad for kids, I didn't and regretted it as she had nothing to watch, TV in Portugese...

Anyway! Do not hesitate to book this resort particularly if you have kids. They look after you. And I am a total hotel snob. I loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário C, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Karen, Thank you so much for sharing your experience in Tivoli Victoria. We are very pleased that we succeeded in meeting your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in fact very oriented to receive families with young childrens with our kids Club offering daily activities as well as a children swimming pool.
I will just like to mention that in our rooms we do have English TV channels including entertainment channel for childrens.
Once again we are truly grateful for your outstanding review and we look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again in a near future.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,096
    930
    223
    51
    33
See reviews for
853
1,520
78
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing 2 weeks at the Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura, from checking in through to checking out nothing was to much trouble for all the staff. The hotel is exceptionally clean and very well cared for.
We had only been in our room for about 20 minutes when we received a surprise gift of fruit, hand made chocolates and champagne, what a lovely gesture from the management, the occasion was, we are celebrating our Ruby Wedding. Thank you.
The breakfast was excellent so much choice and all well presented and kept well stocked, the omelettes especially we're brilliant. We did not have an evening meal in the hotel choosing to eat out around the Marina.
The turndown service was a nice touch, not many hotels offer this anymore, to have the towels refreshed and bins emptied in the evening was good as we're the chocolates.
We could always get a sunbed around the pool no matter what time we decided to go down, they were so comfortable. The pool bar staff were very attentive and always available to bring a snack, coffee or something stronger.
Comments made by other guests regarding the WiFi are spot on, we got o booster from reception and we had no problems after getting good reception in our ground floor garden room.
The only complaint we had was with the courtesy bus, sound familiar? During the day there was never a problem always plenty of seats, the frequency of buses in the evening is rather mystifying, we witnessed 20/30 guests unable to get on. Would be helpful to have more runs or more buses in the evening, if you aren't queuing 20 mins before the bus is due there isn't much chance of getting on.
Would we go back to the Tivoli Victoria? Yes we would, we had a fabulous holiday and were made to feel very special.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet overlooking the gardens. Room 142
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaywatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário C, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest, We are delighted to know that your recent stay with us went perfectly and your kind words about food, services and facilities are much appreciated. I would like to mention that we now have a extended schedule as well as a second shuttle bus operating to Vilamoura Marina wich allows us to improve our service. I am happy to read your comments on our Team Members and how they made you feel welcomed in Tivoli Victoria, It is our constant aim to create a unique experience for every Guest who visits us and we feel so honored to that you are considering to return.
We hope to exceed your best expectations next time you visit us.
Mário Custódio – Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We returned last night from a 1 weeks stay in a junior suite. The property is 5 star, very clean in a beautiful setting about 10 mins taxi from Villamoura. However we did not receive the 5 star service we expected. The guy who checked us in was miserable. We did not receive 2 turn down services and 1 clean during the day. If you sit around the adult pool then expect to be ignored. Towels were not provide around the adult pool for 5 consecutive days, you needed to get them from the main pool. The hotel operates a credit card system for the pool towels. You exchange your card for towels and receive the card back at the end of the day. There was no-one at the towel station in the mornings so didn't see the point of the cards. The pool service didn't start until 10:30 approx. So again if you were sat around the adult pool and wanted a drink you had to go around to the main pool or wait for waiter service around the adult pool any time from 11- 12:30. The toilets around the adult pool were shut (doors locked) for 2 days with no reason why. When I asked a member of staff why the toilets were closed they say they didn't know and did not offer to find out. The sun loungers around the adult pool are doubles, they recline separately but you cannot move them easily as they are on a wooden deck so the space is very limited on the deck. The parasols were broken and were shared between your neighbor and the trees were young so provided hardly any shade. The mattresses were soaked each morning from the sprinklers (we assume) We arrived one morning to breakfast and there was no staff to provide drinks. Lunch was hit and miss on the service. The food, by the way is very good. Trying to get a taxi in the evening is chaos. Guests are waiting but no-one to assist on 4 nights. There is a courtesy coach but there was long queues each time.
Villamoura it's self is nice, had great friendly service and food every evening and so we know it was just the hotel and some of the staff. The service around the adult pool did seem to improve but still no towels yesterday again. Beautiful hotel but very disappointing compared to other 5* hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRW0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations.
Please be assured that we take all comments very serious and use them to improve our services on a daily basis.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was lovely, pool area fab, the staff are very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that we flew out at 5am so left the hotel at 3am and booked a room last minute to stay that night as it wasnt inc in our package, with no breakfast and using the room until 3am they charged €175 for the night a little much considering we had spent almost a week there a little discount wouldn' have killed them . Other than that food was lovely rooms were clean and nice and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyk110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário C, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lizzy, Thank you so much for writing a review of your recent stay at tivoli Victoria in Tripadvisor.
The whole team is extremely appreciative of your kind words about their attentiveness and service.
I´m glad to know that you enjoyed our pool area, food and the overall Hotel facilities and that we were able to provide you a great experience. Regarding the discount on your last night ,on you next reservation please do not hesitate in contact me directly at mario.custodio@tivolihotels.com.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing place. 1st trip too Vilamoura but won't be our last. The hotel is the perfect distance from the town, making it lovely and peaceful for a relaxing hoilday. The staff are all so attentive are always smiling and happy to help. The food in the EMO restaurant is second to none. Me and my wife both had the 4 course "local" menu and it was some of the best food I've ever eaten. I couldn't find any faults with this wonderful place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimblood1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Jim, It´is an honor to know that you have chosen Tivoli Victoria for this first visit to Algarve. We are very pleased that we succeeded in meeting your expectations and were able to provide you with a flawless experience. Glad that our team members made you feel so well taken care of during your stay, it is very gratifying to receive such appreciation from our guests. The Emo Restaurant has won his 3rd consecutive Golden Fork award and it´s an amazing place to dine with exquisite food and stunning views from the golf courses, thank you in behalf of Executive Chef Bruno Rocha and all the EMO team for your lovely comments. Already looking forward for your second visit and for another memorable experience.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accrington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and myself returned home yesterday from a seven day stay at this hotel.we booked through Jet2 indulgence brochure.not sure it lived up to the " indulgence" image in the brochure as the food definitely did not.we paid extra for half board then every night we were questioned by sullen staff in the restaurant about payment.they made us feel we had to explain why we were in there when obviously they were in the wrong not us.they seemed to think if they filled shot glasses with rice pudding it was a dessert!! The Italian themed night was the final night I put up with the meals when I ate a piece of cold cheese and tomato pizza and had to wait twenty minutes for them to cook another!!! They cooked one at once ,took the plate away then returned with one pizza cut up again.nobody likes wasting food but this was a busy hotel and quite honestly it was cutting corners and showed.
In the brochure it shows you a golf course where you can play everyday.......except it was closed
In the brochure it says 4 kilometres from villamoura marina....it's 6,so impossible to walk.theres a free bus that holds 40 guests,so bus driver counts 40 then leaves the rest.if you then miss the 8 pm bus ,the next to quarter to eleven!! Ridiculous
The evening bar was closed,so you have to sit in the lobby,that's a mausoleum.the World Cup was on with no sound for the men to hear the commentary.then to top it all,the waiter switched it off and put on basketball Bulgarian v Russia- the only time guests were glad there was no sound!!
I know it was 5* but 4 euros for a coffee and a gin and tonic was 9.50 .it just makes you stop spending in the hotel as we did,grab a taxi and give the money to a friendly bar in the marina.
The tivoli sign that lights up upon your return is broken so IVALI is the welcome back you receive when you look up at the building.we paid extra for a garden view room,which 3 days into our holiday I realised everyone got anyway!!!
When I was sat in the lobby ,drinking my ludicrously expensive drink,I looked at reviews on trip advisor of this hotel.some enjoyed it,some like us said it had good points and a lot of bad ones.the manager then replies with either " thank you" or " sorry". For once I would like a manager to look at the complaints and do something about the gripes from past customers.we all cannot be wrong,past customers to this hotel have said exactly the same as us,yet nothing has altered.we will never return and shall tell others not too either.lovely bedrooms do not make a holiday.he needs to shake up his staff,employ better cleaners( blood on the floor outside the lift near restaurant for four days!) and open the evening bar.you cannot expect people to sit in a lobby all night buying overpriced drink off surly staff.if the manager has lost enthusiasm for this job perhaps its time to move on as he is ruining a hotel with lots of potential.it is a four star at the most and it is down to the manager to make sure families enjoy holidays taken there...how can he justify charging 15 euros for a lunchtime burger? We saw families sharing a meal as the prices for four with drinks was over 100 euros at lunchtime. Guests were not happy,but the manager was no where to be seen of course.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantonaAccrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent experience at Tivoli Victoria.
We strive to provide all our guests with great experiences and it seems that it was not the case in this instance. I would be very grateful if you would be kind enough to contact me on mario.custodio@tivolihotels.com so we can discuss the shortcomings felt during your stay.
Once again we thank you for your honest opinion and hope to have the opportunity and pleasure of welcoming you back.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel was superb, the food excellent, the service very good, especially great if you are a golfer.

The one and only draw back is that it is 10/15 mins out of Vilamoura town/marina area. Whilst there is a courtesy bus , you can't just stroll out into town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redroserambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience in Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort and luxury of our Hotel, the culinary experiences and above all the service provided by our Team. Tivoli Victoria is ideal for golfers due to his proximity to the courses and overall golf facilities, besides having fantastic views over the golf courses.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next visit to Algarve.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,970 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
6.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,515 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort

Property: Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Address: Av. dos Descobrimentos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-309, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Debuting Anantara’s authentic luxury in Europe, Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort offers a landmark of quiet prestige, along southern Portugal’s picturesque Algarve coast. Immerse in Vilamoura’s glamour from a tranquil retreat, overlooking the Oceanico Victoria golf course. Revealing a journey of local artistry, the hotel’s sculptures, artwork, paintings and installations create a contemporary Portuguese gallery. Signature luxuries embrace you in spacious rooms, indulgent suites and penthouse prestige. Relax on elegant terraces, refreshed by rolling golf greens and cerulean pools. Feel renewed by spa pampering that draws on healing Algarvian traditions, exploring a unique Ayurvedic philosophy that is exclusive in the region. Drift between five beautiful pools. World-class facilities welcome families with fun dining, creative clubs for kids and teens. Poolside Champagne cabanas refresh relaxation with decadence. Emotive fine dining fuses Portugal’s spice trading discoveries. Al fresco decks romanticise sundowners. Wine Guru journeys swirl stories of local heritage vines. Love and family celebrations are tailored impeccably with Dining by Design. Just moments from golf-side tranquillity, Vilamoura is an energising celebrity enclave of desirable boutiques and glittering nightlife. Sunshine glows on golden beaches. Vilamoura Marina is the place to see, be seen and embark on sailing voyages. The Algarve’s zest flourishes as you explore wineries, olive groves and luminous fleur de sel fields. Time spent at the golf club on our doorstep, and over 30 nearby courses, is seamlessly arranged by our Golf Guru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Victoria Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing