We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No toys in the kids club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
“No toys in the kids club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is definitely a 5star hotel. Everything about it is luxurious. However the provision for children could do better. The kids club has so much potential - great venue, incredible staff, but strangely there are hardly any toys to actually play with. My two year old was so excited to see a plastic garage but there were no cars to put in it. No puzzles. No games. No Lego. No dolls. The cupboards are empty. The staff are left to entertain the children with some pens and paper and a set of DVDs. Thankfully they are incredibly creative and do their best. Tivoli management - all you need to do is send the staff off with €500 to the local toy shop and they will solve this problem in an afternoon.

As a separate issue - kids need nice healthy food, please can you update your bar menu at the pool to include some dishes specifically for the children that are not just cheese and/or ham toasted sandwiches? Some pasta, chicken, brocoli, fruit - all would be great. These are all things we have been able to order on room service but we are not able to get at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário C, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Sophie, Thank you so much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at Tivoli Victoria. It makes me very glad to know that you found on our Hotel and service true luxury and enjoyed a overall excellent experience. Regarding the kids club we would like to thank you for your suggestions and let you know that we periodically renew our stock of toys and is something that we are doing at the moment. We already have more games available and will continue to increase in the upcoming days. Thank you on behalf of the T/kids Team Members for your lovely comments about their service Unfortunately for safety and hygiene reasons we can´t serve the meals that you wish at our Pool Bar but we do have all of those meals available at Sensorial Restaurant which is really near from the pool area and has a superb terrace outside to enjoy family meals and then hit the pool again.
We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,058
    927
    222
    51
    33
See reviews for
843
1,501
77
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Just enjoyed a fabulous meal at the 5 start tivoli Victoria hotel. Although a buffet style the food was superb and you know it is good when you have different waiters for wine, beer, water.... If you in the area visit the ambiance around the hotel is great with a beautiful view over the golf course

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário C, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Graham, I´m very glad to know that you had a superb culinary experience at Sensorial Restaurant and enjoyed not just the food of our thematic buffet as well as the service provided by our Team. You should also try our EMO restaurant, which has been recognized for its efforts to develop Portuguese cuisine with its 3rd consecutive Golden Fork award, that serves à la carte dinners and has stunning views over the golf course. Hope to welcome you soon.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from ten days at the Tivoli - it was fantastic, you could not fault the staff, they were so friendly and helpful and always there whatever time of day or night to help. The amenities were first class from the spa to the pools, the adult pool only was so relaxing and quiet and always plenty of sunbeds available throughout the day. The rooms were exceptionally clean and fresh towels twice a day without asking. There was a lovely lady came into your room every night and placed a sweet on your pillow with a card telling you what the next days temperature would be. The hairdresser was fantastic too had my hair washed and blow dried whilst there and wish he worked in England he even said I could return the next day to have it refreshed for free what more could you ask for. The only fault was not with the hotel but it was a little out of the way but they provided a courtesy shuttle bus during the day and evening which sometimes was over full but they do not have to provide this free service so again many thanks. I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends - perhaps not if you have young children as there is not much to do and is too far out of Vilamoura to walk. Excellent for couples though as we were.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor as I do not like lifts and had requested either a ground floor or f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário C, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Lynda, Thank you for the great feedback regarding your recent stay at Tivoli Victoria. We are happy to hear that the accommodation provided was well appointed and had all the comfort and amenities to make your stay with us the most enjoyable and that you have truly appreciated not only our facilities but also discovered our Team’s passion to deliver excellent services to our guests.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience and for your recommendation it's an honor to know that you are considering to return and we look forward to welcome you back.
Mário custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from 5 nights at the Tivoli Victoria to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and can't recommend it highly enough. I had emailed ahead to state a preference for a double room as opposed to a twin and we arrived to find a bottle of Champagne and chocolates with a note wishing us a happy anniversary. Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, and the shuttle bus provided throughout the day was very handy as you were at The Marina in ten minutes. Will definitely return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: If booking a pool view, try to specify Adult pool as it's a lot more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KANDP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário C, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest, We are truly happy to hear that you had a amazing experience at Tivoli Victoria and that from our facilities to the services provided by our Team nothing really fell short of your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our Team Members who were thrilled to know that they contributed to such wonderful holiday.
Once again we thank you for your lovely comments and look forward to have the opportunity and pleasure of welcoming you soon.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Fantastic hotel, fab staff, clean, helpful everything you could ever want and more. Will definitely go back and stay again .

Rooms cleaned twice a day, fresh towels twice a day.
All in all wonderful x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário C, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest, I am truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed a flawless experience at Tivoli Victoria. It is really great to know that you were extremely pleased with the facilities and with the service provided, I forwarded your comments to all our Team Members who are thrilled to hear that you had such a pleasant stay.
I am personally delighted to notice that you already consider coming back and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

this is a 5 star hotel located about an €11 taxi ride from the harbour. its got two pool areas, tennis court and a small gym (with no air conditioning!). The rooms are well equipped with balconies: the deluxe rooms are best overlooking the golf course: avoid those overlooking the tennis court; very poor views.The rooms don't have coffee/tea making facilities.

It also has a spa with treatments starting at €100 though you can use the pool, sauna and stem room for free.

We booked a suite and needed twin beds as I was with my daughter. the rooms only have double beds and it did take some time for them to understand I was not going to spend a week in the same bed as my daughter! they redeemed themselves by eventually providing 2 deluxe rooms with an adjoining door at no extra cost.

Pros: standard of rooms: pool; excellent restaurant (one of the best in Portugal); quiet and away from the noise of the harbour.

Cons: cost of food by the pool - €13 for sandwich; lots of young children; small gym and no air conditioning; shuttle bus to harbour (its free but you struggle to get on it)

Would you go again - yes

Room Tip: go for the deluxe golf view they are by far the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário C, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Steve, thank you for sharing your experience at Tivoli Victoria. We’re glad to know you enjoyed staying with us. We are thrilled to read that you were so much impressed with our rooms, pool zone and EMO restaurant, I´ve shared you appreciation with our Executive Chef who was delighted to hear that you consider our restaurant one of the best in Portugal. We regret the shaky start of your stay but I´m glad that the solution that we provided was suitable for you and your daughter. I would just like to inform you that after a small malfunction, the air conditioning in our Fitness Room is now operating properly and that we have reinforced our shuttle bus to the Marina for the Summer.
We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

we just returned from one week at the Tivoli and it was fantastic. We have a 3 year old and as it is a 5* I worried that it would be a bit too snobby for her, but everyone was extremely welcoming and the hotel is really nicely set up for families...if i was looking for a true spa break, i probably would not pick here as it really is 85% families...but for us it was perfect.
Lots of debate on the 5* and i have stayed in luxurious resorts before like the Four Seasons and The Ritz and this is definitely not a true 5* on our terms but considering value for money, facilities, the staff are fantastic, it's a good 4* hotel.

It is out of the way, but they do offer a coach service shuttle which we used every day, and it works well. One thing I would recommend is the dinner buffet which at 35 euros is pretty decent value for The Algarve and wine/beer is included.

WIFI as stated by many before me, is USELESS. Leave the blackberry at home...load up the iPad for kids, I didn't and regretted it as she had nothing to watch, TV in Portugese...

Anyway! Do not hesitate to book this resort particularly if you have kids. They look after you. And I am a total hotel snob. I loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mário C, General Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Karen, Thank you so much for sharing your experience in Tivoli Victoria. We are very pleased that we succeeded in meeting your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in fact very oriented to receive families with young childrens with our kids Club offering daily activities as well as a children swimming pool.
I will just like to mention that in our rooms we do have English TV channels including entertainment channel for childrens.
Once again we are truly grateful for your outstanding review and we look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again in a near future.
Mário Custódio - Tivoli Victoria General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
2.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
6.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort

Property: Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Address: Av. dos Descobrimentos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-309, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Oceânico Golf Course, the 5-star Anantara Vilamoura offers a tranquil retreat a 5-minute drive from the Vilamoura Marina and 3 km from the stunning Falésia Beach. Facing the golf fairways and the swimming pools, air-conditioned rooms and suites feature a modern design and are equipped with a flat-screen TV, a docking station, a minibar and a coffee machine. Bathrooms are open-plan with walk-in shower, bath, hairdryer, slippers, robes and luxury amenities. Anantara Vilamoura offers a varied gastronomic experience with its 6 restaurants. From a refined reinterpretation of the traditional Portuguese cuisine at EMO, to the ultimate seafood adventure at Ria, guests are guaranteed to have a glamorous and emotive experience. The Palms Pool Bar will provides refreshing juices from local produce, while Cascades offers adult-only tranquillity with cocktails, light snacks and chilled wine. Afternoon tea and post-dinner digestives can be enjoyed at the Anantara Lounge and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Victoria Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing