We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel let down by poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel let down by poor service”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel to get away for a few days and completely relax, we definitely achieved this but there is certainly room for improvement. The actual hotel and grounds are fantastic, the hotel is brand new and if tis review was purely based on the actual property then we would be rating it "Excellent". It was a real shame that this was all let down by the lack of service we felt we received from the majority of staff which felt more like 3 star to us.

We found many of the staff rude and unhelpful on more than one occasion which was a shame because a few really did make an effort. One thing we also noticed was that quite a few of the staff did not speak particularly good English and I think that probably added to the break down in communication and therefore lack of service. Other things we wouldn’t expect from a 5 star hotel included being given a twin room when we booked a double (due to the hotel being full booked), no towels available around the pool or in the Spa on three different days/occasions, half used drinks left in the minibar and waiting 30 mins for staff to bring our bags up from reception. The hotel also failed to mention that the adjoining golf club has a restaurant which we found out about from other guests, the food, prices and staff are exceptional there. The complete lack of live evening entertainment was also disappointing, each evening the hotel felt empty and very quiet even though it was fully booked.

On the positive side the property itself is fantastic. The views from the hotel over the Golf course are amazing, the loungers by the pool are extremely comfortable and the two restaurants offer a good standard of food. Although our room was different to what we booked it was exceptionally clean and modern and had an amazing shower, view and double lounger on the balcony.

The location was fine for us because we didn’t need to leave the hotel but if you want to visit the marina for a change of food/entertainment be warned that the shuttle bus from the hotel is very restrictive on times. We stayed at the Hilton in Vilamoura last year and they ran a constant evening shuttle to and from the Marina.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5star-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,121
    931
    223
    52
    33
See reviews for
858
1,534
78
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We recently stayed for a week at the Tivoli, Victoria in Villamoura. 2 adults and one child, aged 3 years. Accommodation and amenities were first class. Excellent buffet style breakfast served until 11am. Pool and play areas very clean and well presented. Kids club also on site which the kids loved !! Only 30 mins transfer from Faro Airport and 2km from Villamoura Marina. Variety of golf courses to choose from. Small gym but very adequate. Spa must not be missed !! We will definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GlasgowCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed for a week in the Tivoli Victoria...as people not used to 5 star luxury - we weren't disappointed! The food was amazing (I have never seen so much choice for breakfast!) the pool was lovely and the service was outstanding. The staff couldn't hepl enough and spoke excellent English. My partner is wheelchair dependent; I would thoroughly suggest this hotel to anyone with mobility issues - the room we booked was spacious and well thought out - and there were lifts / ramps to all parts of the hotel. We had to hire a car as the complimentary transport was not accessible to us - so I would suggest this to anyone going who has mobility difficulties. No shops in the hotel to buy water / paper etc, but I think they are looking to put one in...definitely woth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank icklemiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Just returned from the stunning Tivoli Victoria. Stayed 5 nights booked last minute and we were sold on it by the previous reviews and photo's. The hotel fully lives up to it's 5 stars, in terms of it's styish surroundings, the quality of the fixtures & fittings, cleanliness and service levels. If you are looking for comfort, relaxing position and just outside the lovely resort of Vilamoura, I would suggest you will struggle to find anything better.

The staff are very welcoming on arrival, we arrived early and our room was not ready. A porter showed us where to leave our things and where the pool changing rooms/showers were located and within 20 minutes we were soaking up the sun. The rooms are very spacious and modern with quite a large balcony. The grounds are so well kept, probably would expect this from a new 5 star, but still impressive. Great position overlooking the golf course and out to sea. Four pools, including a baby pool, plenty of sun loungers.....actually more like beds. The pool on it's own away from the main building is fantastic and many times we had it to ourselves. Very impressed with the restaurant, standard of food very high, from breakfast with a great choice of juices, cereals, pastries, bread, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast etc. In the evening used the buffet service twice, superb food, 18 euros for three courses and a good selection. (You will easily spend more than this in some of the restauants in the beautiful Marina in Vilamoura). The waiting staff are excellent, can't do enough for you, and all the staff are very polite and courteous at all times.

The hotel provides a courtesy bus into Vilamoura, where you can buy bottled water, drinks etc., and keep in the mini-bar, only 10 minutes and saves you on taxi fares and higher hotel prices which you would expect from a 5 star. We didn't need a taxi once and one couple we spoke to said they waited nearly an hour one evening for a taxi! As previous reviews mention only one run in the evening, out at 8.45pm returning 11.45pm, but no problem for us.

All in all a great relaxing trip in a modern first class hotel, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elainechamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing week at the the Tivoli Victoria Hotel. The rooms are of modern design , clean and comfortable with everything you would expect for this standard of hotel (except complimentary tea/coffee making facilities!). The shower was amazing and the bed extremely comfortable. We were after a total week of relaxation and thats definitely what we got. We spent our days lazing by the beautiful pool on very comfortable padded sun loungers being hypnotised by the relaxing music being played at the bar. Parasols were in abundance and we had no problem getting a sunbed at any time of the day.

As to be expected at a five star hotel, drinks etc are not cheap. A 200ml bottle of coca cola will cost you 3.50 euro at the pool bar, and in the heat, is gone within a few seconds! We took a trip to the supermarket in Villamoura and were able to get cans and bottles of water for next to nothing. We kept them in the mini bar fridge and they did not seem to have a problem with this. It saved us a lot of money.

The Sensorial restaurant is suberb, both the food and the service. We ate here 4 nights Although a little more expensive, the money we saved on taxis into villmaoura evened it self out. There is a transfer to Villamoura organised by the hotel, however it is not very frequent with only one in the evening leaving at 8.45pm. In Villamoura, we ate in the Thai restaurant opposite McDonalds which was really beautiful and a restaurant called Colombo which had been recommended by a taxi driver. It was also very nice.

We would definitely return to this hotel as my husband is a keen golfer and was able to play quite easily. I found it a little fustrating that there was not even a supermarket or anything within easy reach of the hotel to get essential emergency items (e.g. sun screen). This is really my only gripe. Taxis cost us between 8-10 euro into villamoura and the same back again.

I hope this is helpful as I was quite worried when I booked and found the reviews here very beneficial.

Lx
N Ireland

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

This is a great hotel with wonderful views over the golf course and out to the sea. It is ideal for a long weekend (we stayed 4 nights) if you want true R&R (we spent all the time either in the gym, by the pool or relaxing on our balcony). It is only about 20 mins from the airport - a metered taxi cost us €35 (can recommend our taxi driver who drove us both there and back). As the hotel is new, it is obviously in great condition - the day beds and sun loungers are really amazing. Free wifi is a nice touch as well as ipod docking stations in the room. The spa is a really lovely place to spend an hour at the end of the day - the vitality pool and steam room are great. We did have a treatment - which was fabulous, very relaxing with great therapist. Lots of choice at breakfast, and we had room service one evening which was promptly served and of a good quality. Complimentary bus service to the marina was useful for the evening - left at 8.45pm and returned at 11.45pm so good for having a couple of drinks and a meal at one of the many restaurants there. Will definitely return!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank mandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Loved the hotel. Very relaxing. Complimentary bus to Vilamoura several times a day. Drop off at Nikki Beach Club during day and at Tivoli Marina Hotel at night. Please note that sunbeds are not complimentary at Beach Club cost 10 euros each (brolly extra 10 euros). Metered taxi from Vilamoura to hotel 6 euros. Meals expensive at pool bar but drinks reasonable for a 5 star hotel. Walked to golf club round the corner and enjoyed very reasonably priced meals with excellent service from Paulo. Dish of the day plus drink plus dessert 11 euros.
Spa quite nice.Had a 2 hour facial/massage with Yani for 96 euros (normally 120 euros but 20% discount offer on at present) which was excellent. The pool area was gorgeous with very comfy sun beds but lots of young children!!!!! Definitely will return.
Booked a pickup at airport with bookalgarvetransfer.com. Lovely lady called Kim (originally from Huddersfield) was waiting for us. No payment required until dropped off at hotel. Spot on time for return journey to airport. Highly recommended!!!!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gellroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,051 reviews
1.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
6.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,548 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort

Property: Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Address: Av. dos Descobrimentos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-309, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Debuting Anantara’s authentic luxury in Europe, Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort offers a landmark of quiet prestige, along southern Portugal’s picturesque Algarve coast. Immerse in Vilamoura’s glamour from a tranquil retreat, overlooking the Oceanico Victoria golf course. Revealing a journey of local artistry, the hotel’s sculptures, artwork, paintings and installations create a contemporary Portuguese gallery. Signature luxuries embrace you in spacious rooms, indulgent suites and penthouse prestige. Relax on elegant terraces, refreshed by rolling golf greens and cerulean pools. Feel renewed by spa pampering that draws on healing Algarvian traditions, exploring a unique Ayurvedic philosophy that is exclusive in the region. Drift between five beautiful pools. World-class facilities welcome families with fun dining, creative clubs for kids and teens. Poolside Champagne cabanas refresh relaxation with decadence. Emotive fine dining fuses Portugal’s spice trading discoveries. Al fresco decks romanticise sundowners. Wine Guru journeys swirl stories of local heritage vines. Love and family celebrations are tailored impeccably with Dining by Design. Just moments from golf-side tranquillity, Vilamoura is an energising celebrity enclave of desirable boutiques and glittering nightlife. Sunshine glows on golden beaches. Vilamoura Marina is the place to see, be seen and embark on sailing voyages. The Algarve’s zest flourishes as you explore wineries, olive groves and luminous fleur de sel fields. Time spent at the golf club on our doorstep, and over 30 nearby courses, is seamlessly arranged by our Golf Guru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Victoria Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing