We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at an affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2009

As a regular visitor to The Algarve I have stayed in several 5 star hotels over the past 15 years and this year we decided on The Tivoli Victoria after reading many of the very positive reviews of this fine hotel. Myself & my partner arrived in Faro at 9.00am and the trasfer to the hotel took approx 20 minutes. Our room was made available to us at 1.00pm but the full facilities of the hotel were put at our disposal in the intervening period. This hotel officially opened in June and it is a true 5 star hotel in evry respect. The public areas of the hotel are magnificent and our room was truely stunning. The breakfast buffet was as good as any other hotel I have stayed in and whether you ate at 7.30am or 10.30am the food was of the same high quality and plenty of it. The hotel boasts an excellent gourmet restaurant which although pricey is still excellent value with top class service. Their spa provided by the Banyan Tree is a wonderful facility to have. I have noted that a previous reviewer complained that the staff were "very rude". I can honestly say that nothing could be further from the truth and I wondered if we were staying in the same hotel. I found all the staff to be extremely courteous at all times and nothing was too much trouble for them. When i had a problem with the free wi fi in our room it was rectified immeadiately. They also spoke excellent english though we always make an effort to speak a little portugese. If there is a slight drawback it would be that the hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the marina at Vilamoura and the rental of a car would be a valuable addition to your holiday. Finally the hotel are quoting very competitive rates at the moment and now if definitely the time to visit this very fine hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wigeonbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,591 - 2,597 of 3,446 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2009

As a family of 2 adults & 3 teenage girls we deliberated over our choice of hotel right up to the last minute before finally booking the Tivoli Victoria. Our main concern was the siting of the hotel which is tucked out of the way & a short bus transfer from Vilamoura. On arrival we were greeted by an impressive sight of an ultra modern hotel spread over 2 floors. As early arrivals our room was not ready, the friendly receptionist advised us to view the hotel then come back and change in the gym and relax.
The hotel grounds are truly stunning, clean & well manicured. The sun beds are pure luxury. The main pool area is fantastic if a little overcrowded but the second pool located in the gardens is an undiscovered treasure. On many occassions we were the only people at the pool area. This pool is better placed to enjoy the sun although slightly removed from bar facilities.
On 3 occassions we ate in the restaurant, once as a buffet and twice a la carte. The food was first class and fairly priced considering the quality. Breakfast is very good with the usual continental style fayre along with a traditional fry. Eggs are cooked freshly upon request and very good.
Vilamoura has a number of places to eat which all seem to be quite good, some are perhaps a litle too similar to benidorm english style bars. We ate in a Chineese restaurant on one occassion which is on the marina and closest to Tivoli Marina. The food far surpasses anything in Soho or any other London restaurant, once again slightly expensive but very good. The golf club bar offers very good and cheap food but is not part of the hotel
On the down side the hotel is very quite and it is hard to know where everyone dissapears to in the evenings. We used the complimentary bus service and that too was empty ??? Drinks are expensive and those that were on the bus returned with clinking bags .
One slight problem is the smelll of the pillows, We thought that it may be the down but it does smell quite strongly of sewage. Bring a fabric spray. The rooms and bathrooms are amazingly clean and attended to twice each day with fresh towels. Each room has a sliding wall system to the bathrooms which is very modern but not very private if you are bashful
Finally, as this hotel is new it appears to be attracting residents with very competetive rates and I feel that this will creep up year on year.
Dont miss out

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankijr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I arrived to this hotel with high expectations. All reviews, the amenities, the spa: everything was leading to a wonderful week.
During my stay, on my third night between 7.pm and 11.00 pm someone stole my Blackberry from inside my bag, kept inside the wardrobe. Nothing else was stolen as it was inside the room vault.
Hotel administration completely declined responsibility and no compensation was offered.
It completely ruined the rest of my stay and cause immense anguish.
My recommendation: it's not safe! I recommend to avoid it until they can ensure guest safety.
On check out I wrote a complain in the hotel's complain book, but do not expect any result from it.
Tip: if you ever are displeased from an hotel service in Portugal always ask for the complain book. Keep a copy of the complain. It's mandatory by law to provide it and the National Tourism Board can take actions if in case it get several complains from the same place.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
11  Thank ILikeThisOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, Owner at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2009

When first reported the occurrence, the guest was informed that the hotel would enquire its staff about the alleged dissapearing of the Blackberry and presented apologies

It is common practice and known worldwide that hotels do not take responsibility over belongings not deposited or not handed to the responsibility of its teams. At Tivoli Victoria, all guests have private, in-room, free-of-charge safe-deposit boxes.

Nothing was found or seen in the enquiry we led. The staff cleaning this specific room has been at Tivoli Victoria since the very beginning of the hotel. The housekeeping team, as all other teams in the hotel, has been trustworthy. This was reported back to the guest in a warm and comprehensive fashion.

We are glad to note that the hotel in itself and its highly rated services were not (nr 1 or 2 in its competitive set and the country's top rated 5 star property in Trip Advisor), fortunately, a target of this guest and assure that Tivoli Victoria is as safe as any other international five star deluxe property may be.

We also state that management handles all guest related issues (including security issues) in a prioritary and dedicated manner, with or without formal complaints in the Complaints book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel to get away for a few days and completely relax, we definitely achieved this but there is certainly room for improvement. The actual hotel and grounds are fantastic, the hotel is brand new and if tis review was purely based on the actual property then we would be rating it "Excellent". It was a real shame that this was all let down by the lack of service we felt we received from the majority of staff which felt more like 3 star to us.

We found many of the staff rude and unhelpful on more than one occasion which was a shame because a few really did make an effort. One thing we also noticed was that quite a few of the staff did not speak particularly good English and I think that probably added to the break down in communication and therefore lack of service. Other things we wouldn’t expect from a 5 star hotel included being given a twin room when we booked a double (due to the hotel being full booked), no towels available around the pool or in the Spa on three different days/occasions, half used drinks left in the minibar and waiting 30 mins for staff to bring our bags up from reception. The hotel also failed to mention that the adjoining golf club has a restaurant which we found out about from other guests, the food, prices and staff are exceptional there. The complete lack of live evening entertainment was also disappointing, each evening the hotel felt empty and very quiet even though it was fully booked.

On the positive side the property itself is fantastic. The views from the hotel over the Golf course are amazing, the loungers by the pool are extremely comfortable and the two restaurants offer a good standard of food. Although our room was different to what we booked it was exceptionally clean and modern and had an amazing shower, view and double lounger on the balcony.

The location was fine for us because we didn’t need to leave the hotel but if you want to visit the marina for a change of food/entertainment be warned that the shuttle bus from the hotel is very restrictive on times. We stayed at the Hilton in Vilamoura last year and they ran a constant evening shuttle to and from the Marina.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5star-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We recently stayed for a week at the Tivoli, Victoria in Villamoura. 2 adults and one child, aged 3 years. Accommodation and amenities were first class. Excellent buffet style breakfast served until 11am. Pool and play areas very clean and well presented. Kids club also on site which the kids loved !! Only 30 mins transfer from Faro Airport and 2km from Villamoura Marina. Variety of golf courses to choose from. Small gym but very adequate. Spa must not be missed !! We will definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GlasgowCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed for a week in the Tivoli Victoria...as people not used to 5 star luxury - we weren't disappointed! The food was amazing (I have never seen so much choice for breakfast!) the pool was lovely and the service was outstanding. The staff couldn't hepl enough and spoke excellent English. My partner is wheelchair dependent; I would thoroughly suggest this hotel to anyone with mobility issues - the room we booked was spacious and well thought out - and there were lifts / ramps to all parts of the hotel. We had to hire a car as the complimentary transport was not accessible to us - so I would suggest this to anyone going who has mobility difficulties. No shops in the hotel to buy water / paper etc, but I think they are looking to put one in...definitely woth a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank icklemiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Just returned from the stunning Tivoli Victoria. Stayed 5 nights booked last minute and we were sold on it by the previous reviews and photo's. The hotel fully lives up to it's 5 stars, in terms of it's styish surroundings, the quality of the fixtures & fittings, cleanliness and service levels. If you are looking for comfort, relaxing position and just outside the lovely resort of Vilamoura, I would suggest you will struggle to find anything better.

The staff are very welcoming on arrival, we arrived early and our room was not ready. A porter showed us where to leave our things and where the pool changing rooms/showers were located and within 20 minutes we were soaking up the sun. The rooms are very spacious and modern with quite a large balcony. The grounds are so well kept, probably would expect this from a new 5 star, but still impressive. Great position overlooking the golf course and out to sea. Four pools, including a baby pool, plenty of sun loungers.....actually more like beds. The pool on it's own away from the main building is fantastic and many times we had it to ourselves. Very impressed with the restaurant, standard of food very high, from breakfast with a great choice of juices, cereals, pastries, bread, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast etc. In the evening used the buffet service twice, superb food, 18 euros for three courses and a good selection. (You will easily spend more than this in some of the restauants in the beautiful Marina in Vilamoura). The waiting staff are excellent, can't do enough for you, and all the staff are very polite and courteous at all times.

The hotel provides a courtesy bus into Vilamoura, where you can buy bottled water, drinks etc., and keep in the mini-bar, only 10 minutes and saves you on taxi fares and higher hotel prices which you would expect from a 5 star. We didn't need a taxi once and one couple we spoke to said they waited nearly an hour one evening for a taxi! As previous reviews mention only one run in the evening, out at 8.45pm returning 11.45pm, but no problem for us.

All in all a great relaxing trip in a modern first class hotel, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elainechamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,294 reviews
1.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
783 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
6.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort

Address: Av. dos Descobrimentos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-309, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £133 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Debuting Anantara’s authentic luxury in Europe, Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort offers a landmark of quiet prestige, along southern Portugal’s picturesque Algarve coast. Immerse in Vilamoura’s glamour from a tranquil retreat, overlooking the Oceanico Victoria golf course. Revealing a journey of local artistry, the hotel’s sculptures, artwork, paintings and installations create a contemporary Portuguese gallery. Signature luxuries embrace you in spacious rooms, indulgent suites and penthouse prestige. Relax on elegant terraces, refreshed by rolling golf greens and cerulean pools. Feel renewed by spa pampering that draws on healing Algarvian traditions, exploring a unique Ayurvedic philosophy that is exclusive in the region. Drift between five beautiful pools. World-class facilities welcome families with fun dining, creative clubs for kids and teens. Poolside Champagne cabanas refresh relaxation with decadence. Emotive fine dining fuses Portugal’s spice trading discoveries. Al fresco decks romanticise sundowners. Wine Guru journeys swirl stories of local heritage vines. Love and family celebrations are tailored impeccably with Dining by Design. Just moments from golf-side tranquillity, Vilamoura is an energising celebrity enclave of desirable boutiques and glittering nightlife. Sunshine glows on golden beaches. Vilamoura Marina is the place to see, be seen and embark on sailing voyages. The Algarve’s zest flourishes as you explore wineries, olive groves and luminous fleur de sel fields. Time spent at the golf club on our doorstep, and over 30 nearby courses, is seamlessly arranged by our Golf Guru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Victoria Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing