We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute luxury - Will definately go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We have just got back from a wonderful week at the Tivoli Victoria. The hotel is a bit out of the way and quiet but this was perfect for us. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The pool was wonderful - lots of lounger space, towels provided and very helpful poolside staff.
The spa is amazing - it's worth budgeting for a massage as it was unbelievable luxury - they don't come cheap, but was the most relaxing 1 hour 30 minutes I have ever spent!
The golf in the area is perhaps not as pricey as you would imagine, so if you're a keen golfer, it's woth packing your clubs.
We hired a car which was invaluable, as we could then drive to the marina for dinner each night and not have to deal with the transfer bus, which runs very infrequently. The marina restaurants are very expensive and generally not worth the money. However, if you head 300 metres inland from the marina, up the steps past the Guinness irish bar, you will find another area of restaurants; these are much cheaper and much better food.
We were told at hotel that we could use the "private beach" at the sister hotel, the Tivoli Marina - don't bother. The beach is not private at all, 2 loungers and an umbrella cost 30 euros to hire, and Falesia beach is 100 times nicer.
We did have one complaint with the hotel - one day we came back from the beach and the room had been cleaned. I went to pick up a bottle of medicine from the side and found that it had been broken and left on the side, causing me to cut myself. We complained at reception and the receptionist stated that the maid had reported that it was broken when she got there. We said that was simply not true but that was the end of the conversation - the receptionist would not take it any further and left us very frustrated and annoyed.
But, all in all, we had a fantastic holiday here. If you want a holiday where you can completely relax in luxury, this is the place for you. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgm2Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,605 - 2,611 of 3,471 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2009

Just back from 7 days R&R in the Tivoli Victoria booked through Cassidy Golf in Dublin, only for them this gem would have completely missed our radar.

On the plus side it is of course a brand new hotel, excellent quality fit out and facilities, very clean, lovely grounds, superb buffet breakfast, friendly staff, super comfortable beds and bedrooms, very relaxing environment, plenty of areas to escape to, provides a free shuttle bus service to and from Vilamoura and right in the middle of the Arnold Palmer designed Victoria Golf Club which provides free use of the practise area to hotel residents.

On the negative side (which no doubt will improve in time) we found the dinner menu very limited in the Emo restaurant, lovely ambience but some of the staff are clearly not at 5 star standard. We also found the pool bar snacks (sandwiches etc) very expensive.

At the time of staying the underground access route to the Victoria Golf Club was not open which did not bother us but I am sure others would be disappointed.

Found the Fitness Suite to be lacking of some basic equipment, ie. dumbells / weights, swiss balls, mats, otherwise well fitted out.

It is also a terrible shame that so many cars are allowed park either side of the entrance, I have no doubts there is ample car parking below ground which should be encouraged / insisted upon.

Finally from a practical point of view the interior design team have a great deal to answer for when they choose white material for the sun loungers which from a practical point of view will be ruined very quickly.

Would we recommend the Tivoli Victoria - 'Yes we would' and hope to repeat the experience again.

Howard Kent

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howardkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Just back from a weeks holiday at the Victoria. I agree with sum of the comments but i would not let these put me off staying here if you can get a good deal. the restaurants are very good and compare favourably in costs with those at the marina. Both are A La Carte in the evening. The rooms are excellent and very modern. Great expresso machine but you do get charged for using it in your room! Plenty of beds by the pools at the moment. I understand that the hotel was very busy during July & August but is much quieter now. It attracts guests from all over Europe includng Portugal so a lot of people staying there had cars and i think they went out in the evenings. The only restaurant nearby is in the golf course but as it closes at 8pm is of limited use at night. i think they need to sort out what meals they offer at lunch times. the pool bar is expensive and no one was clear whether the restaurant downstairs was open or not at lunch time. I think they would get a lot of business if they offered a better choice at lunch times. Obviously they also need to sort out the times of the shuttle to the marina which are inadequate at the moment. However if you want a quiet holiday in luxurious surroundings with good food then you cannot do better. We also found the staff extremely helpful and friendly and they all spoke excellent English (and other languages) However the staff who service the rooms were not fluent in any language but their own . As i cannot speak any other language but English I am always grateful when people overseas can understand me!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotconnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

As a regular visitor to The Algarve I have stayed in several 5 star hotels over the past 15 years and this year we decided on The Tivoli Victoria after reading many of the very positive reviews of this fine hotel. Myself & my partner arrived in Faro at 9.00am and the trasfer to the hotel took approx 20 minutes. Our room was made available to us at 1.00pm but the full facilities of the hotel were put at our disposal in the intervening period. This hotel officially opened in June and it is a true 5 star hotel in evry respect. The public areas of the hotel are magnificent and our room was truely stunning. The breakfast buffet was as good as any other hotel I have stayed in and whether you ate at 7.30am or 10.30am the food was of the same high quality and plenty of it. The hotel boasts an excellent gourmet restaurant which although pricey is still excellent value with top class service. Their spa provided by the Banyan Tree is a wonderful facility to have. I have noted that a previous reviewer complained that the staff were "very rude". I can honestly say that nothing could be further from the truth and I wondered if we were staying in the same hotel. I found all the staff to be extremely courteous at all times and nothing was too much trouble for them. When i had a problem with the free wi fi in our room it was rectified immeadiately. They also spoke excellent english though we always make an effort to speak a little portugese. If there is a slight drawback it would be that the hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the marina at Vilamoura and the rental of a car would be a valuable addition to your holiday. Finally the hotel are quoting very competitive rates at the moment and now if definitely the time to visit this very fine hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wigeonbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

As a family of 2 adults & 3 teenage girls we deliberated over our choice of hotel right up to the last minute before finally booking the Tivoli Victoria. Our main concern was the siting of the hotel which is tucked out of the way & a short bus transfer from Vilamoura. On arrival we were greeted by an impressive sight of an ultra modern hotel spread over 2 floors. As early arrivals our room was not ready, the friendly receptionist advised us to view the hotel then come back and change in the gym and relax.
The hotel grounds are truly stunning, clean & well manicured. The sun beds are pure luxury. The main pool area is fantastic if a little overcrowded but the second pool located in the gardens is an undiscovered treasure. On many occassions we were the only people at the pool area. This pool is better placed to enjoy the sun although slightly removed from bar facilities.
On 3 occassions we ate in the restaurant, once as a buffet and twice a la carte. The food was first class and fairly priced considering the quality. Breakfast is very good with the usual continental style fayre along with a traditional fry. Eggs are cooked freshly upon request and very good.
Vilamoura has a number of places to eat which all seem to be quite good, some are perhaps a litle too similar to benidorm english style bars. We ate in a Chineese restaurant on one occassion which is on the marina and closest to Tivoli Marina. The food far surpasses anything in Soho or any other London restaurant, once again slightly expensive but very good. The golf club bar offers very good and cheap food but is not part of the hotel
On the down side the hotel is very quite and it is hard to know where everyone dissapears to in the evenings. We used the complimentary bus service and that too was empty ??? Drinks are expensive and those that were on the bus returned with clinking bags .
One slight problem is the smelll of the pillows, We thought that it may be the down but it does smell quite strongly of sewage. Bring a fabric spray. The rooms and bathrooms are amazingly clean and attended to twice each day with fresh towels. Each room has a sliding wall system to the bathrooms which is very modern but not very private if you are bashful
Finally, as this hotel is new it appears to be attracting residents with very competetive rates and I feel that this will creep up year on year.
Dont miss out

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankijr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I arrived to this hotel with high expectations. All reviews, the amenities, the spa: everything was leading to a wonderful week.
During my stay, on my third night between 7.pm and 11.00 pm someone stole my Blackberry from inside my bag, kept inside the wardrobe. Nothing else was stolen as it was inside the room vault.
Hotel administration completely declined responsibility and no compensation was offered.
It completely ruined the rest of my stay and cause immense anguish.
My recommendation: it's not safe! I recommend to avoid it until they can ensure guest safety.
On check out I wrote a complain in the hotel's complain book, but do not expect any result from it.
Tip: if you ever are displeased from an hotel service in Portugal always ask for the complain book. Keep a copy of the complain. It's mandatory by law to provide it and the National Tourism Board can take actions if in case it get several complains from the same place.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
11  Thank ILikeThisOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, Owner at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2009

When first reported the occurrence, the guest was informed that the hotel would enquire its staff about the alleged dissapearing of the Blackberry and presented apologies

It is common practice and known worldwide that hotels do not take responsibility over belongings not deposited or not handed to the responsibility of its teams. At Tivoli Victoria, all guests have private, in-room, free-of-charge safe-deposit boxes.

Nothing was found or seen in the enquiry we led. The staff cleaning this specific room has been at Tivoli Victoria since the very beginning of the hotel. The housekeeping team, as all other teams in the hotel, has been trustworthy. This was reported back to the guest in a warm and comprehensive fashion.

We are glad to note that the hotel in itself and its highly rated services were not (nr 1 or 2 in its competitive set and the country's top rated 5 star property in Trip Advisor), fortunately, a target of this guest and assure that Tivoli Victoria is as safe as any other international five star deluxe property may be.

We also state that management handles all guest related issues (including security issues) in a prioritary and dedicated manner, with or without formal complaints in the Complaints book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel to get away for a few days and completely relax, we definitely achieved this but there is certainly room for improvement. The actual hotel and grounds are fantastic, the hotel is brand new and if tis review was purely based on the actual property then we would be rating it "Excellent". It was a real shame that this was all let down by the lack of service we felt we received from the majority of staff which felt more like 3 star to us.

We found many of the staff rude and unhelpful on more than one occasion which was a shame because a few really did make an effort. One thing we also noticed was that quite a few of the staff did not speak particularly good English and I think that probably added to the break down in communication and therefore lack of service. Other things we wouldn’t expect from a 5 star hotel included being given a twin room when we booked a double (due to the hotel being full booked), no towels available around the pool or in the Spa on three different days/occasions, half used drinks left in the minibar and waiting 30 mins for staff to bring our bags up from reception. The hotel also failed to mention that the adjoining golf club has a restaurant which we found out about from other guests, the food, prices and staff are exceptional there. The complete lack of live evening entertainment was also disappointing, each evening the hotel felt empty and very quiet even though it was fully booked.

On the positive side the property itself is fantastic. The views from the hotel over the Golf course are amazing, the loungers by the pool are extremely comfortable and the two restaurants offer a good standard of food. Although our room was different to what we booked it was exceptionally clean and modern and had an amazing shower, view and double lounger on the balcony.

The location was fine for us because we didn’t need to leave the hotel but if you want to visit the marina for a change of food/entertainment be warned that the shuttle bus from the hotel is very restrictive on times. We stayed at the Hilton in Vilamoura last year and they ran a constant evening shuttle to and from the Marina.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5star-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
802 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,703 reviews
1.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort

Address: Av. dos Descobrimentos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-309, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £96 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Debuting Anantara’s authentic luxury in Europe, Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort offers a landmark of quiet prestige, along southern Portugal’s picturesque Algarve coast. Immerse in Vilamoura’s glamour from a tranquil retreat, overlooking the Oceanico Victoria golf course. Revealing a journey of local artistry, the hotel’s sculptures, artwork, paintings and installations create a contemporary Portuguese gallery. Signature luxuries embrace you in spacious rooms, indulgent suites and penthouse prestige. Relax on elegant terraces, refreshed by rolling golf greens and cerulean pools. Feel renewed by spa pampering that draws on healing Algarvian traditions, exploring a unique Ayurvedic philosophy that is exclusive in the region. Drift between five beautiful pools. World-class facilities welcome families with fun dining, creative clubs for kids and teens. Poolside Champagne cabanas refresh relaxation with decadence. Emotive fine dining fuses Portugal’s spice trading discoveries. Al fresco decks romanticise sundowners. Wine Guru journeys swirl stories of local heritage vines. Love and family celebrations are tailored impeccably with Dining by Design. Just moments from golf-side tranquillity, Vilamoura is an energising celebrity enclave of desirable boutiques and glittering nightlife. Sunshine glows on golden beaches. Vilamoura Marina is the place to see, be seen and embark on sailing voyages. The Algarve’s zest flourishes as you explore wineries, olive groves and luminous fleur de sel fields. Time spent at the golf club on our doorstep, and over 30 nearby courses, is seamlessly arranged by our Golf Guru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Victoria Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing