We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALGAMAR APARTMENTS, VILAMOURA”
Review of Algamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algamar
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ALGAMAR APARTMENTS, VILAMOURA”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just returned from the Algamar Apartments in Vilamoura. Good budget accommodation decorated in typical Portuguese style. Large lounge with well equipped kitchenette (electric cooker with 4 rings and oven, large fridge freezer, washing machine, microwave, toaster and kettle). Separate large bedroom. Large bathroom with bath and shower. Balcony with table and chairs overlooking pool area. No air conditioning. These apartments are well situated in a quiet area but still only a five minute walk to the Marina.

Apartment was supposed to be cleaned and towels changed twice a week, we didn't see anyone in the 8 days we were there, for us that wasn't a problem as we put our towels in the washing machine and kept the place clean.

Key pick-up is at the agency just across the road and if you have any queries the agency receptionist was very helpful she even went online to confirm our taxi to airport. If you arrive after 7pm when the office is closed make sure you get a phone number to contact them and someone will meet you at the apartments.

A word of warning regarding the lift.....

It will only take 2 people going up - with small suitcases. When we arrived we got stuck but thankfully the guy who met us with the key was still there and he told us to go to -0 and get out there and walk up (not good when your on the 3rd floor). We took no chances after that and only 1 person went up at a time but 3 were able to come down.

Supermarket - turn right from apartments and walk approx 5 minutes-opposite the entrance to the Marina.

Eating out - food generally of a high standard.

Beach - 10 minute walk away.

I would say the Algamar wouldn't be particularly suitable for children as there isn't a kids pool or park, so really nothing to keep them amused.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

A bit tired, but these apartments offer great value for money when the golf and drink are draining the budget. Access all the middle of town, Marina and Casino without having to get in a another taxi after a hard day on the Golf Course. Not the place I would take my wife or kids, but if I'm golfing, they are not there. Check in was tricky but it is just up the road on the opposite side.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagnersEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

booked these apts for golfing hol's with the lads.
we herd many reports of this apartment block and thought we had done a wronga. and was "not too sure"
well for the price and location i would most definatley return 100%.
it is a bit troublesome to find but that was due to the rush we were in.(to get a beer}
there are a few teething prob's which we encounted the corridoors are not light at night, you have to push a switch then you have say 3 mins to find the next switch or your door.
the other was the lift 2 of the lads got stuck in it between floors,however the engineer was there within half an hour or so . not to good if your nervous i know.lift is a moveing wall type so be carefull ie no internal door.
the locatiion on the map is incorrect so if your going you go around the one way system,past the casino on the right then dom perdro golf hotel,you should see the caddy shack bar on the left then a drive thru still on the left a gift shop resturant the hairdressers the next glass doors are the algamar. the keys are picked up from the estate agents on the opposite side right at the end of the parrade of shops. if the are not there to to opening hours as we found they found us excellent, not sure this would happen all the time mind . recomend the irish bar cafe next to the caddy shack bar for brekie full english or full irish stunning.the rooms them selves were very clean full of all appliences home from home lovely.

Room Tip: room 303 was more entertaining than the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamondclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

algamar apartments are great value for money quiet and comfotable ask for pool view we were only people in pool all week it is a two star and thats what you get a clean place to sleep cleaners graet garvetuer are closed over lunch so if you arrive then you can organise before to colect key very kind people, basic apartments but i have been going to villamoura for years now and stayed in varios accomodation from 4 star hotels and these wee apartments are not any worse than them you will not beat these for comfort , location is fab and the value will not be beaten would recommend any one to go
i have reviewd sleep quality with a 3 only as fans supplied instead of air conditioning

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joules212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Me and my best mate booked our holiday through TeletextHolidays online. What we thought we had booked was a 4*, recently renovated self catering apartment in the heart of Albufeira. However what we got was a 3* not so recently renovated apartment in the middle of Vilamoura. When I originally called up the holiday advisor (Qwerty Travel) to confirm my booking, the nice chap on the end of the phone told me that we would be heading off to these luxury apartments in Albufeira. So when my friend and I landed (after a 2 hour delay) we discovered that our apartment was actually in Vilamoura and that was only after we spent 15 minutes trying to tell the transfers driver that we wanted to go to Algamar Apartments, not Alfamar! We set off at midnight for a 25 minute drive to Vilamoura and spent another hour and a half searching for our apartments as the transfers guy had no idea where it was. After a lot of shouting of the apartment name and a quick attempt to drop us at the wrong hotel, our apartments were discovered by one of the other English passengers on the coach as we drove past. So at 2 in the morning we finally arrived at our apartment. The apartment itself was clean enough (although during the week we did have a minor ant and wiggly bug infestation) and the maids came in everyday to tidy up and change the sheets and towels. We had a pool facing balcony with a little table and chairs and a lovely little kitchen. The pool was always clean and cool. At night and during the day you could hear the banging and drilling of construction work nearby but it wasn't unbearable. And about a 5 minute walk around the corner was the Vilamoura Marina, which was full of good bars and restaurants and plenty of shops.
Despite all the things that went wrong my friend and I had a fantastic holiday and we were overall pleased with the apartments.
The only advice I would give to those planning a holiday at the Algamar Apartments is: get a taxi to the apartment from the airport and keep an eye out for the Casino, as it is just round the corner from Algamar.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi0345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I'm sorry to rate this accommodation so poorly, but we were so shocked at the state of the place, we just wanted to let people know that it is not advisable to stay here in December (if at any time of the year).

The weather, I know is not guaranteed, but if your accommodation is comfortable, you can still relax and enjoy your stay away from home.

The clue as to how bad the accommodation was going to be, was that our taxi transfer driver did not know where it was - we had to get out of the taxi with our suitacases in the rain and look for the booking office. Having found a local behind some locked gates, he pointed in the direction of the local estate agents. We was then escorted accross the road by a travel agent whom was talking on the telephone and laughing intermittently, and then shown to our room (we had to be quick because the lights were on timer and once they go out, it is completely pitch black)

The Algamar is a self-catering accommodation. Upon entering our room, the first thing that hit me was the smell of mustiness, the staines on the floor tiles, the army camp type twin beds (it was supposed to be a double room) and the black spores all over the radiator's! This should have been the moment we turn to the estate agent and request she find us alternate accommodation, but we didn't - our mistake!

The cooker and the fridge, not to mention most of the cooking area was covered in grease and grime and the smell was terrible. Our view from the patio doors in which incidently was supposed to be the harbour encompassing boats and fishing restaurants, was in fact a dirty, horrible swimming pool full of debris and filthy deck chairs, surrounded by accommodation for the locals and no sign of the sea! Much to our disappointment, we decided to look for alternative accomodation ourselves in which was the Dom Pedro Hotel a few hundred yards away. This incidently was quite reasonable, although the restaurant in the hotel was not open, so we had to go to a neighbouring hotel for something to eat!

To finalise this experience, we decided to leave Portugal the next day on account of everything being shut and the only attraction open was the Casino!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyBeeBuzzBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algamar

Property: Algamar
Address: Avenida Tivoli, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-410, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Algamar 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Algamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algamar Hotel Vilamoura
Algamar Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing