We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, well run.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilamoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terracos do Mar Hotel
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place, well run.”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed in a two-bedroom apartment.

The first thing I'd say is that the place was exactly as the photos. There was no making it look prettier, so we were very happy with the place.

Good points:
1. Excellent service from company that run it
2. Spacious
3. Air conditioned
4. Nice (quiet) pool area

Not so good (but not bad) points:
1. A little further out that we would have liked, although be be fair, we did know this before we went and it did take 15 minutes to get to the marina as we were told. The bar across from the villa was great too and we got to know the owner quickly who even stayed open later than usual for us! Go there for food too - was very good Portuguese food.
2. It says air conditionning in all rooms, whereas one of the rooms only had a fan. Not a big deal in September.
3. No balcony or terasse

I would stay here again, and I would recommend it providing you don't mind walking 15 minutes to get into town.

I would like to say a big thank you to Dorothy who was great. We left a wallet in the villa but they called us, told us they found it, and posted it back. There aren't many places like that left in this part of the world these days!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed for a week in a 1 bed private apartment - should definitely have been a studio and the bedroom made into a terrace - really disappointed that there was no private outside space. What a waste and bad planning of the accommodation. The apartment was more like a corridor - with the bedroom at the far end (what should have been the terrace) with the only window in the apartment so lounge and kitchen area very dark and dismal. All together Vilamoura was a wonderful place to stay but the accommodation let it down, badly - too far to walk to marina, no amenities on site (no shop, no reception, no bus stop, nothing in fact!). Yes it was quiet, but that was because it was too far away from anything. Pay a bit extra and stay nearer the centre.

Room Tip: Stay nearer the centre of Vilamoura and if you want any facilities, dont go to this complex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Went to Terracos Do Mar, stayed in two bed apartment. Apartment was lovely and very well equipped. The only down side was it had no patio area of its own. We booked through Clever details; they gave an excellent service very helpful etc. I would not hesitate to recommend both Clever details or Terracos do Mar.

I went with Teenagers that found Vilamoura a bit 'boring'. I would say that Vilamoura would suit older couples more!

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

we have just returned from an excellent holiday in the teraccos do mar and i must say we had great time the appartment we rented was lovely spacious and modern it was a privately owned appt we dont usually go for independant travell this was our first time we usually go for the package holiday but i must say i will be definetly be doing this agian the appt wasnt your basic facilities it was fully equiped it even had a wide screen t.v with english t.v just like being home from home it was also on the ground floor with no stairs it was overlooking the pool and you can watch your children play in the pool it had beutiful lawn gardens which were well maintained. we booked it through owners direct and i just want ot say thankyou to pam the owner for a great holiday i will definetly be booking with her again.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor overlooking the pool as some of the appts were not overlooking the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The complex of a traditional Portuguise build, all white washed, the gardens and pool areas are always well maintained, it can be a quiet place to stay at different time of the year, I have stayed here different times of the year, March, May, August, September in different years, just love the area, and its only a short 15mins walk to the marina. Lots of trips to different places can be arranged like day trips to Seville, Lisbon, also half day and full day tours to different places within the Algarve. Best time to visit for good weather is between the months of late March through to mid October, thats based on my experience of being there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamthewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Old Village Apartments
The Old Village Apartments
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,971 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hostel Victoria Vilamoura
#18 of 33 in Vilamoura
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terracos do Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terracos do Mar Hotel

Property: Terracos do Mar Hotel
Address: Rua Melvin Jones, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-502, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Terracos Do Mar Hotel Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing