We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed really”
Review of Praia Village

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilamoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Praia Village
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I am not usually the one to write reviews, prefer to read them but felt I should comment on our visit to Praia Village. We were a mixed age group however I felt the holiday didn't quite work for any of us. The teenagers were to young to do the very long walk to the marina on their own or down the lonely road to the beach. The grandparents (not aged) were driven mad by the constant baby cries from virtually every apartment (sound proofing is dreadful here) and the four adults were disappointed by the size of the balcony and pool area - which is far to small considering how many apartments use it. The adjacent apartment blocks seemed very quiet and relaxed compared to Praia Village. Marina excellent - great places to eat and drink - just a shame it was so far away from the apartment. Golf in this region is also very pricey. but the courses are very good. I feel we were mislead by the literature which had we known the reality we would not have booked.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jennyomalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2010

Me, my boyfriend and another couple stayed in these apartments in June 2009. We travelled out of peak season so the apartments were relatively quite, mainly occupied by families. Firstly the apartment that we stayed in was privately owned and we rented it for a week via holidayrentals.co.uk. The apartment was very reasonably priced and the owner who I communicated with by email was very helpful and transferring money over was simple too.
Now to the apartment itself. We were greeted on arrival by a lovely English woman (Karen, if I remember rightly). She gave us the keys and showed us to the apartment. The apartment was very spacious. Huge living/eating area, with sky TV. Lovely balcony backing onto the pool which was nice. The kitchen was tremendous, lots of cooking utensils. Dishwasher, cooker everything you could possibly need, practically a home from home.
The location of the apartment was in a quiet area and a 10 - 15 minute walk from the town and the beach - although this did feel very long in the middle of the day when walking to the beach. A 5 minute walk in the opposite direction of Vilamoura town brings you to a small complex that houses shops, a couple of bars and a restaurant.
We went to the ZooMarine and one of the many waterparks during our trip which i would definitely recommend. We also took a trip to Albufeira for a night out which was fab. Cheaper drinks than in Vilamoura and better suited to a younger audience, with loads of bars. Vilamoura didn't have many bars, more restaurants and they can be quite pricey.
All in all a fab holiday, would definitely recommend Praia Village!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harri8138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We recently stayed at Praia Village with one other family. Both apartments were clean and welcoming. Our biggest problem was security. Inside the apartment the owner had instructions everywhere with regard to shutters being closed etc however on our same landing one apartment had shutters smashed which no one seemed to be doing anything about. It did make us very uneasy and nervous to leave the place at night. That been said Vilamoura is a fabulous place with loads of good bars and restaurants. Not sure how well the pool would work in the summer as it is a very small area with quite a lot of apartments. We may think twice about returning to this particular place but enjoyed our holiday overall.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CatherineBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Just returned from Praia Village today. What a fantastic place. The apartments are fabulous. The best i have ever stayed in by far. we were in 2 bed on first floor. Master bed en-suite and gorgeous family bathroom.Fully air conditioned and all mod cons. Absolutely spotless. Couldn't fault it if i tried and i'm known to be very fussy.
Really homely place. I would go back tomorrow if i could and fully intend to go again.
Plenty of taxis and only 10 to 15 min walk to amazing marina which is full of fab restaurants.
well worth a visit.

3  Thank loriDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We have recently returned from staying at Praia Village with 3 other couples (all in their 20s). We were lucky enough to stay in the Penthouse, when I say lucky this place was immaculate and we could have not asked for anything more. 3 huge bedrooms all with bathrooms so each couple had thier own space. The balcony which over looks the pool and many a hour was spent on the big sofas soaking up the evening sun while one cooked on the bbq. Not many properties around the harbour are not owned by residents so this place was nearly as close as it gets with about a 10minute walk, the beach was also 10 minute walk. In my opinion you cant compare Vilamoura to Peurto Banus that we visited earlier in the year, Vilamoura is by far the cleaner, safer and more relaxed. The boys played golf twice and were able to walk to both courses. Overall we would highly recommend not only looking inot booking the Penthouse but also visiting Vilamoura.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
Thank chris882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

My husband and I with our 2 boys 10 and 12 have just returned from praia village apartment block. This really is not the best place to spend a holiday. The apartment itself was very nice but its location was dreadful It is in a residential area and you have to walk 15 minutes to get to either beach or marina, passing nicer places to stay on the way! The boys were very bored, ending up kicking footballs and been told off for doing so by other residents as the area around the pool was so tiny. We loved the marina itself and there appears to be some good apartments near the lake hotel which was on the marina and looked very nice. Not sure what sort of people would enjoy this place but not many we spoke to.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank hampsHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Our apartment had been furnished to an exceptionally high standard - better than many 5 star hotels we've previously stayed in: 40" LCD TV, Xbox 360, DVD, well equipped kitchen, whirlpool baths, steam room showers, walk in dressing rooms, air con in all rooms etc.

Our patio area was immense with BBQ area, 8 seater dinning table and a 3 piece rattan suit.

Owner (Karen Driscoll) were very accommodating and helpful.

Complex is located in a very quiet residential area, with nearest supermarket / restaurants 10 mins walk away (or 4 euros in a taxi).

Restaurants in Vilamoura Marina were generally good quality - Mayflower Restaurant was one we particularly liked.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tartandevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0 mi away
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
0 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Village

Address: Vilamoura, Quarteira, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Vilamoura
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Praia Village Hotel Vilamoura
Praia Village Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing