We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Thank you Staff for a wonderful holiday!'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Having booked this trip 6 months ago we were a little perturbed, after reading some reviews, that we may have been disappointed but no way - everything was great from the moment we arrived and was booked in by Christina. She remembered that she had spoken to our daughter, who made the booking for us as a gift, and was very friendly, professional and our check-in went like clockwork.
Our room was delightful with a lovely view and the largest balcony that we have ever seen in any hotel/cruise ship that we have stayed in around the world. We were housed on the 11th Floor, Casino side, where we had the sun in the afternoon and faced sunset. Yes - there was a little noise on Friday and Saturday evening/early hours of the morning but nothing that took the shine from the lovely views of the coast and Marina in the distance. Yes - we did only have one very comfortable chair on the balcony but we straight away moved the wicker armchair and table out and were very, very comfortable. The decor of the rooms is very relaxing and how great to have a fridge that we could use for our own purposes and not just for a sales pitch Mini Bar! Over the years we have stayed in hotels that wouldn't even allow us to keep medication in the fridge. Bathrooms were lovely with lots of mirrors and very well designed - similar to CP in Dubai. Yes - there were no luxury toiletries that one comes to expect from a 5* hotel but as anyone that has widely traveled knows there is a difference between 5* hotels in cities and holiday resorts and also differ from country to country. Many reviews mention the coffee maker - normally rooms do not have tea/coffee facilities and room service is your only means of a hot drink, so this is an extra to most 5* hotels and cheaper than room service! Thanks to TA reviews we took our small travel kettle, that we hadn't used in years, for our early morning cuppa.
We certainly could not fault the staff in any way as we found them very friendly and they went out of their way to help and please. Yes - perhaps they are a little reserved until they get talking to you but they certainly listen and we find this is much better customer relations than being 'in your face'. Just a small point, we had a little problem with our bidet and within 15mins, on a Sunday afternoon, maintenance came to repair it followed by Housekeeping to clean the bathroom again. Now that's service for you!
Can thoroughly recommend the House Wine - at 2.50 euros a glass it is very acceptable. Did not eat in the hotel in the evening as for this type of holiday we like to go and savour the local restaurants and we can certainly recommend a visit to see Tony at 'Concorde' - great guy and good food! Also the little coffee shop just along from the hotel, by the banks, Pao Pao serves an excellent cappuccino and yes.............'the best chocolate cake in the world!!
Apart from the staff - and 'thank you' once again we must say how wonderful it is to stay at a hotel that does not have notices up everywhere saying 'don't do this' and 'don't do that'.
A very lovely, relaxing holiday in a superb location and YES we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JnJBadby_Northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your delightful comments.
It will certainly motivate our team to improve the service and keep up with the good work.
For us is rewarding to know that we fulfill our guest expectations.
We will be waiting for another visit from you at the Crowne Plazaq Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,997 - 2,003 of 2,502 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

Crowne Plaza in Vilamoura is a new hotel and definitely deserves its five star rating. It is a beautiful hotel with a great pool area and easy access to the beach. Rooms are very nice with very comfortable beds and great pillows. Plenty of English TV channels in the room and a good choice of movies but quite expensive at €12 each. The outdoor pool area with big fat beanbags is great. They provide towels in the pool area which is great if you are flying low-cost and don’t want to bring hold luggage. Breakfast is great, a lot of variety and the food is very fresh. Lunch was good and the service was friendly but the food at the pool bar isn’t great and quite expensive. Alcoholic drinks at the hotel are generally a bit expensive, but then it is a top-notch hotel in an exclusive resort so we weren’t all that surprised.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niteshdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear guest,
It is rewarding to find out that we were able to measure up your expectations.
Your review is an asset in order to keep our work to achieve perfection.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

What can I say - "fantastic" sums it up. I like others had read the reviews before I went, but was not put off. On arrival we were met by a delightful member of staff who took care of our luggage. Checking in was done by a lovely young lady, who allocated our room very speedily, and explained how to get there. The luggage arrived moments later, and the porter demonstrated the use of the bathroom blind, lights, safe etc. The room was beautiful and overlooked the pool and the sea.
We found all the staff, from front of house, restaurant and housekeeping, to be very pleasant, helpful and welcoming. Having worked in Hotels for many years I have always found if guests treat you as human beings you are more likely to be pleasant in return! Some guests seem to think it is acceptable to talk down to members of staff - I do not think this is appropriate as they are doing their job to the best of their ability. The restaurant was often busy but again the staff were very attentive and efficient. Food on the buffet table was regularly replenished, hot, and of a high standard.
As for the sunbeds - yes people did reserve them early, but no doubt the same people would have complained if more sunbeds had been sqeezed in - i personally prefered the space between the beds! Anyway the Fatboys were great, so comfortable to sit or lie on, and there were plenty of them.
The Wifi, well dear me its a poor do if you only go on holiday to go on the internet!! There were 3 Mac computers for guests use in the lobby - and ok, you may have to wait a few minutes for your turn, but hey ho thats life.
This Hotel may not be what you would expect from a London 5* hotel - but for a European holiday resort hotel it met my expectations.
We will certainly visit again, and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view rooms were superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHL1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
It is always a pleasure to find out that our team effort is rewarded by our guest comments.
We will keep the good work in order to improve our service standards.
Looking forward to have you once more with us at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I have just returned from 9 nights staying at the Crowne Plaza, Vilamoura and have had the most wonderful time. I had read a number of reviews before I left but once I arrived I realised there was nothing to be concerned about. The staff were extremely helpful, the bedroom was amazing and what can I say about the bathroom - wow. There were queues at breakfast but this is nothing I haven't come across before in hotels in Monaco, Valencia and indeed Vilamoura. I waited no longer than 1 minutes to be seated. The breakfast was very good and I especially enjoyed the various cakes that were available. I understand previous reviews have mentioned the lack of sunbeds around the pool, truthfully for a hotel of this size I don't know have many sunbeds you would need but any more than are currently available would spoil the pool area (I have stayed in another hotel in Vilamoura where you couldn't move for sunbeds and trying to navigate your way to the pool was a task in itself). I ended up using the fat boys bags which are so comfortable and as and when I wanted a swim it was barely a 10 - 15 second walk.

On an evening I ate around the marina which is lovely but always came back to the hotel for a final drink or two which was lovely and so relaxing. Once again the bar staff were so friendly and at euros 2.50 for a glass of wine I though was extremely good value.

I have visited vilamoura 8 times over the last 11 years and will certainly return to the Crowne Plaza as I can safely say its one of the best and nicest hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: I booked a Superiour double/twin room and requested a room away from the nearby casino as a number o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngieM707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your delightful review.
To know that our guests appreciate our efforts, it is a plus to continue to improve our service standards.
Looking forward to receive your visit again at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed in march out of season with our 3 year old. Located on the beach, stunning facilities including outdoor pool and kids pool with a kids play area fantastic! Slight down side was to use the indoor pool we had to pay an additional 10 euros but still lovely. The rooms were amazing, we had a partial sea view and balcony - just lovely. Large spacious rooms great bathrooms and very clean!
Dinner was lovely buffet and excellent value, different every night. What made our stay was the staff they are a true asset to you! They were great with our daughter, made us feel very welcome.
I will be returning and I have recommended this hotel to friends. Just perfect thanks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrszoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic comments.
Your review is an asset to raise our team moral, and a way of keep the good work.
We would be very pleased to receive you again at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

So I will start with my niggly gripes first. The only reasons I didn’t give this hotel an excellent rating was their opportunistic and disappointing charge of £15 per day per device for wifi, apart from soap they had zero products in the bathroom and if you want to use any of the (really lovely) spa facilities such as the indoor pool or steam room, there is an extra £10 per person per day charge. I have to say that this aside, the rest of our experience at this hotel was superb.

Great location right on the beach front and also close to the port, very helpful and friendly staff, good quality breakfast, very nice rooms, fantastic pool (although if you want a lounger I would advise you get out early with your towels) and very reasonably priced drinks/food.

The hotel was full, so when we arrived we were surprised to have been upgraded to one of their top floor two level suites.

I wouldn’t worry too much about the lack of pool loungers mentioned above, as we much preferred to sit on the much raved about (on TripAdvisor) FATBOY bean bags. They are as fabulous as everyone says here on TripAdvisor. They look out onto the beach and I promise that once you get comfortable in them, you won’t want to get out. It’s very easy to have a snooze in these.

Although this hotel has most of the trappings you would expect of a five star hotel, there are a few key areas where they could easily improve the overall customer experience but on balance, I would recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ianfffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your kind comments and also suggestions. They will surely help us to upgrade our service standards.
Looking forward for another visit from you at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have just returned from a week in the Crowne Plaza, Vilamoura and we loved every minute. We travelled with a 4 month old baby and the hotel was exactly what we expected, it is beautiful and renovated to a very high standard.

The pool area is fantastic, to all the critics if you arrive by the pool at 10am expecting a sun bed then i dont know where you have been staying but ive never been to any hotel where this is the case.

My only negative was the staff are not overly friendly unless you talk to them then they are really nice and chatty, i put this down to the same peope who are writing ridiculous complaints on this site, if your constantly moaned at and put down the end result leaves the staff low in morale and confidence and this really showed.

If you are the type to moan and pick on the slightest things being wrong for eg my bed linen wasnt folded in a particular way...then dont go to this hotel because im not sure any hotel is for you. If on the other hand you want a beautiful room, in a fantastic location, amazing views from balcony and a relaxing holiday then you will love this hotel!

By the way there is no noise from the casino, we were opposite it and the fountain drowns out any noise!

Films are not £13 euro per film, for 15 euros you get a selection of up to 50 films including new releases and you can watch all of them when ever you want, pause, rewind, even turn off the tv and turn it on and watch where you left it!

Room Tip: upgraded rooms are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucymchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to showing us your appreciation for our hotel and service.
Your comments will certainly motivate our team to keep up the good work.
We hope to welcome you once more at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,311 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £64 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing