We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed a week in November 2012. Travelled with Saga. The hotel was a joy to stay in to such an extent that we booked again for February 2013 when we got back home. Our room on the sixth floor was fitted out to a very high standard and had an excellent view towards the sea and local town.
The quality and choice of food was excellent - we were spoilt for choice of both hot and cold dishes.The restaurant staff were friendly and approachable and helped to make our holiday enjoyable.
The indoor pool is a decent enough size to be able to swim in. There is also a large jacuzzi pool area, a sauna and a large steam room with a cold shower incorporated into it.
To top everything, we had sunny weather and there was a relaxing area to sit in or out of the sun.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear George,
Thank you so much for taking your time and gives such kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you in February at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,688 - 1,694 of 2,566 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed a
Here for one night only, thank god, this hotel takes one austerity measures to another level being a Royal ambassador and platinum elite member usually gets me a upgrade when available well booked a deluxe room and on check in was offered an upgrade but told can only have it if paid 13 Euros towards cost of upgrade! That's a new one on me, anyway checked in went to room mini bar empty because you have to phone down and order to have it stocked also there is a coffee machine in room but no cups no coffee again you have to phone down and buy the coffee but get this you have to also put a deposit on cups! No I am not joking! After all that we decided best to dine outside hotel, but because hotel air con is turned of in winter months and room was very hot and stuffy we put on ceiling fan and thought we would leave this on whilst we were out to dinner so maybe be a bit cooler on our return so we could sleep, but when we got back someone had been to room to turn the fan off and the bedside light we had left on, and took our room key from the holder and put it on the bed, so not to waste electricity, we explained all this to the duty manager on checkout, but response was a shrug of the shoulders! This hotel although looks respectable and does have good facilities but is ruined by the short sighted management in place and pettiness beyond belief. I understand times are hard but to me this is another level, we ask for the GM but he was off site and too busy to be contacted by telephone.
With no air con in the winter months rooms get warm and so you need windows open but there is a car park opposite which at weekends in middle of night is a meeting place for local youngsters with there cars and mopeds and loud music from about 4 am to 6am!
Does the hotel security move them on..... No........ No security about at all....
Would never return and seems the hotel don't care less anyway because it values my custom at 13 euros.........

Room Tip: Don't stay here is best advice I could give
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dubaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments and regarding them we are pleased to clarify the following points:
- According to IHG Standards Priority Club members are entitled to free upgrades within the same room category, never for Suites.
- It is a hotel policy to have the mini bars empty, but we offer various menus with different prices if the client wishes to refill the mini bar.
- The hotel has air conditioning at a temperature that we consider comfortable, according to the time of the year. In the rooms the air conditioning has the same temperature and the client can keep this temperature or not according to his needs.
- The hotel has video surveillance cameras and security patrol 24 hours a day within the hotel perimeter. Areas outside the hotel surroundings are not of our responsibility.

Once again we appreciate your time to share your comments with us and we hope that you will continue the Crowne Plaza for your future travel needs.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

A fantastic hotel with very considerate and helpful staff. We particularly liked the wonderful breakfast buffet and the swimming pool area. Was an excellent location, very convenient to everything.. It's a great expereince all the times staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Skipper2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Guest,
It is very gratifying to receive our guests recognition.
Thank you so much for taking your time and write your review regarding your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

As Many have saíd its a great location.
2 Beaches and a town either side the new posher flashy and expensive Vilamoura and the older more tradicional QUarteira..
We liked Vilamoura but after a time or 2 Around the marina it was done , however QUarteira had a Lovely promensde we walked every morning with bakery type cafés we stopped at and sampled the cakes.
The restaurants and bars were cheaper here too.
Both beaches are Lovely . Marina beach and QUarteira beach meet up . We prefered the Lovely beach at Vilamoura side called falásia it is extensive with a Lovely back drop of red coloured cliffs, you can walk a good way on this beach nearly to Albufeira i think.

Back to the hotel , recently ré furbished it is very tasteful and pleasant to stay in , very comfortable .
It is a very short ride from the airport aprox 20 minutes, we also sampled the yellow fish transfers as it is suggested such alot , we were very happy with the profissional service and free WIFI onboard,can you believe it?
If we came to Vilamoura agaín we would definatly use this hotel as it is well located and if you do like walking , with QUarteira benig so close and the Lovely falásia beach nearby it is ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Paul,
It is very rewarding to see that we met your expectations and that we have your preference if staying in Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you back again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Everything we could wish for. Bed and breakfast basis fine. Good selection of restaurants within. Half a mile. Spa pool @25°c fine will get warmer I am sure. The room is a junior suite floor4 .had booked a slightly cheaper superior suite on the eleventh but apparently refurb in process. Would have been nice to know this before arrival. Still the full on sea view and all day sun compensate nicely.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gunnerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Guest,
It is very gratifying to receive our guests recognition.
Thank you so much for taking your time and write your review regarding your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Crowne Plaza, Vilamoura. It’s a lovely hotel in a prime beach front location. We had a superb room, which was a beach facing junior suite, huge well furnished room with a really comfy 8 foot wide bed! The one strange feature of the room is the shower facility which has a large glass window that you can look into the bathroom from the bedroom, even into the toilet area itself! Even after 30+ years of marriage there are still some bodily functions that remain private even between man and wife!! Luckily there is a large blind that you higher and lower electrically to provide some privacy.

We were on a half board deal and found the food very good and were surprised by the cost of wine in the restaurant, it was actually reasonably priced, a bottle of house red was 10 Euros and a bottle of Mateus Rose was 13 Euros, which is probably only 2 or 3 Euros more than you’d pay in a bog standard restaurant in the area. The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially Julianna the Maitre’D of the restaurant.

Our only gripes about the hotel were that the Spa facilities were not available as they had suffered a breakdown in the heating system, so the indoor pool was FREEZING and there wasn’t even the luxury of a sauna or steam room to warm up in.

The second gripe is about the rather draconian hotel rule which forbids you bringing in food and drink from outside. My wife and I have been travelling for the past 30 years and we normally stay half board, because it gives us the chance to go out and about during the day without being tied to the hotel for lunch. However on a day when we’ve stayed locally our habit is to buy a bottle of wine and maybe some bread, cheese and meats for a light lunch on our balcony whilst soaking up some local sunshine. To us that’s a very enjoyable part of the holiday and the miserly rule to presumably force you to buy at the Crowne Plaza, especially at the prices they’re charging was off putting and it’s the one thing that would stop us returning here and consider returning to the Vila Gale Ampalius next door, where we’ve stayed before.

Vilamoura was very quiet and we found that the half mile walk into Quarteira along the beach road worth the effort, it was livelier and 2/3 of the prices in Vilamoura. We had a fantastic mixed fish lunch of sardine, mackerel and sea bass for 10 Euros a head, saw the same sort of meal advertised at 17 Euros in Vilamoura itself, which is priced more for the owners of the multi million pound yachts in its harbour.

Room Tip: If you can afford it or you can get an out of season deal like we did at 99 Euro a night, half board...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fetlar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for taking your time and share your opinion about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Also I glad to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities apart from the spa issue wich I regret.
Concerning our policies and after our guest’ suggestions we decided to remove the fine of €50 although it is legal. But we don’t allow bringing cooked food or alcoholic drinks to be consumed in the hotel facilities in order to protect our guests and associates (as per HACCP rules).
We would be very happy to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed at the Crown Plaza for 3 nights finding it nothing but superp. Would stay there again.
Bed was comfortable and the en-suite just wonderful with all one would wish for. The resturants were perfect with a wide range of choices. The in door pools also very good and enjoyed the
fitness area.

Room Tip: 7th floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fashole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Guest,
It is very rewarding to receive our guests recognition.
Thank you so much for taking your time and write your review regarding your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 37 in Vilamoura
5,445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 37 in Vilamoura
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 37 in Vilamoura
1,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#12 of 37 in Vilamoura
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 37 in Vilamoura
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £75 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing