We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not 5*”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is not a 5* hotel, the pool area was not very nice, it had no atmosphere at all, the beach is very crowded and you cannot leave your sunbed for 30 mins or it will be taken.

Breakfast was not very good at all.

Not a relaxing holiday at all.

Would certainly not return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Milles,
You are right in the high season in particularly in August the Algarve gets really crowded.
We are aware that there’s still room for many improvements in order to achive higher standards and we will keep on working hard.
Could we have another opportunity to welcome you maybe in another month and show you the improvements done.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    800
    269
    89
    56
See reviews for
572
1,216
33
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worongary, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

As has already been added by many other reviewers we found this hotel to be very satisfactory, and it is in a great location. Our room was large, with a large balcony, the bathroom was great with the separate loo and a huge shower that doesn't leak all over the floor!! Modern and clean, comfy beds but rooms were too hot - we would open the door to let the cold air in during the night but of course, you would be freezing in the middle of the night!! Why do hotels (and shops / restaurants) make everything so hot & stuffy in winters?? ...

We found the breakfasts to be enjoyable and staff courteous. The only thing we didn't understand was there is a coffee making machine in the room, but no cups, kettle or any other tea and coffee making facilities hotels of this calibre usually provide. Fortunately we had local friends who provided us with all of that for our six nights' stay. I mean, it's not that hard to provide! At least an iron and ironing board were supplied - thank you - but sadly with a rubbish iron.

All in all, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: A room that overlooks the sea and faces the sunsets would be ideal, as there are beautiful sunsets t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for taking your time and share your opinion about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Also I glad to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities.
Looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff we found to all be friendly and helpful , It was January so weather not the best but even with cloudy weather we all sit out on the balcony , there is only one chair , for a couple this is not any good . The beds were comfy and the bathroom spacious . We only had breakfast in the hotel and there seems the normal choice. There is a kettle in the room , no cups , no tea or coffee , I do think a 5* should provide some . It was really good to have free WIFI in the lobby area but it should also be in the rooms people of all ages use the internet , I need it for work ,but the prices in the bar is very expensive and people were smoking inside , this is a big NO for me and my family , So although the hotel was nice for this reason I doubt we would return .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy08Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Sandy,
I would like to thank you for taking your time and give us your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
I would also like to clarify that the coffe and tea are provide as per guests request. And thank you for your suggestion regarding the wi-fi.
Could we have another opportunity to welcme you at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We had booked a junior suite with a sea view, and that is what we got.

The room was big, while the terrace was a bit on the small side. The odd thing is that the terrace only comes with one chair. That was easily solved by moving one chair from the lounge area.

The beds were good and so was the bathroom. A special twist was the glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom/lounge. Fortunately there was an electric ‘curtain’ that could be rolled down.

The breakfast was excellent. As was the service.

A very good winter rate made this an excellent deal. During the summer it becomes very expensive. But on the other hand Vilamoura is a very nice place, but the cost/value ratio might not be so good then.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_K_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing you experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
It is indeed very rewarding to receive our guest’s recognition.
Hope to have you back soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We took advantage of the very competitive winter rate and stayed in a Junior Suite in early January - it was excellent. The hotel is so well positioned to offer guests a short walk to some very good restaurants. The hotel breakfasts and the dinner we enjoyed on one evening were very good. The Spa and indoor Pool provide added facilities and the very friendly staff only added to our enjoyment.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTB181140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that your experience at our Hotel was excellent and that you where able to enjoy all of the Hotel facilities.
Thank you for your enthusiastic review about the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed last April, it was a very good experience.
We upgraded to a junior suite and had the most wonderful views of the beach and pool below. The room itself was spotless and well maintained, cleaned everyday to a very high standard.
We didn't use the sunbeds at the poolside, instead we used the Fatboys, which were amply supplied. The staff kept us supplied with drinks while we were out there, and were always friendly and curteous.
The food was good. We stayed only on a B&B basis, as we wantted to eat out. there were quite a few options for this, however, I suspect that if you were staying for longer than a week, that you would soon be bored with what was on offer.
We took a trip into the old town, which is recommended, and had a lovely time, again with good food.
All in all, I would defininately go back there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WoodyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Wendy,
I am glad to read that your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura fulfilled your expectations and that you would definitely come back again.
Our team is looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed a week in November 2012. Travelled with Saga. The hotel was a joy to stay in to such an extent that we booked again for February 2013 when we got back home. Our room on the sixth floor was fitted out to a very high standard and had an excellent view towards the sea and local town.
The quality and choice of food was excellent - we were spoilt for choice of both hot and cold dishes.The restaurant staff were friendly and approachable and helped to make our holiday enjoyable.
The indoor pool is a decent enough size to be able to swim in. There is also a large jacuzzi pool area, a sauna and a large steam room with a cold shower incorporated into it.
To top everything, we had sunny weather and there was a relaxing area to sit in or out of the sun.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear George,
Thank you so much for taking your time and gives such kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you in February at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Property: Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing