We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, good facilities, good luck with loungers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice hotel, good facilities, good luck with loungers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

this is one of the more modern hotels in villamoura, i have stayed at 4 different ones and would say this is best. rooms are clean bright and have all necessary amenities.
Only issue we had was lack of loungers around pool, many people leave their towels all day, staff will move them sometimes if asked.
on our leaving day we actually seen a man trying to go to pool at half four in morning whilst still dark just to put towels down. To be fair staff told him where to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very glad to read that you considered the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura one of the best hotels in Vilamoura and you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team is looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    746
    250
    85
    50
See reviews for
515
1,106
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel I booked and paid for a sea -facing Junior Suite and was very happy with the standard of the accommodation and the off-season price was very reasonable. The breakfast buffet was quite adequate if not the most exciting but for some quirky reason they only supply small plates. There were plenty of staff except at the weekend when there was a big influx of locals and hardly any staff int he restaurant.. The reception staff were very helpful although equally there were days when 4 or 5 desks were manned and others when there were only one or two. Like others I found there was no acknowledgement of my Priority Club membership, this doesn't really make much difference but it is usual at other hotels.

My main grouse concerned the fact that the hotel was hosting a large gathering of German Skoda dealers on a familiarization course with a new model of which there were more than 100 in the car park. They had Skoda signs in and around the the pool and a large and at times noisy marquee on the lawn beneath our room but the biggest problem was that they had insisted on taking over the entire carpark even though there would have been space for the few guests with cars. The first we learned of this was when i returned on the 3rd day with my hire car and twas told very rudely by a Skoda employee that i couldn't park in the hotel. At no time had the management informed us of this , still less apologized.
I eventually found out they provided free valet parking with the car being taken away to the Casino car park but it would have been nice to have been informed of this on arrival . This also meant a wait for the car and on one day they brought the wrong vehicle and We had to wait 15 minutes. I was also rather unhappy at my hire car being taken outside the hotel grounds

ther are also some extra costs I booked this hotel because it boasts an indoor poll but then found that it is inside the spa and there is a 10 euro per day per person charge to use it. Also on the last day as we had late flight I requested a later checkout and was told this would cost 46 Euros for a few extra hours

Overall a nice hotel but I think the management need to be more pro-active in making guests feel welcome

Room Tip: Go for a Junior suite with a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to read that apart from the small issues mentioned your enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.

Our guests suggestions are taking very seriously and we are aware that there is still room for improvements. Please do rests assure that we will make every effort to constantly improve our services and standards.

Hope to have another opportunity to welcome you at our hotel.

Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

We came to the crown plaza on 21st January for 5nights rooms lovely and clean service was excellent taxis provided by hotel to golf courses alway on time location nice 10min stroll to the marina and 3 mins to beach will use this hotel again on my next trip

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian_1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Ian,

Thank you so much for taking your time and gives such kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcome you back again soon at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.

Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavira
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Had a 'romantic break' for two days and all I can say is that the service, food and environment were excellent. I have stayed at other 5 star hotels in Vilamoura and been disappointed but the Crowne Plaza was definately up to the mark. The staff were friendly, curteous and helpful. The room (a junior suite - free upgrade with our package) was gorgeous and I must say the 'romantic break' package was superb. We will definately be back.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad to read that your romantic stay fulfilled your expectations.
Thank you for such enthusiastic review.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Crowne Plaza and I must admit that it exceeded my expectations in every way.

Vilamoura is basically geared for golfers and being on a golfing trip this was obviously ideal, the hotel is only recently built / refurbished and is gleaming both inside and out. Public areas are large and open with good facilities such as free internet via imacs, lots of tv screens showing various live sporting events, however they are all well apart and do not feel intrusive. There is also lots of room between tables in the lounges which gives a feel of individuality.

The bedrooms in the CP are what you would expect from a quality 5* Hotel chain, comfortable beds, LCD TV, quality fixtures and fittings, and room and balcony both a good size. The bathroom is also gleaming, well equipped and has a good power shower.

As I was staying Half board I managed to sample both Breakfast & Dinner and I would say that the quality of food at dinner is probably the best that I have experienced in any "resort hotel". Breakfast I feel could have been improved with an omelette station, however there were good choices and real fruit juices as opposed to the usual machine or concentrated affairs.

The hotel also has a spa which charges 15 euros per day for use, I didn't have any use for this so cannot comment further.

Location wise, the hotel is right on the beach and only a 5 min walk to the marina or 10 min walk to neighbouring Quarteira which is an old style Portuguese fishing town.

I should also add that for any golfers out there that the Hotel runs a free courtesy bus to all the local golf courses and you just need to book in advance at reception and the bus will also collect you and bring you back at your requested time. If golfing I would recommend Vila Sol as excellent condition, fantastic quick greens and a very interesting and challenging lay out.

So, all in all, I would thoroughly recommend the Crowne Plaza for your Vilamoura stay and must finish off by saying that the staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful and also very interesting people if you get talking to them. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kennedy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Kennedy,
It is very rewarding to see that your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura exceed your expectations.
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review it will certainly help to motivate our team to improve the service and keep up with the good work.
I am also glad to read that you would recommend our hotel.
We do look forward to welcome you back soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a place to stay!! We were delighted on arrival to be told we had been upgraded from an ocean view room to a Junior Suite. What an amazing room!! Modern chrome, marble and glass throughout the bathroom and toilet, ceiling to floor glass with an electronic modesty blind when shower is in use, modern lounge furniture, spacious wardrobe. Clean lines throughout the suite and the view from the balcony is superb.
This is a resort hotel, it's large, busy (August was HOT) and filled with tourists from all over the world. Restaurants inside and out to cater to all tastes, the breakfast room was really busy but good value. Capsule coffee maker in room was great.
Staff were extremely helpfull, courteous and went to great lengths to assist me with an airline booking. Children had "taken over" all the internet places, so reception immediately came to my aid and booked flights at the desk for me. Get in early if you want a sun lounge around the pool. People are there from 0700 placing their towels over seats etc to reserve them. The Hotel supplies you with beach towel (deposit refundable), a security card to access the beach, but be aware the beach gets crowded very early as well!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giovannivirgo255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very rewarding to see that your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura exceed your expectations.
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review it will certainly help to motivate our team to improve the service and keep up with the good work.
We do look forward to welcome you back again at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have recently stayed @ the Crowne plaza Vilamoura, Portugal
We stayed for 3 nights (1 night previous @ Man airport HI prior to travel- which was great)
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura stay & Problems
PROBLEM 1 -
At check in- my wife commented that they had not recognised that I was a PC Member
Staff Response - When we pointed this out they took my membership number recognised my platinum status and upgraded the room, they stressed we could upgrade again to a suit but it would cost 120 Euros to do so (WE DECLINED)
PROBLEM 2-
We were asked if we would like our Credit card details taken and book extras to the room which we did
We had a 1st day and nights stay and booked extras to our room from restaurant and hotel bar, I signed the bill at the end of the meal for wine and at the end of our night at the bar - no problem
On the 2nd nights stay we had our evening meal outside of the hotel at a local restaurant and returned to watch the hotel entertainment and had drinks at the bar
I signed the bill at the bar as per previous night and went to bed
***We received a telephone call at approx 10 minutes past 12 (Midnight)*** regarding no credit on our hotel room to pay the bar bill, this upset my wife being woken and quizzed at this time through the night, I took the phone off her and asked why it couldn't have been discussed the next morning, they responded that we had no credit to pay the bar bill
I got dressed and went down stairs where I was welcomed by a member of staff with a dress jacket on (still don't know who he was) who walked to the bar with me
I stressed I was unhappy with the situation and that the same staff had served us the night previous with no problems, I had logged my Ccard with the hotel room 408 and signed for the bill
Guy in jacket marched me to front desk where I explained I was a platinum status member - his whole attitude changed upon hearing this and tried to then back track and apologise, by this time I had had enough and went back to bed
My wife in the morning approached the front desk (I was still upset about the night before) and discussed with the Stand in manager (normal manager unavailable)
He was very apologetic admitting it was the hotels mistake - their system had lost our details, and they should not have contacted us through the night to discuss
They sent wine and cheese as apology
Problem 3 -
We understood the problem and made an effort to enjoy the remainder of our stay
We went to the hotel restaurant on our 3rd night and ordered a bottle of wine with dinner
Upon leaving the restaurant we were asked to sign the bill but were told we had no credit available - again!!!!
We had to explain all over again to the lady at the restaurant, she phoned the front desk (at this point there was a growing queue behind us - embarrassing to us) and we then approached the front desk to sort
They were not very helpful - we explained again and got no satisfaction, we went to bed upset and angry at 20:00 hours to escape the problem
This was a Birthday suprise for my wife, we were intending to return for my birthday in May - somehow I don't think we will
I stay 2 nights a week at the Holiday inn at Haydock every week for the past 6 months and I have reservations at the Crowne plaza (Ireland) and Holiday Inn Halifax Nova scotia
I am now uncertain to continue staying with your group because of the experience we have had at the Crowne plaza Vilamoura
Saying that the hotel there was really nice, people and most staff - but problems spoiled 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed I would not want a repeat of this and am considering another hotel chain - we have not received hassle like this when we have stayed regular with Hilton group or Raddisson, Princess hotels in wain
Finally the manager was not available to discuss our repeat problem so we left a letter of complaint - maybe you can chase up on this on our behalf
Regards, Tony and Heidi

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clemdec99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Mr. Tony Clements and Ms. Heidi Clements,
Thank you so much for taking your time to write us the issues that have occurred during your stay with us. We were aware on Sunday morning about the situation you had the night before when your wife came down to talked to the Manager On Duty who expressed empathy and care to overcome the inconvenience you have experienced due to technical problems with our systems that was not giving the correct information about your credit situation in all our points of sale. I understand how frustrating was dealing with this every time you use our outlets.
Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, so that we may identify the root cause and check with our external IT suppliers to ensure that this will never happen again.
Once again, please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience and would like to restore your confidence in our hotel and regain your goodwill.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Property: Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing